We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, couldn't even hear the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 122 Hotels in Miami
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service, couldn't even hear the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was my first time staying at a Homewood Suites, and I definitely recommend this particular hotel! The only hiccup during our stay was with our first room. When we arrived our room was ready and they had already prepared our key cards. However, when we got to the room the bed was not made and there were towels on the floor. The rest of the room was clean and ready, it just seems the housekeeper went on break before they finished the room. I went downstairs to ask the front desk staff to finish the turnover, however they apologized profusely and assigned us another room.

Both of the rooms were on the higher floors (my preference), and they were modern and new. The king bed was extremely comfortable, to the point I didn't want to get up! The A/C's are nice and cold, as is the refrigerator. The sofa did not convert to a sleeper, but it was comfortable enough to lounge on for a while. The pool and pool area are small, but adequate for the price. We went down twice during our stay and both times no one else was down there. The tv channels are your standard hotel fair, and the wifi is fast.

The breakfast wasn't bad, but there wasn't a huge variety of items. Eggs, sausages, bagels, toast, cereal, and that's about it. We had the complimentary dinner one night, and it was surprisingly good. The dinner that evening was an assortment of pastas, salad, as well as free beer and wine. The coffee and tea is available 24/7 and was never burnt or bitter, no matter the time of day.

The location of the hotel had me worried due to the proximity to the airport. Our room faced the lake, and I was amazed as how quiet it was! Not only did we never hear any planes if we were indoors, but we never heard any of our neighbors either. The location is also convenient to Coral Gables, the highway to get to the beaches, as well as the shopping centers nearby (Publix, Gas, etc)

Overall, the service and quality received for the price make it a great deal! Definitely will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are newer and more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    219
    80
    38
    14
See reviews for
264
109
6
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for two days on Homewood Suites Blue Lagoon. Good location, close to airport and convenient in the middle of the way to Coral Gables or South Beach. The suite has great views, is clean and comfortable. Free parking, full kitchen and hot breakfast are awesome. No complaints about this Hotel!

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of the Lagoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Friendly staff. very close to airport. fairly convenient to get to shopping centers. Short taxi ride to coral gables and south beach. The room was dated and marginally comfortable. Spend two nights here on a business trip. Overall did not find this hotel comfortable. I will not stay here again. Better options in the area, even at this price point.

Room Tip: Try the other homewood location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

we came on mothers day for 4 days with my family and i have nothing but good comments about our stay. good location super clean and comfortable suites. overall experience was 110% thumbs up. we will be back in july then in september.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It was peaceful, had great views and is only 2-3 minutes away from the Miami Airport Convention Center. Loved that they had a shuttle to take us there and didn't have to spend extra money to pay a taxi daily. Hotel staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guetmala, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The staff at the Homewood Blue Lagoon are very friendly and always do their best to ensure my stay is a good one. However, the furnishing while decent, are getting old and this hotel needs an update. A good place for a longer business trip, would be a great choice if they updated the furnishings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

(Late review - actual travel date was Dec 2011). This hotel was in a convenient location and accommodating with my shipment packages. The suite was very comfy as I was pregnant at the time so very homey. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.