We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place, Price was right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Maineville, OH
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a bad place, Price was right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Typical Homewood suites, it was clean and the staff were all very friendly and accomodating!

Pros-
It was cheaper than most the hotels in the area.
They have a free reception and meal Monday-thrusday!
Free Breakfast.
Very close to the airport with a free shuttle.

Cons
I would have liked a bit larger fitness room. Not bad if you are alone, but more than one other person it begins to feel cramped.
Not the cleanest of neighborhoods.
I asked for a non-smoking room but it was obvious that I didn't get one.
Very slow elevators

I would certainly go back, the rooms were pretty big and everything seemed clean.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake facing room if the plane noise will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    213
    74
    35
    14
See reviews for
252
105
6
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The price, location and appointments are all just right for a family with small kids on a quick stopover. Perfectly convenient to the airport the hotel honored all our requests and the service was good and quick. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice if not a bit exposed to the parking lot. Big rooms, fine condition, no complaints. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room facing the lagoon for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here back in NOV and again just now in FEB 13.

The pluses - its close to the airport. There is breakfast in the morning, and dinner each night (except weekends). Free wi-fi, good views, small pool and workout center.

Lots of businessmen and cruisers here. The cruisers pop in and then shuttle over to the terminal the next day to sail in or out, and the businessmen fly in - do their stuff and fly out.

The rooms are nice and spacious.

I would stay here again, its good, but not fantastic. The location is good for flying in and out, but not for doing tourist stuff, because traffic is tough.

Room Tip: Stay on the side away from the runway - or you will hear planes all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Was admittedly attracted by the Hilton name and the price ( breakfast included) ... when my wife and I had booked this hotel (thinking we had made the "deal") ...
The Hotel "suites" are run down, obviously require major renovations, for example the air conditioning is very loud, the bath tubs are so old the paint came off of them in some parts, the kitchen as well as bathrooms require to be painted, many of the wooden cabinets do not open or close properly etc etc I could go on and on with minute details ... Breakfast contents and overall experience where very poor and deceiving. In terms of value for money distance from the City and the Beaches, given route logistics etc are not worth it at all unless you just need to be near the airport or so ... and are there for one night and that is it. We had prepaid our stay for three nights so we got STUCK with IT ... would not recommend for anyone to stay there unless it is a very short stay and needs to be geographically near the area such as airport or so ... Last matter I need to add as well is that the matresses are way too soft and therefore seem to be too old as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have nothing negative to say about the Homewood Suites - the staff are great, the rooms are are comfortable, well equipped and very clean. The staff are great - very helpful and courteous. The hotel has lots of amenities - free wifi, free business center, great hot & cold breakfast buffet and a supper buffet Mon thru Thurs, free parking and a shuttle to and from the airport. This was our first stay and has climbed to the top of my list of places to stay in Miami. It is very close to the airport making it really easy to find when driving - just look for the signs directing you to the airport,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here due to its proximity to the airport which reminded me why I usually don’t. The noise from the airport kept me up at night. Also, it was cold during my stay so I had to use the heat. The system set off the smoke alarm when I first turned it on. The service desk said that was normal and to open the windows for a few minutes. The bed was comfortable and water very hot. I enjoyed the heat lamp in the bathroom. The decor is dated and my housekeeping person did not vacuum the room while I was there (3 days) but the room was pretty cleaned. My room was on the 7th floor facing the airport. We too were not told about the meals but there are signs all over the place. The staff breaks down breakfast promptly at 9:30am so don’t be late.
Maybe one reason for the poor customer service is the fact that some of the staff is unhappy about the pay. One employee told us that they don’t get paid a lot and asked if we know of anyone hiring. Maybe Hilton needs to implement an employee bonus program for employees who go above and beyond. Since I only paid $120 per night, I was fine with my stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the airport are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I can't, for the most part, disagree with the reviews preceding mine. This hotel is an older building which faces the expressway and the airport, and backs up to a large lagoon. Across the lagoon are several apartment complexes. Our room (405) was on the lagoon side so we weren't bothered by the planes taking off.

405 is a 2 room suite with a kitchenette and living room in one room, and 2 full size beds in the bedroom. 405, the hallway, the elevator and the lobby were clean and well maintained, meaning the caulking is fresh-looking and white, no black mold spots, no cracked tiles, no chipped wood or stains on the furniture or carpet. But modern or updated, it's not.

However, having to hang in 405 while hubby worked was a peaceful, restful experience because the bedroom window looked out over the lagoon. And any issues I had with the room, the TV, or housekeeping were handled attentively and promptly by Michael at the front desk, who followed up to make sure things were right. We also enjoyed sitting outdoors on their veranda over the lagoon. And we appreciated how the shower head is mounted unusually high on the bathroom wall. We noted that the hot water in the bathroom sink is super hot (great for shaving for my hubby) while the shower water didn't get as hot - I was concerned about being scalded.

There is a nicely equipped work out room that I used, and I heard there is a pool.

The breakfast is the usual (fruit cocktail, cold cereal, not too appealing eggs and sausage, waffles you make, runny oatmeal, etc.). We didn't partake of the complimentary dinner they serve Monday through Thursday.

I too consider this hotel's rate overpriced given how dated it's interiors are. But if you do book here, make sure you get a lagoon side room to enjoy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.