We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 131 hotels in Miami
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2006

My mother and I spent the weekend at this beautiful hotel recently for a girls weekend. We requested a quiet location based on previous reviews and we were glad we did. Outside the hotel was a little noisy on Saturday, but not so noisy that we were disturbed.

The inside of the hotel is so unexpected from the outside. We were surprised at how big the hotel was, but the staff made you feel as if you were at a bed and breakfast.

We were both shocked at how beautiful and tranquil the rooms were. Everything seemed so relaxing and peaceful about the room. Very Zen-like. We stayed in a deluxe bedroom which had a beautiful living area in addition to the bedroom and spa like bathroom. There is also a private hot tub on the balcony, but it was too hot outside to make use of the tub.

The room has a mini bar and snacks that are the usual over-priced items. In addition there is a microwave which is perfect to accompany movies you bring with you as the room has three (yes, three!) plasma screen tv's and a dvd player. However, the location is right in the middle of Coconut Grove and we enjoyed walking around and window shopping. There are also many restaurants available to choose from. Make use of the concierge for suggestions. The concierge recommended Cafe on the Green for breakfast and it was wonderful.

In general the staff was friendly. I had one run in with the bellhop, but this did not mar my overall stay. We did not have time to take advantage of the spa, but when we go back next time we certainly will do so.

I certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — the tip hungry bellhop staff
  • Tips/Secrets — request a room in a quiet location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    279
    146
    134
    106
See reviews for
142
346
42
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2006

Read prior reviews and was hesitant about staying at this hotel. Its true that if you are noise sensitive - this is not the hotel for you! Sounds from the bar and restaurants down the street, as well as the thumping beat of music being played somewhere was somewhat of an annoyance. And unfortunately during our stay, we were woken up two nights in a row with the sound of fire alarms which turned out to be false.

Apparently the hotel is part of the Leading Hotels of the World. I do think this property does fall short of their standards. I expected better soundproofing, a shiny and clean looking hot tub and bath tub, fresh looking upholstery, as well as bed linens (the bedskirt has seen better days). Also no writing instruments to accompany the notepad and stationery. Delivery of the complimentary Miami Herald newpaper was spotty.

On the plus side - well appointed spacious room with a huge flat screen television, wireless internet access that worked and lots of sitting areas. Small screened in balcony with 2 person hot tub. Marble floor tiles throughout. No worries of smelly damp carpets! The large bathroom had dual sinks, rain showerhead with good water pressure and small flat screen television, a blow dryer, Aveda toiletries a big plus. Our room was equipped with a safe, and small microwave. A stocked fridge full of various beverages and basket of snacks was also available, but you will be charged for anything you consume. We brought our own drinks and kept it in the fridgerator. But do review your bill when you checkout, because we were accidently charged for the honors bar.

The staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. Pet friendly (no additional charge). Plenty of meter street parking if you decide not to use the valet service ($25 per day).

The location of the hotel is within walking distance to the shops and movie theater at Cocowalk, restaurants and small boutiques. Close to Coral Gables, Key Biscayne and other attractions.

Overall its worth the stay if you can get a great rate. Try Quikbooks as well as the other hotel search engines such as Expedia or Orbitz.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2006

Stayed at the Mayfair for one night in June and would recommend it highly to anyone.

Positives:
HUGE room ( I mean really big), jacuzzi on private balcony, comfy beds with nice linens, large flat screen tv, very nice bathroom with Aveda products, excellent location next to CocoWalk, very cool architecture and atmosphere, summer rates are incredible...122 a night.

Negatives:
Bar prices are SKY HIGH. Being next to CocoWalk it can be a bit noisy I'm told, although we didn't have any problems. Ask for a room on the quiet side. The roll away we had delivered was really, really bad.

Despite the short list of negatives, we will definitely be back. We'll just bring our own drinks and one fewer person.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2006

Our first stay at the Mayfair was in winter 2005. When making the reservation we requested a suite. Much to our dismay, when we checked in and went to our suite, it was not a suite, but rather a relatively small room. Needless to say, my husband and I were quite disappointed. Overall, however, our stay was quite nice, despite our perception of what constituted a suite versus that which was advertised as a suite.

While we were checking out of the hotel, my husband was chatting with another couple. Somewhat, surprisingly, they were raving about their hotel accommodations. They indicated that they had stayed in a very nice one-bedroom Deluxe suite which turned out to be only marginally more expensive than the room we had stayed in.

As we liked the hotel"s ambience, amenities, location, etc., we decided that if we returned to the area we would consider their tip.

Well, in late May we came to visit family in the area, and booked a one-bedroom Deluxe suite. As it turned out, this suite was simply lovely and far surpassed our expectations, especially at the price. Once all renovations (e.g., pool) are complete, we certainly would recommend the Mayfair to friends, especially when staying in a Deluxe suite.

Finally, I should point out that for a luxury hotel, particularly in Florida, the location is fantastic -- one can walk to anything and everything in seconds.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2006

What a pleasant surprise! After reading postings I was worried. It was absolutely gorgeous in the middle of Coconut Grove. After shopping, etc. it was so nice to go back to the peacefulness of this hotel. The bed was so inviting, the TV was incredible and the total luxury made it hard to believe that we were in the middle of the hectic Grove. The wireless connection was a definate plus. Relaxing in the terrace hot tub while watching the younger crowd walk by was great. We could see them but they couldn't see us. The exotic detail of the resort was breathtaking from the glass elevators to the lush tropical gardens and the detailed woodwork made me feel like I was in Spanish villa ,yet still moments away from CocoWalk. You definately don't need a car. After eating at many restaurants during our stay, the absolute best dining experience was at the Ginger Grove, it's the best kept secret. The food and service was incredible. . We ordered room service one morning and they said it would be 20 minutes and it was delivered it in 10 minutes. The rest of the Grove should learn what service really means. The staff was very attentive from the moment we arrived until the pleasant bell staff bid us farewell. The Spa was heavenly! The only complaint was that my husband thought the Spa robes were much too small. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2006

I booked the Mayfair thru Priceline and got a huge discount on the room. (Not a bad strategy considering there are only a few 4 stars in Coconut Grove- you can't go wrong). Overall, the staff was attentive and I requested a room to the quiet side of the hotel-away from Cocowalk. It does get loud in the Grove but we had no problem sleeping at night. Plasma TV- cool; Hot tub on patio- awesome; staff- was very friendly and attentive. Valet was a little high $ 25 per day but they were very fast retrieving the car and helpful. There is self parking close by.A very enjoyable stay and we enjoyed the local restaurants away from CocoWalk- the choices there seemed very commercial. In closing, the hotel was no where near as bad as some of the posts below .

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

There are several negative reviews regarding this hotel. My wife and I just stayed a week there and here are my thoughts:

BAD
Noise - Thanks to the reviews on this site, we requested a quiet room. As a result, we got a room that was relatively quiet at nights. However, the room faced the wall of a parking lot as a result. The noises we did hear were from neighbors or other residents walking by. Also, the tall wall that removed the noise also removed most of the sun light, which made the room rather dark during the days.
Internet - the complementary internet is not disbursed evenly across the property so we had to go to the court yard to get on the web.
Parking - $25 per night for the valet parking is high for me. We parked across the street in the public parking for several nights and saved about $10/weeknight.

GOOD
Room - Our room, one of the smaller ones, was well decorated and spacious.
Location - The Mayfair is pretty well situated in Coconut Grove, a neighborhood of hip restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and a movie theatre. Miami and Biscayne beaches are about 15 miles north.
Big LCD TV - There was one of these suckers in our room and it was beautiful. You can order movies or bring your own cables and DVD player and watch the nice TV. There also a small LCD tv in the bathroom.
Service - Contrary to some reviews, the service we received was friendly and fast.
Decoration - The hotel and room were well decorated. I think the pool was down, but we just to the beaches anyway.

Overall, I'd give this hotel a B to B+, depending on the price paid.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.