We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #32 of 131 hotels in Miami
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for one night after arriving late into Miami airport. Rooms were clean and spacious. We have 3 children and booked this hotel for the extra room and sofa bed. However when we went to pull down the bed there was a big label under the cushions saying "broken". We complained to the front desk who seemed unaware of the problem and they gave us a fold down instead. However, we were all very tired and could have done without the extra hassle. Also, we are Hilton diamond members but the hotel forgot about our preferences and benefits. Overall hotel and location were good but service problems let it down.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us after your late night arrival to Miami. I'm sorry that we overlooked the broken sofa bed and we appreciate that you brought it to our attention. As a valued guest we want to ensure you have the best experience and we're sorry we did not provide that for you this time. I'm working with our staff to ensure our rewards members receive the My Way benefit selections they have elected and invite you to contact me directly if there are any additional concerns. We hope you give us another chance to provide you with wonderful service.

Best Regards,

Gody Almonte
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    169
    60
    26
    10
See reviews for
190
82
3
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Suites are very spacious and incl all amenities. Breakfast was incl. The Front Desk Attendant came to the rescue by reimbursing the taxi fare from the airport as the hotel shuttle was temporarily unavailable.
We would have no hesitation in visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to go to a Miami Heat Game. It is in a great location between downtown Miami and the Miami International Mall. Airplanes can be heard flying over the hotel throughout the night but not loud enough to keep you awake at night. The breakfast was great and service fantastic! I had an emergency that Carmen and Michael helped me with on the night of arrival. I would highly recommend this hotel! The only thing I would advise NOT TO DO, is order pizza from New York Pizza Kitchen (the menu is in the room). That place is a joke! Horrible service, the pizza was awful, chicken wings were the smallest I have ever seen in my life! We ordered a Small Pizza, 8 Chicken Wings and a Cup of Soup, it came to $30.00!! I usually don't give bad reviews about places but this place takes the cake for worst pizza joint out there. Try Papa Johns (it's also in the room).

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the airport if possible. If not it's not the end of the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendezvous, Christ Church, Barbados
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well I moved up the road from Miami Airport Hilton to Homewood Suite because Homewood still has smoking suites - and did I make a great choice. The suites are huge - well furnished and for someone who does not want to have breakfast every day before 10am so having a fridge and cooking facility is great.

Room Tip: A/c works well - the 2 bed suites are at the end of the hall but all other suites are along the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, DF, Brazil
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We needed a hotel with rooms big enough for 4 adults and a 1 year old baby and this was perfect. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, kitchen and living room reserved and it worked well for us. Breakfast and dinner were a bonus. The bad part was to have to carry our lugagge to the main entrance and put all of it (12 pieces) in the shuttle because the driver refused to do it. At 5:30 in the morning he could've been more pleasant but instead he kept complaining the bags were too heavy , so my daughter put most of them inside the shuttle. If this driver doesn't want to help, he shoulg go back to school to learn a new profession. Aside from that, the hotel is very confortable and I would consider it again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I guess that the word to describe this place is convenient. It is close to the airport. Breakfast and dinner buffet are included. Wi-fi is included. It has shuttle service to the airport. Rooms are large and have and an equipped kitchen.

Now for the bad part. First, the place has absolutely no charm, and you would probably never even know you are in Miami. If you want to have a Miami experience, I suggest you go somewhere else. Second, customer service is a foreign concept here. They put the burden of proof that you have a reservation on you, so I suggest you take a printout with your confirmation. Rather than feeling like a paying guest, you will probably feel like a unwanted visitor.

In sum, my take is that you should stay here only if you have to spend a layover night in Miami with a larger group on your way somewhere. But do remember to print out your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I’m also terribly disappointed that you did not have the Miami experience you were looking for. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to share any additional suggestions.



Warm regards,
Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here recently on a government business trip. I was overall pleased with the stay and impressed with the cleanliness and service. I would recommend this trip for business travelers who want to be near the airport, or those visiting Miami who want to be centrally located.

1. Location - near the airport, they have a shuttle, and set on a retention pond (Blue Lagoon), which provides nice views. Nice palm lined facility along a corporate parkway and near the big Hilton property. Some nice jogging and walking paths.
2. Staff - Gody (General Manager) was excellent. She welcomed out party with a small welcome gift, and allowed us an early check in. She sent us off warmly, and also sent a follow up email to check on how are stay was. She was great. Rest of the staff was hard working and helpful. When the shuttle was late for a friend trying to catch his plane, the staff offered to pay for his cab ride.
3. Breakfast and Dinner. With the stay you get a full breakfast, but also a light dinner. After a day of business, if you are too tired to go out, this is a great option. Also, beer and wine complimentary for your evening dinner.
4. Pool/Spa - not a four star, but a relaxing pool to rest in. Down the street is the big Hilton which has a nice pool, so maybe you can walk over and hang there since they are both Hilton properties.
5. Nearby - other than the airport, if you want to go to the beach or something, you will have to drive. There is a Publix and Cuban restaurant nearby if you need to go get some groceries.

In short, I will stay here again on our next trip to Miami which will be in a few months. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Try the Cuban restaurant in the Publix shopping center. Also ask for a corner suite - 2 rooms plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Suites Miami Airport
Homewood Suites Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood
Miami Homewood Suites
Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.