We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #41 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Long island, ny
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here as a pre-cruise location that was very convenient . They also have a shuttle that picks you up from the airport. A taxi for about $30 gets you to the cruiseport, which is cheaper than the van if you have 4 people going.
The rooms were clean and quite large with a separate living room and bedroom. They provide you with a free breakfast,which by hotel standards is average. The desk and the staff were friendly and helpful.
A five to ten minute walk will lead you to a shopping center with restaurants and fast food eateries. A taxi to south beach about 35 each way is also a possibility if you have time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    194
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
228
98
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great place to stay...very handy to airport...nice quiet lakerside rooms with views available...very gracious and hard working staff...very clean hotel...General Manager simply outstanding...I travel to Miami often on business and choose this hotel every time...park area very adequate, well lighted and with night-time on-site security...

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are looking for a place to sleep near the convenience of the airport with more square footage than a regular hotel, this is the place. It is a competitor to the Marriott Residence in that dinners are offered in the evening mon the thurs and breakfast is served int the morning gratis. It is a great place for families or people looking for a good value and are not looking for anything fancy. I was a bit disappointed with my room. The couch looked worn and sunken on and the coffee table was the size of a large bench seat. The carpets looked stained as well, but the room was clean and the housekeeping staff seems to be on top of things otherwise. There is enough room in a standard one bedroom to spread out and so again, good for families. The kitchenette is serviceable and stocked with a few essentials as well as a decent sized fridge if you wanted to stay long term. If I had a choice between Homewood and Hampton, I would go with the latter. The front desk was okay but took a long time to answer thre phones when I called from within the hotel or from outside. They were rather busy but I also think they are rather inexperienced. Nice and friendly but could use some hospitality training. The breakfast buffet area can fill up quickly and over the weekend, don't go too late. Cannot find a seat. The breakfast is nothing exciting. Dried eggs and frozen bland potato chunks. I do love the waffle maker though! They do. Nice job stocking it and cleaning up after all the greedy hungry people so kudos to them. I also visited the gym and it was very nice. Treadmills and the one elliptical are new and working. Plenty of towels and hand sanitizer! There is also a 24 hour business center and a shuttle that will take you to a few nearby restaurants like McDonalds Burger King and the 94th. They have to be in about a mile radius of the hotel. Shuttle to and from the airport is offered so renting a car for an overnight is not necessary. All in all, a good value for your money. It is conveniently located to the airport and planes do take off early in the morning and can be heard, but it is a decent property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We're glad you found our hotel conveniently located and that it suited your needs. However, we want all guests to feel the comforts of home with the added benefits of hospitality. We're working with our staff on improving service and quality menu items to ensure that the next time you stay with us, you'll never want to leave. We hope you will give us that opportunity and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very clean and friendly staff made this one of our best ever hotel stays. The meals were good and the food area was very clean. Every staff member smiled and helped open doors and pushed buttons. Thanks to all the staff for a great trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very nice hotel about 5 minutes from Miami International Airport. Small shopping centre within walking distance with a great Chinese Restaurant. Bus stop outside hotel and bus stops outside shops will take you to Miami Downtown or Dolphin Mall & International Mall - the two giant shopping malls in Miami . Full kitchen facilities in hotel suite, 2 double beds and double sofa bed. Modern rooms, though blankets on beds had holes in them. 2 big flat screen tvs and free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Best Regards,

Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We chose this particular Homewood Suites for New Years Eve due to its proximity to the airport for the early morning arrival of some family members. Miami International Airport is less than a five minute drive from this hotel and it is extremely easy to get there by one road and one highway. Therefore, the hotel served its intended purpose and I have no complaints about that. Also, we had booked a one bedroom suite with two double beds and the room was great for our three person party. We had plenty of room to relax before heading out for the night, plenty of room to store the food and drinks that had accompanied us on our drive from Tampa to Miami, plenty of room for the three of us (two guys and one girl) to get ready for a night out, and very comfortable beds. We were very pleased with our room. We were also very pleased with our nice view of the "Blue Lagoon", even from the first floor. Other reviews hold true about the noise from airplanes flying overhead as we did not hear any noise from the airport when we were inside of our room. Also, the hot breakfast had a lot of variety and was very good for any breakfast, no less a free one. I greatly enjoyed scrambled eggs, sausage links, and homefries while others in my party enjoyed Belgian waffles that they had cooked themselves. Check-in on New Years Eve and check-out on New Years Day were both quick and easy with absolutely no problems. We had a small issue with the toilet in our room and it was resolved very quickly.

You may wonder why I rated this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 with all of the compliments I have to give. There are three main reasons why and I will begin with the biggest reason: Linda at the front desk. We had decided to take a shot at attempting to get a cab to take us to South Beach. When we went to the front desk to ask about it, Linda refused to call, stating that the cab companies had not been answering their phones all night. That seems fair, after all, it is one of the busiest nights of the year for cab companies. So, we asked if we could have the number to a few local cab companies just so we could continuously try on our own. Apparently, this was too much to ask as the snotty attitude became worse and she insisted that she "couldn't help us" and that we had an option to take the shuttle to the airport and attempt to catch a cab there. Once again, her suggestion seems fair but the attitude and refusal to give us numbers to cab companies seems a little unfair, and frankly, rather unprofessional. I will give her the benefit of the doubt and assume that her nasty attitude and unwillingness to help were due to the fact that she was bitter that she had to work on New Years Eve. Or, perhaps, it was the fact that there was absolutely no air conditioning in the lobby and hallways of the hotel. This was reason #2 for the "very good" rating. Our room did have air conditioning, but even when we would set it in the low 70s, it would somehow or another creep its way up to a higher setting. We were pretty convinced that it would randomly turn off as we knew when it was on; it was quite loud. However, back to Linda, even with the benefit of the doubt, it is absolutely unacceptable for someone in customer service to treat customers as if their simple requests are an inconvenience to her. If this happens to you, walk down the street to the Hilton and look around their parking lot. We caught a cab there with no problems ... AND ... we came to that solution on our own! Thanks for nothing, Linda!

Reason #3 for the "very good" rating was the condition of their outdoor patio. This hotel is set on a beautiful lake with really pretty views. I was awake and eating breakfast on New Years Day by 8:15am so that I could go to the airport to pick up some family members. I decided to eat my breakfast on the patio outside of the breakfast area in order to take advantage of the beautiful setting. When I walked out onto the patio, I was very surprised at what I had seen. Empty alcohol bottles were strewn all over the tables, apparently left over from a party the night before. Paper plates and cups from breakfast were also left on the tables and the entire patio area was dirty and in complete disarray. I was rather surprised that this area was not cleaned by the staff prior to breakfast and I was even more surprised that no one had periodically checked the patio for trash left by inconsiderate guests. Needless to say, the view wasn't so pretty anymore so I retreated to the dining room to eat my breakfast.

Don't get me wrong, I would probably stay here again as I really don't require much more than a clean, comfortable room and good customer service. I would just be sure to steer clear of Linda. Other than that, the other problems could have been due to the volume of people and the holiday so I would give the hotel another chance!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and nothing much has changed from my last review four years ago, and it's not a compliment. The rooms haven't been renovated but the LCD TVs. The kitchen appliances are old and rusty and the furniture too. Sofas and chairs were stained and worn out. The WiFi is terrible inside the room, I had to go near the elevator or the lobby to get some decent connection. Also, the TV doesn't have too many channels, in fact the same as 4 and 6 years ago, the hotel could afford to add some new channels, specially HD as the Marriott's have.
One thing good is the manager's reception Mon through Thursday with real good food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lagoon are quieter, ask for one. The ones facing the airport are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback-especially the comparison between now and four years ago. We apologize for the condition of your guest suite and I'm sorry that you didn't see many changes since your last visit. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to see how we've changed.

Kind regards,

Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.