We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conrad would be very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Miami
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Conrad would be very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I guess that the word to describe this place is convenient. It is close to the airport. Breakfast and dinner buffet are included. Wi-fi is included. It has shuttle service to the airport. Rooms are large and have and an equipped kitchen.

Now for the bad part. First, the place has absolutely no charm, and you would probably never even know you are in Miami. If you want to have a Miami experience, I suggest you go somewhere else. Second, customer service is a foreign concept here. They put the burden of proof that you have a reservation on you, so I suggest you take a printout with your confirmation. Rather than feeling like a paying guest, you will probably feel like a unwanted visitor.

In sum, my take is that you should stay here only if you have to spend a layover night in Miami with a larger group on your way somewhere. But do remember to print out your reservation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, General Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. I’m also terribly disappointed that you did not have the Miami experience you were looking for. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to share any additional suggestions.



Warm regards,
Gody Almonte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    182
    67
    27
    13
See reviews for
213
93
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed here recently on a government business trip. I was overall pleased with the stay and impressed with the cleanliness and service. I would recommend this trip for business travelers who want to be near the airport, or those visiting Miami who want to be centrally located.

1. Location - near the airport, they have a shuttle, and set on a retention pond (Blue Lagoon), which provides nice views. Nice palm lined facility along a corporate parkway and near the big Hilton property. Some nice jogging and walking paths.
2. Staff - Gody (General Manager) was excellent. She welcomed out party with a small welcome gift, and allowed us an early check in. She sent us off warmly, and also sent a follow up email to check on how are stay was. She was great. Rest of the staff was hard working and helpful. When the shuttle was late for a friend trying to catch his plane, the staff offered to pay for his cab ride.
3. Breakfast and Dinner. With the stay you get a full breakfast, but also a light dinner. After a day of business, if you are too tired to go out, this is a great option. Also, beer and wine complimentary for your evening dinner.
4. Pool/Spa - not a four star, but a relaxing pool to rest in. Down the street is the big Hilton which has a nice pool, so maybe you can walk over and hang there since they are both Hilton properties.
5. Nearby - other than the airport, if you want to go to the beach or something, you will have to drive. There is a Publix and Cuban restaurant nearby if you need to go get some groceries.

In short, I will stay here again on our next trip to Miami which will be in a few months. Thanks guys.

Room Tip: Try the Cuban restaurant in the Publix shopping center. Also ask for a corner suite - 2 rooms plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We came down to Miami to spend Thanksgiving with family. They are all relatively near the airport, so the location is excellent. More so that it has easy access to a major freeway in Miami. We were in a two-bedroom suite so we had space for us and for our kids. The room has a fridge, stovetop, and microwave, so you would be able to prepare simple meals or reheat things if you need to. Overall this was a great location and a great stay. Now for the good and the bad.
The Good:
The rooms were clean and quiet.
The views were very nice. You have lakes on one side of the building, the airport on the other.
There were TVs in both bedrooms as well as in the living room.
The breakfast is very good by "Free Breakfast at the Hotel" standards, with a lot of choices.
The evening reception/dinner service (only on week days) was also decent, and did save us having to go out again for dinner on one night.
There is a great patio off of the dining room with a couple of tables to have breakfast outside if the weather is cooperating.
For being right across a major freeway from one of the runways for MIA, it is remarkably quiet.
As I stated before, it is convenient to the main East-West freeway through Miami.
There is a shopping center very convenient to the development where the hotel is located. The shopping center has a couple of restaurants, a supermarket and a drug store.
The area is full of convenient places to get a bite to eat.


The Bad
The parking lot is tight
The beds were not terribly comfortable (in my opinion)
There really isn't enough cookware/glassware for a room that had a kitchen. I think our room only had one skillet. No pot, no cooking implements at all.
There is no ice machine in the hotel for guests use. You have a small ice maker in the room, but it is woefully inadequate for 4 people in south Florida.
There are signs posted in the parking lot that you are not allowed to fish on the property despite the fact that the hotel sits on the premier Peacock Bass lake in all of Florida. Sorry, I am an avid fisherman and will take any opportunity to try my luck.

All in all, this was a great place and a great stay. Not so much if you are looking for a beach or other more touristy activities, but if the location works for you (Airport, or even a cruise, since its a straight shot down the expressway to the cruise terminals) then this is a great place to stay. I will definitely always be checking availability when next I go to Miami.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suites are all located at the far corners of the buildings. Inconvenient for the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

If you have to choose a Homewood Suites in Miami, pick this one. The rooms are spacious, with the shared bathroom right in between the bedroom and the living room with doors in between, so if you are using the living room for guests, sharing the bathroom is not uncomfortable for neither one of the guests.

The only problem I've found and holds me from giving it a full five-star rating is that the Internet signal was very poor in our room (513). A/C was a little noisy but a maintenance person came and fixed it, but still was noisier than average.

Breakfast is what you come to expect from Homewood Suites: eggs, waffles, fruit, oatmeal, the whole thing.

Unless you benefit from the shopping shuttles at the HS-West, don't go there and stay in this one. See my review on the Homewood Suites Airport West and you'll see why I recommend you to stay here instead of there, although this one is quite expensive ($200+).

Room Tip: 513 does not have a good Internet signal. Test your Internet signal before keeping the room they as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed with my husband and 2-year old son while visiting family in Miami. Our 1 BR suite was very spacious. The room was clean except for hair left in the hair dryer. As is to be expected, we could hear the airplanes above. But otherwise our room was quiet. The hotel is in an area with corporate offices and felt very safe. Breakfast was typical of free breakfast and wasn't as good as another Homewood we stayed at. Our room had a nice view of the lagoon. We appreciated the free parking as several other hotels in the area charge for parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, IA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We flew in a day early for a Carnival Cruise and stayed here because they had free transportation from the airport. Turned out our flight was late and they didn't have their shuttle running any longer so we had to pay $20 for the cab ride over. It was disappointing that the hotel didn't even offer to reimburse us or cover the cab fee. I've been to other Homewood hotels, and they did this as a courtesy.

Cab ride to the Port was only $25 for all 4 of us so that's the way to go. No need to get a shuttle which is $10 per person.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Everything was great great room beautiful view Front desk staff really nice, good parking great breakfast, easy access to the hotel enjoyed the view sitting out on the patio feeding those huge fish,enjoying the sun and being such a great area to shop and dine out at different resturants my favorite thing to do

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
#30 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.