We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms and the world's most comfortable beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms and the world's most comfortable beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in July 2012.

The hotel's location is a quick ride from Miami Intl. Airport (approximately 10 minutes) and about 20 minutes with car from South Beach, depending of the traffic.

The beds in this hotel are amazing. The beds are really comfortable, and several pillows and blankets allow you to make yourself the perfect sleeping position.

The rooms are big. In fact they these hotel rooms are apartments, since they are equipped with a full kitchen, a living room, a bathroom and a spacious bed room.

WI-FI in room and cable TVs in both the living room and the bed room.

The cons about the rooms are that the doors could have been more soundproof from noise from the corridor. I also had problems with regulating the temperature in the shower.

Regarding the noise from the corridor this didn't represent a big problem when sleeping, since there are two doors between the entrance door and the bed room.

Some of the furniture could have had a makeover, as it's starting to look old.

A little pool behind the hotel, and a little fitness room is available for all guests.

The included breakfast is a buffet placed in a little kitchen, witch can cause some queue if a lot of the guests decide to eat at the same time as you. Especially the waffle iron was always in use.

All in all the hotel is very good, and is a safe choice if you don't mind staying some away from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    239
    82
    38
    16
See reviews for
281
115
6
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We came in late and left early, so we cannot say that we got to know the hotel well. But we came late night as a family and was given a great suite with two bedroms. It was fantastic. The service was the best and the whole stay was enjoyable for us! We long to come back and experience more from this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed here to attend a business meeting at Burger King headquarters. It is in walking distance - takes about 8 minutes to walk. Not bad, but they will shuttle you there if you ask. We used that shuttle 3 times, once for BK, once to got to Aero restaurant and once to airport. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes. Customer service overall was definitely above average.

Free breakfast is about average, but well stocked. They do have a free dinner every Monday-Thursday night. We stayed Tues-Thurs and it was ok each night. Something a little different and plenty of it. Nothing too spectacular, but decent. Also free wine and beer (miller lite) and it wasn't too bad, and could save a good bit of money if traveling with a family.


Pool was average. Needed to be skimmed. Small fitness room - 2 treadmills, 1 ellipctal, 1 small bench with free weights and some kettle balls and balance balls. Again - decent, but not spectacular.

There is a run down hotel next door that needs to be torn down. It made me wonder a little about the neighborhood. Folks who were at meeting with me and had been there before suggested I try the Sofitel next time. I probably will. I loved the service here, but overall too many little details starting to go wrong for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really had a wonderful stay, the customer service was wonderful and breakfast as well as dinner was always fresh. Would differently recommend this hotel to anyone who would be staying in Miami area....

Room Tip: make sure you are very specific about smoking or non smoking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel is very, very comfy and the suites are large and comfortable. Ive stayed here many times and love that the hotel has free parking. I feel that its time for Hilton to clean up and update the property. I had some older pieces of furniture in my suite that looked like kids had free reign on them. The sliding closet doors did not open or close. The managers reception was an added plus for families. Definitely family friendly!

Room Tip: family friendly with free parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Loved my stay at the Homewood in March, 2012. Stayed for 2 nights, on business. Hotel is clean and nicely QUIET, even though close to MIA. Staff wonderful and welcoming. Homewoods are terrific with breakfast AND dinner included on weekdays. The space of a 2-room suite is very much appreciated by business travelers. I will definitely return when business calls me back to Miami.

Room Tip: I was relatively close to the elevator, but never heard a bit of hallway noise, nor did I hear any r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Homewood Suites Blue Lagoon was a welcome site to three weary travellers - we stayed her May 13. We have learned that you can never go wrong with a Homewood Suites. After spending the day at the beach in Miami before catching a cruise the next day, we learned Miami Beach is not only over-priced, it's over-rated. We quickly searched for the nearest Homewood Suites (love the free internet, free parking). Miami Beach hotels like to charge you for parking, internet and now a new $25 and up resort fee - This property was located close to the airport and only 10 minutes from the cruise port. The rooms were bigger than usual, and we would loved to have stayed an extra day. The room overlooked a lake, and the property itself was what we could call a Homewood Suites upgrade. The breakfast had a lot of options as well. We did have one glitch - the toilet overflowed - but they were right on it - wasn't bad at all - this is a great property - a must for anyone travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#22 Business Hotel in Miami
#23 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.