We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #44 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on before our cruise and had two rooms. Our room was clean, but the bathroom door open directly into the toilet and you had to push it past the toilet. It was a tight squeeze and uncomfortable. The property was nice for being by the airport and we had no problem with noise. We enjoyed the back small deck that has a lot of fish off in the bay/river. Overall it is okay for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    199
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
233
101
5
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
1,050 helpful votes 1,050 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Only stayed 1 night in July at this Homewood Suites and it was very comfortable. Location is really close to the airport so very convenient if you arrive or depart from MIA (as we did on the next morning). They provide a shuttle bus but we had our rental car.
Downtown Miami is only 15-20 minutes drive and South Beach less than 30 minutes.

Hotel staff and at the front desk are nice and friendly.

Our suite was roomy on the 5th floor with a lagoon view, which is quieter. Bed was comfy, bathroom was well appointed and a full kitchen was provided too. Some issue with the shower. The room was a little tired and we had some dirty carpet and used furniture in the living room and this could be improved in the future.
Free parking, free wifi and breakfast (which was ok nothing fantastic) as well was included so nothing could make our stay better.
We might come back.

Room Tip: Lagoon view room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales, null, Turks and Caicos Islands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is the only hotel my family and I stays at whenever we travel to Miami. It is convenient, affordable, kids friendly, comfortable, beds and pillows are heavenly and the staffs are wonderful. Whenever I am planning to travel to Miami I normally orders my shopping online and have same shipped directly to the hotel and upon my arrival it is safely delivered to our rooms all the time.

We are very disappointed that we are unable to get a room for our upcoming vacation 22/08/12 to 28/08/12.

Overall we love our hotel.

Mark, Debbie and kids

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This is my second stay at the Homewood Suites in Miami blue lagoon, and I am speechless. I stayed for only just one night and it was outstanding. I checked in on a Sat. morning after a cruise and I was just exhausted. When I arrived the Front desk agent found my husband and I a room, told us of all the amenities the hotel offered and even knew we had some packages that had been delivered. She was extremely helpful. I got to the room and it was in perfect condition, and very spacious. I was in time for breakfast and headed down, it was quite busy but it was still great breakfast. spend the whole day in my roomy suite, next morning it was our departure and the same young lady was at the front desk. She arranged for the shuttle to take us to the airport and everything, I even got her name of how wonderful she was and to let her Manager know. Overall it was a perfect stay located in a good area.

Tips, if you ever go to this hotel ask for Alejandra at the Front desk she is beyond amazing!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here a few years ago and the hotel was in need of repair. The good news is that the hotel has been renovated and the room was immaculate. Also on the postive side - the check in process went smoothly and the receptionist was super friendly and quick. After check in we stepped into the restaurant area to see if there was any coffee or water but all we found was dirty cups and trash overflowing the coffee area and waste bin. We proceeded to our room and the minute we stepped off the elevator we were hit with cigarette stench. It smelled like we were swimming in an ashtray. We actually put our shirts over our noses to filter the smoke. Stepping into our room was a reprieve from the smoke and as I mentioned previously the room was super clean and in great shape. We braved the stench in the hall to go to the pool and stepped out on the back patio to look at the water and found a huge trash bin overflowing with garbage. It looked like it hadn't been changed in a week. We proceeded to the pool and it was dirty too! Lots of floating leaves on the top and lots of floating other things on the bottom. Why bother to renovate a hotel if the staff isn't going to bother to maintain it? What a shame! The free shuttle to the airport and allowing our car to stay in the parking lot for free while on our vacation was a definite bonus and money saver! This is a great place to stay if you can make it through the hallway and only plan on staying in your newly renovated room. Hopefully management will kick some butts and get this place cleaned up!

Room Tip: Shuttle is free and it runs 24 hrs. Also - free parking while you're away on vacation. Definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miabl, Manager at Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. I apologize that you were not safisfied with the condition of the hotel. We will take your comments seriosly and will keep your recommendations in mind to ensure that every guests has a positive experience during their stay with us. We hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July 2012.

The hotel's location is a quick ride from Miami Intl. Airport (approximately 10 minutes) and about 20 minutes with car from South Beach, depending of the traffic.

The beds in this hotel are amazing. The beds are really comfortable, and several pillows and blankets allow you to make yourself the perfect sleeping position.

The rooms are big. In fact they these hotel rooms are apartments, since they are equipped with a full kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and a spacious bed room.

WI-FI in room and cable TVs in both the living room and the bed room.

The cons about the rooms are that the doors could have been more soundproof from noise from the corridor. I also had problems with regulating the temperature in the shower.

Regarding the noise from the corridor this didn't represent a big problem when sleeping, since there are two doors between the entrance door and the bed room.

Some of the furniture could have had a makeover, as it's starting to look old.

A little pool behind the hotel, and a little fitness room is available for all guests.

The included breakfast is a buffet placed in a little kitchen, witch can cause some queue if a lot of the guests decide to eat at the same time as you. Especially the waffle iron was always in use.

All in all the hotel is very good, and is a safe choice if you don't mind staying some away from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We came in late and left early, so we cannot say that we got to know the hotel well. But we came late night as a family and was given a great suite with two bedroms. It was fantastic. The service was the best and the whole stay was enjoyable for us! We long to come back and experience more from this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Miami
#32 Business Hotel in Miami
#34 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;