We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Thing About This Hotel is the Manager” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Miami
Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“The Best Thing About This Hotel is the Manager”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have stayed numerous times in this hotel b/c it is conveniently located to where we go to work, it offers a good rate, it has the Manager's Reception and breakfast and we can earn HH points.

This hotel's biggest asset is Rick Funke, the new manager. He goes above and beyond what normally would be expected of a manager, including being there (and cleaning the tables) at breakfast in in the evenings. As for other employees, the night manager for the front desk, Carol (?), is equally pleasant and efficient and Michael, who is new since our last visit is also the type of employee Hilton should be proud to have on their team.

However, he is working within the confines of this hotel's franchisee. While I can see why the owner's wouldn't be bothered with refurbishing the hotel---why, when they have a high occupancy rate and keep the prices low---but the suites and the furnishings are tired and worn out. A case in point are the filthy carpets in the hallways and the stained and tired sofas in the living rooms. This really is discouraging and doesn't present a good image of the Homewood Brand.

Also, I feel that the manager's hands are tied because it is difficult to get enough housekeeping staff and combined with the high turnover, this often means that the suites are not cleaned until 5-6pm and when they do, the cleaning is haphazard---some days they take out the garbage and some days they forget to replenish the coffee or shampoos. This late cleaning s not really what you want when you arrive home from a busy day at work and I am sure that the housekeepers are working on their own time after 5 pm to finish.

This Homewood Suites is well situated for the airport, cruise departures and also a number of businesses in the area. There is a Publix within walking distance and it is an easy drive (it that can actually be said for any driving in Miami!) to the Dolphin and International Malls. All it needs is a little TLC and some more staff to look after the housekeeping needs. The hiring of Rick Funke will go a long way to bring this property back to where it once was and holding onto employees like Carol and Michael, who are real assets to the hotel will create a good caring culture.

We will likely stay here again, but I truly hope they plan some renovations and cleaning of the public areas soon.

Keep up the good work Rick :-)

Room Tip: Most people like the Lagoon side but if you like to watch airplanes, ask for an airport view! Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    190
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
210
93
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a pretty nice place for an airport hotel. It's right across the street from the airport, which usually means a pretty worn out, beat up property. But this hotel was pretty good all around. The floors could use a good steam cleaning or it would get an excellent. The staff was great and helpful. They saw we were tired and traveling with 3 kids and upgraded us to a larger room for free! Nice touch! Breakfast was free and quite good for a hotel breakfast. I've never been disappointed with Homewood yet. After a recent stay at another chain, I realize that they really value their customers and go out of their way for their guests!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geismar, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you have a problem with this hotel, I suggest you request to speak with Rick Funke, the general manager. We stayed here the night before our cruise and left our car parked on the property. We had an issue that could have put a damper on our return from our wonderful family trip. Instead, Mr. Funke went above and beyond to make it right. Service like this is what should be the priority of all "service industries", but seldom is. Bravo to Mr. Funke & his staff. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I love that this hotel has a separate room with a door so that when I put my child to bed, I can still be up and not disturb her rest. The value is increased due to the managers reception Monday through Thursday because we save the cost of dinner for our family of 3 and add with that the com breakfast and we are really only paying half of the cost of the hotel and the rest is meal money. It has been a wonderful find for my family and we tell everyone we meet about our experience. We will only stay at homewood suites!! We love the duck!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel provides all necessary amenities for stay in proximity of Blue Lagoon businesses. Everything is as you'd expect it from a Hilton brand hotel: Clean rooms, comforatble beds, well equipped rooms, reliable WiFi. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahamas, Bahamas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The choice of red wine without adding cranberry juice to it was too tart, besides a slip of the salt box everything else was satisfactory. Rick the manager was on the scene tending to the guests needs daily. I highly recommend this establishment

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End Village, Anguilla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I first stayed at this hotel in 2006 when my family and I travelled to Miami for my daughters graduation and have stayed there since. Sometimes between 2 - 5 times per year. We hear a lot about a home away from home, but this establishment fits that phrase perfectly. The suites are spacious, comfortable and well maintained. The staff is friendly and it is perfectly located for when I travel on business. I would and have recommended this to many persons travelling in the Miami area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.