We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #42 of 129 Hotels in Miami
North Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Oue party consisting of two couples stayed here on the 12th May prior to joining a cruise the following day. Our flight from the UK got us into Miami in plenty of time to arrive at the hotel in time for the " Managers buffet " This was excellent and superior to other Homewood suites we have stayed at in Orlando. We had a two bedroom suite on the top floor overlooking the lagoon. I could not fault the suite and did not think it was looking tired as others have said! Ok the TV wasn't a flatscreen but for a short stay who cares!
The Breakfast was also excellent. if you are looking for a good value , clean and comfortable hotel near the airport in Miami this is the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    196
    72
    30
    14
See reviews for
228
99
5
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

This was about our 6th time staying at the homewood Suites Blue Lagoon Drive. We spent the first night of our holiday there after flying in from London. Check-in was quick and easy. We had booked a two room suite and apart from the fact that it was really hard to open the bathroom doors as both doors hit the toilet seats ....the suite was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

Unfortunately, for the first time, we experienced dreadful aircraft noise. We had a suite at the front of the hotel, at the end of the building looking onto the swimming pool. Perhaps the location on our suite was the problem? The noise went on well past midnight and started again very early in the morning.

The compementary breakfast was very acceptable with plenty of choice.

The hotel is very good value for money and we would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We spent one night at this homewood suite as we had an overnight layover at Miami. The Shuttle service to and from the airport was quick and easy. The front desk service was great, they where very friendly and helpful. The hotel rooms needed some updates. The rooms were very big and the beds where comfortable but many of the items in the room where worn down and needed to be replace. The Ottoman had tears in it and the sofa had stains. The bathroom shower drained very slow. It was not the worst place that I have stayed in but probably the worst Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night before a cruise. We arrived at the airport and caught a cab to the hotel ( $15 with tip) as we didnt have a phone to call their shuttle and couldnt see it anywhere. We were warmly greeted by the great staff and were told all about the free dinner that night and the free breakfast the next morning. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a king bed in one room and 2 double beds in the other room. Very spacious and comfortable for the 5 of us. Dinner ( spicy little prawns and free beer and wine)was had out the back of the hotel overlooking the lagoon. THere were turtles right there which the kids loved. We also went for a night swim and it was great. We didnt hear any airport noise and the front desk went out of their way to organise transport to the cruise terminal the next morning. I would definetely recommend this hotel if you need to stay near the airport.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We had just finished the flights from hell, and lost all our luggage along the way. We tried to find a courtesy phone at the airport, but none was around. We finally got someone to call the hotel for us and request a shuttle. We stood outside on the curb and watched lots of shuttles go by; after about 10 minutes, we saw the Homewood Suites shuttle and waived him down. Quick 10 minute ride to the hotel. When we got to the hotel at 11:30 pm, we were tired and frustrated. The desk clerk made sure that he gave us toothbrushes and toothpaste, and completed our registration in record time. We asked if there was somewhere we could order in food from (yes, that would be our dinner!) - he very quickly handed us a few menus and said that all of them would deliver directly to the hotel and they were all good. We trotted up to our room, which was a 2 bedroom suite ( king, 2 doubles). It was fantastic! A small kitchen, stocked with popcorn, coffee, tea and hot chocolate waited for us. Ice and cold water were in the fridge. There was a small sitting area, a small kitchen table, a TV and two doors off of the sitting area - one door lead to a full bathroom and a bedroom with two double beds (my son and daughter were thrilled) and a TV; the other door led to a King sized bed, a window with a view of the lagoon, a TV and another full sized bathroom. We ordered food from the recommended menus, it was delivered right to our door about 25 minutes later, piping hot. We ate and crashed. The next morning, we had breakfast in their complementary breakfast room - it was a really good breakfast! Lots of variety, very clean area, lots of tables to sit at, fresh, hot food. Nice! After breakfast, we used the business office (which had four computers in it) to track our luggage. After that, we found a few items that we desperately needed, so we asked the desk staff if there was a drugstore nearby. We got very concise walking directions to three different drug stores only three blocks away - great! When we got back to the hotel, we checked out the pool area (pretty nice) and sat with a coffee on the viewing platform by the breakfast room and watched fish, turtles and a goose with fluffy babies paddle by on the lagoon. Pretty nice, all in all. We had the front desk call us a cab to take us to our cruise ship and the desk clerk watched carefully; when the cab didn't show up in 5 minutes, she called again. The cab came quickly after that, and we were on our way. All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Can't complain too much as we stayed a night before and a night after our cruise at the expense of our son's Hilton award points. We also used frequent flyer miles from United to travel to Miami from Tucson so our only real cost was for our cruise to the Caribbean.

The hotel picked us up from the airport with their free shuttle in good time. It is a good distance from the cruise port but closer to the airport. We spent $10 per person for the shuttle to the cruise port and the same on our return.

The hotel is ok but could use some renovation. The rooms were large and comfortable but a little dated and the noise from the nearby airport was quite noticeable.

There is a free, unremarkable breakfast available but we were a little turned off by the fact that one of our party was a couple of minutes late the morning before our flight home and was told there was nothing available, not even a piece of toast. We mentioned this to the front desk personnel who was apologetic and offered to get something from the kitchen, a nice gesture.

I wouldn't say that this hotel lives up to the reviews we read and relied on when we chose this place.

Room Tip: Think about the Hilton or Embassy Suites instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

A group of girls stayed in a 2 BR, 2 BA unit for 2 nights. We overlooked the pool on the 5th floor. Each night there were groups of people sitting near the pool under our bedroom...talking and enjoying the way after midnight cool air. They were just having fun but the noise came up and disturbed our sleep. Feel sorry for the guests on the 2nd, 3rd & 4th floor!
This hotel was renovated 5 years ago (as told by a desk clerk) and is in needed attention. The couch is soiled and sags. Older TV's, a freezer that didn't freeze & saggy mattresses. But there was a good selection of bed pillows, so every choice is available. The bath vanity was adequate, separate from the potty and shower, but the faucet spout was short and barely cleared the back of the sink.
Breakfast is included, but very ordinary. Awful scrambled eggs. Good thing shredded cheese was next to the chaffer.
Close to the airport so very convenient, but know you will also hears the planes taking off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Miami
#33 Business Hotel in Miami
#35 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.