We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre cruise family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Miami
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pre cruise family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom suite for 4 adults and my 1 year old for a night before our cruise.

The suite had a kitchen and enough room for all of us no problem. Free hot breakfast was really good, something for everyone. The giant carp? in the lagoon outside the dining area were really neat to watch.

We arranged cruise terminal pick up with the front desk it was about $15 per person.

This hotel is in an area that is not close to much, but for a quick stay we would choose it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    189
    65
    28
    13
See reviews for
208
92
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night after arriving late into Miami airport. Rooms were clean and spacious. We have 3 children and booked this hotel for the extra room and sofa bed. However when we went to pull down the bed there was a big label under the cushions saying "broken". We complained to the front desk who seemed unaware of the problem and they gave us a fold down instead. However, we were all very tired and could have done without the extra hassle. Also, we are Hilton diamond members but the hotel forgot about our preferences and benefits. Overall hotel and location were good but service problems let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us after your late night arrival to Miami. I'm sorry that we overlooked the broken sofa bed and we appreciate that you brought it to our attention. As a valued guest we want to ensure you have the best experience and we're sorry we did not provide that for you this time. I'm working with our staff to ensure our rewards members receive the My Way benefit selections they have elected and invite you to contact me directly if there are any additional concerns. We hope you give us another chance to provide you with wonderful service.

Best Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Suites are very spacious and incl all amenities. Breakfast was incl. The Front Desk Attendant came to the rescue by reimbursing the taxi fare from the airport as the hotel shuttle was temporarily unavailable.
We would have no hesitation in visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to go to a Miami Heat Game. It is in a great location between downtown Miami and the Miami International Mall. Airplanes can be heard flying over the hotel throughout the night but not loud enough to keep you awake at night. The breakfast was great and service fantastic! I had an emergency that Carmen and Michael helped me with on the night of arrival. I would highly recommend this hotel! The only thing I would advise NOT TO DO, is order pizza from New York Pizza Kitchen (the menu is in the room). That place is a joke! Horrible service, the pizza was awful, chicken wings were the smallest I have ever seen in my life! We ordered a Small Pizza, 8 Chicken Wings and a Cup of Soup, it came to $30.00!! I usually don't give bad reviews about places but this place takes the cake for worst pizza joint out there. Try Papa Johns (it's also in the room).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the airport if possible. If not it's not the end of the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendezvous, Christ Church, Barbados
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well I moved up the road from Miami Airport Hilton to Homewood Suite because Homewood still has smoking suites - and did I make a great choice. The suites are huge - well furnished and for someone who does not want to have breakfast every day before 10am so having a fridge and cooking facility is great.

Room Tip: A/c works well - the 2 bed suites are at the end of the hall but all other suites are along the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, DF, Brazil
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We needed a hotel with rooms big enough for 4 adults and a 1 year old baby and this was perfect. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, kitchen and living room reserved and it worked well for us. Breakfast and dinner were a bonus. The bad part was to have to carry our lugagge to the main entrance and put all of it (12 pieces) in the shuttle because the driver refused to do it. At 5:30 in the morning he could've been more pleasant but instead he kept complaining the bags were too heavy , so my daughter put most of them inside the shuttle. If this driver doesn't want to help, he shoulg go back to school to learn a new profession. Aside from that, the hotel is very confortable and I would consider it again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I guess that the word to describe this place is convenient. It is close to the airport. Breakfast and dinner buffet are included. Wi-fi is included. It has shuttle service to the airport. Rooms are large and have and an equipped kitchen.

Now for the bad part. First, the place has absolutely no charm, and you would probably never even know you are in Miami. If you want to have a Miami experience, I suggest you go somewhere else. Second, customer service is a foreign concept here. They put the burden of proof that you have a reservation on you, so I suggest you take a printout with your confirmation. Rather than feeling like a paying guest, you will probably feel like a unwanted visitor.

In sum, my take is that you should stay here only if you have to spend a layover night in Miami with a larger group on your way somewhere. But do remember to print out your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I’m also terribly disappointed that you did not have the Miami experience you were looking for. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to share any additional suggestions.



Warm regards,
Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.