We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service made our stay great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%!
Ranked #35 of 130 hotels in Miami
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service made our stay great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

We had just finished the flights from hell, and lost all our luggage along the way. We tried to find a courtesy phone at the airport, but none was around. We finally got someone to call the hotel for us and request a shuttle. We stood outside on the curb and watched lots of shuttles go by; after about 10 minutes, we saw the Homewood Suites shuttle and waived him down. Quick 10 minute ride to the hotel. When we got to the hotel at 11:30 pm, we were tired and frustrated. The desk clerk made sure that he gave us toothbrushes and toothpaste, and completed our registration in record time. We asked if there was somewhere we could order in food from (yes, that would be our dinner!) - he very quickly handed us a few menus and said that all of them would deliver directly to the hotel and they were all good. We trotted up to our room, which was a 2 bedroom suite ( king, 2 doubles). It was fantastic! A small kitchen, stocked with popcorn, coffee, tea and hot chocolate waited for us. Ice and cold water were in the fridge. There was a small sitting area, a small kitchen table, a TV and two doors off of the sitting area - one door lead to a full bathroom and a bedroom with two double beds (my son and daughter were thrilled) and a TV; the other door led to a King sized bed, a window with a view of the lagoon, a TV and another full sized bathroom. We ordered food from the recommended menus, it was delivered right to our door about 25 minutes later, piping hot. We ate and crashed. The next morning, we had breakfast in their complementary breakfast room - it was a really good breakfast! Lots of variety, very clean area, lots of tables to sit at, fresh, hot food. Nice! After breakfast, we used the business office (which had four computers in it) to track our luggage. After that, we found a few items that we desperately needed, so we asked the desk staff if there was a drugstore nearby. We got very concise walking directions to three different drug stores only three blocks away - great! When we got back to the hotel, we checked out the pool area (pretty nice) and sat with a coffee on the viewing platform by the breakfast room and watched fish, turtles and a goose with fluffy babies paddle by on the lagoon. Pretty nice, all in all. We had the front desk call us a cab to take us to our cruise ship and the desk clerk watched carefully; when the cab didn't show up in 5 minutes, she called again. The cab came quickly after that, and we were on our way. All in all, we were very pleased with the hotel and the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    181
    67
    27
    13
See reviews for
212
93
5
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Can't complain too much as we stayed a night before and a night after our cruise at the expense of our son's Hilton award points. We also used frequent flyer miles from United to travel to Miami from Tucson so our only real cost was for our cruise to the Caribbean.

The hotel picked us up from the airport with their free shuttle in good time. It is a good distance from the cruise port but closer to the airport. We spent $10 per person for the shuttle to the cruise port and the same on our return.

The hotel is ok but could use some renovation. The rooms were large and comfortable but a little dated and the noise from the nearby airport was quite noticeable.

There is a free, unremarkable breakfast available but we were a little turned off by the fact that one of our party was a couple of minutes late the morning before our flight home and was told there was nothing available, not even a piece of toast. We mentioned this to the front desk personnel who was apologetic and offered to get something from the kitchen, a nice gesture.

I wouldn't say that this hotel lives up to the reviews we read and relied on when we chose this place.

Room Tip: Think about the Hilton or Embassy Suites instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osprey, FL
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

A group of girls stayed in a 2 BR, 2 BA unit for 2 nights. We overlooked the pool on the 5th floor. Each night there were groups of people sitting near the pool under our bedroom...talking and enjoying the way after midnight cool air. They were just having fun but the noise came up and disturbed our sleep. Feel sorry for the guests on the 2nd, 3rd & 4th floor!
This hotel was renovated 5 years ago (as told by a desk clerk) and is in needed attention. The couch is soiled and sags. Older TV's, a freezer that didn't freeze & saggy mattresses. But there was a good selection of bed pillows, so every choice is available. The bath vanity was adequate, separate from the potty and shower, but the faucet spout was short and barely cleared the back of the sink.
Breakfast is included, but very ordinary. Awful scrambled eggs. Good thing shredded cheese was next to the chaffer.
Close to the airport so very convenient, but know you will also hears the planes taking off.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Exceptionally well managed, pushing the envelope of just how good this class of property can be. Friendly, professional staff, from front desk to shuttle driver. Pristinely clean rooms and public areas reflect management’s commitment to maintaining a superior property.

Complimentary shuttle for destinations within a 2-mile radius, including MIA International.

Evening (M-Th) “Manager’s Reception” included complimentary beer, wine, and a light meal on par with the best casual dining restaurants. Even more amazing, an actual manager was present, overseeing the event and properly playing meet & greet. Excellent quality, too, of complimentary hot breakfast.

Spacious “suite design” rooms include studio-sized living area, fully separated from bedroom/bathroom. Great bedding with plenty of pillows. Generously sized bath towels, better than in some 4-star properties. 9’ ceilings make rooms feel even larger, and easily accommodate shower head (excellent) mounted high enough for all heights.

Free High Speed Internet (wired or Wifi) another plus, with servers sized to handle the load.

Only minor annoyance was slow elevator service, under-engineered in the building's design. No worries. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

This hotel was a great value. The suites were standard, with a king bed, living room and fully loaded kitchen and bath. The pool was nice, with a whirlpool as well. Fitness centre was also one of the better ones I've used. The business centre was great, they even had pens, paper etc. so I didn't have to search for anything. Best part was the breakfast and dinner. Breakfast had standard cold cereals in addition to fresh fruit, juice, breads/bagels for toasting plus hot food (eggs, bacon and potato pancakes) waffle makers were also brought out a couple of days. Get there early as people tend to hoard the fruit and they don't refill it that often. They also offered a "dinner" in the evening - hot food such as meatloaf and potatoes, salad, etc. Also included beer and wine. They put a calendar on your fridge with each night's dinner menu. Great value - you could conceivably not spend any money on food if you stay here. There was also a tuck shop with many things, so you really don't need to leave the hotel for anything! They also provide a shuttle to the airport. Be kind and tip the driver as he's lifting your bags, etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Love this hotel. The staff was sooooo nice and friendly. Shanta who I worked with for a group of rooms was excellent and professional. I rate this hotel at the top of all my hotel stays. The only thing I think they could improve in is breakfast. The eggs was not the greatest and they had no bacon. Thanks for making us at home away from home Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

It´s a good hotel, with comfortable nice rooms, with a kitchen and a living room with sofa bed. Breakfast was included and it was really complete. We stayed just one night on our way back to Argentina.It is close to the airport. It has a free shuttle to it and a taxi to Dolphin Mall is about u$20 for 5 , so you don´t need the shuttle that cost u$10 per person. The only negative thing but it isn´t really from the hotel are the menues in the room, from two restaurants, horrible food!! and you have to pay the taxi for the delivery.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon

Address: 5500 Blue Lagoon Dr, Miami, FL 33126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#28 Family Hotel in Miami
#31 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon Hotel Miami
Homewood Miami
Miami Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Miami-Airport / Blue Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.