We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation quickly!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #38 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Needs a renovation quickly!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel and nothing much has changed from my last review four years ago, and it's not a compliment. The rooms haven't been renovated but the LCD TVs. The kitchen appliances are old and rusty and the furniture too. Sofas and chairs were stained and worn out. The WiFi is terrible inside the room, I had to go near the elevator or the lobby to get some decent connection. Also, the TV doesn't have too many channels, in fact the same as 4 and 6 years ago, the hotel could afford to add some new channels, specially HD as the Marriott's have.
One thing good is the manager's reception Mon through Thursday with real good food.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lagoon are quieter, ask for one. The ones facing the airport are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback-especially the comparison between now and four years ago. We apologize for the condition of your guest suite and I'm sorry that you didn't see many changes since your last visit. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to see how we've changed.

Kind regards,

Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    213
    74
    35
    14
See reviews for
252
105
6
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after the cruise. Got a 1-bdrm suite with 2 beds, a sofa pullout and a small kitchen/sink. The room has good, comfortable space in both the bedroom and the living area. the vanity/sink is outside of the the shower/tub/toilet which I like. Breakfast area is arranged so you don't have to stand in line for everything. It's faster but can be hectic during peak hours. Be sure to walk out the balcony from the lobby and enjoy the large fish. The hotel is right next to the airport and within close vicinity to other Hilton brand hotels. The surrounding is very nice with lakes and open space. Located conveniently next to the freeway exit. Drive to downtown is about 15 mins in normal traffic. There are walgreens and other grocery stores within 5 mins drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel is a little tired but has a great price point. The rooms are large and as I have said, tired but they are clean. I had a two bedroom suite for an extremely affordable price. The hotel is about a mile from the airport and has a shuttle. Be forewarned however; if you are arriving late you will not be able to take advantage of the shuttle. We arrived in Miami at 10 pm and after we collected our bags we called the hotel. We called 6 times and let the phone ring at least 20 times with no answer. We gave up on the shuttle and paid the $15 extortion fee to go the 1 mile to the hotel. Once we got to the hotel the checkin was fine. I have no idea why they wouldn't answer the phone but I am confident it had to do with the fact that they did not want to inform the guest that the shuttle wasn't running. I wouldn't have wasted the 30 min I waited for the shuttle. It was a little annoying. Especially as a Diamond member of Hilton.
Breakfast is free and with that comes a crowded mass of mayhem. Sometimes and included breakfast isn't worth the aggravation. It was a free for all and mildly disturbing. Don't let that change your mind about staying there. $250 for a 2 bedroom suite is worth it.
Other than the lack of answering the phone the staff was pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite is away from the main elevator and at the end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We appreciate your loyalty as a rewards member and we are so pleased you chose to stay with us. We want everyone to feel welcome and at home with us and I'm sorry we fell a little short of that. I apologize for the inconvenience and our absence when you tried contacting us for a shuttle ride. I'm also sorry for the disorganization at breakfast. Our staff is looking into additional methods on managing lines and assisting guests during meal hours. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards,
Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Large rooms - a little tired though, OK breakfast and dinner (mon-thurs). Nice desk staff. Shuttle every half-hour to MIA. Pond behind the hotel has massive fish! Be sure to toss them a bagel or two ;)

Room Tip: Rooms on south side face lake. I imaging the north facing rooms on the upper floors would have airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killaloe
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here on Dec. 21,2013. Very pleased with checkin, size and cleanliness of suite, no issues whatsoever. Had a small business centre where we printed off our boarding passes. Breakfast buffet was very adequate for complimentary buffet meal. Complimentary shuttle was late by half hour, so if you have not left adequate time for checkin and are running late, less stress to take a quick cab ride over to MIA. This hotel is so close to airport it is not necessary to travel on expressway! Big bonus during peak travel periods. We left our car Free parking for 10 days. Very appreciative perk----certainly made up for the return cab fare from airport. Didn't want to wait any longer than 15 min as had long drive back over to Bonita. Would highly recommend this hotel for ease on/off expressway, close to airport, cleanliness of room, and friendliness of staff. Only giving a 4/5 rating due to late shuttle. They run every half hour. No issues with free wi-if.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was a great place to spend the night as we went to the Orange Bowl. Close to the airport and rooms are very spacious. Only disadvantage is that there is no Wi-Fi available. Rooms are comfortable and large and some with good views of the lagoon that the hotel is located on.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Best Regards,

Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrenceville,ga
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. The shuttle came to pick us up at the airport and they arranged a shuttle for the trip to the port, at noon the next day. We ate their complimentary dinner and breakfast. We were upgraded to a two bedroom suite...very spacious. The front desk was pleasant and efficient. The rooms were comfortable and clean. We did hear a few airplanes but it was not unbearable. Food was fine. What more could you ask for? We would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. We hope you will visit us again when you return to the Miami area.

Regards,

Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.