We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding gamble paid off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 131 hotels in Miami
miami
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wedding gamble paid off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

Being from Miami, we were familiar with the Mayfair and booked it for my "bridal escape" and wedding weekend. Imagine my horror when I found out a month before the big day that the hotel was under major renovation! They had failed to inform me, but to their credit, they explicitly warned my dad when he booked rooms a month later that "renovation" meant jackhammers, construction, etc. Since I did not the time or energy to deal with it, I kept the reservation. It was worth it!

Sure, there was some concrete dust and missing shrubs, but the concierge was amazing and the staff was wonderful to a stressed out bride. Certain departments (room repair) left much to be desired, and room service was inconsistent...yet the front desk found an electrical strips to accomodate numerous blow dryers for my bridal party.

Thank you Mayfair for providing the backdrop for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    277
    146
    134
    106
See reviews for
142
345
42
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2005

My husband and I are stayed there back in 2001 and to our surprise it was undergoing a major renovation (we had to ask and we were informed that it was taking an "Extreme Makeover" of 25 Million!!!!) - we were absolutely impressed and breat taken by this... My husband made the reservations and was informed of the out of order areas, but they offered alternatives if we didn't wish to stay due to the renovation. That didn't bother us since we were out for a getaway on a Wed-Fri, for 129 a night that beats the Sonesta and the Wyndham. The valet was very well suited and there was a greeter that took us to the registration area. They offered a complementary continental breakfast, and as we were checking into the hotel they told us about the DAILY Complementary Wine Hour (not cheap wine either!). Complimentary WiFi but did have difficulty with it at first and they had someone come up to assist (operator error)... Needless to say, there is no lobby, restaurant, lounge, spa or pool. If your looking for all these this - I don't recommend it at least until October. I was really impressed that the staff was so curteous amidst the conditions they had to function in. The check in was remote on their Indoor/Outdoor terrace - the agent was nice but offering water but the concierge also offered wine NICE TOUCH!
When we got to the room, my husband mentioned that we were getting away from the kids and the Jacuzzi was turned on for us when we went in it, the water made us sweat too much so we didn't use it for long. Some of the walls were still bland without any picture frames but the Plasma tv in the suite was a nice touch! We immediately called down to advise of the missing items so they wouldn't think that we took them, and they accommodated us by letting us know that it is due to the timing of the renovation, things are still coming in and since they are still running the hotel it makes it difficult to hang things up and decorate as if they were closed it would go much faster.
We asked about the noise and they responded that it is not high energy like South Beach but you definitely have nice spots- Wet Willies, Fat Tuesday with the frozen drinks - Great for this summer... Went for dinner at The Knife (AWESOME) you get complimentary wine bottle or 2 beers with dinner and it is served like a Brazilian Rodizio but with an Argentinean Flair- That was great!!! Kudos to them! Lots of shops and boutiques, the atmosphere there compared to the last time we stayed is completely inviting and enjoyable. The following night they were sold out and stayed at the Ritz Carlton around the corner. Not bad, definitely paid too much for a small room. Nice pool area, but seemed understaffed and those who waited on us were not service kind, sort of on the frustration level :(. For now, if you don't mind having a few amenties and all your going to the area for is to relax at night and go out during the day - there is no bother.

I definitely recommend a return getaway, but they need to get this place going already! Definite potential for my corporate and social events! I got a picture of the middle of the hotel which is a gorgeous atrium -

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2005

We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds, not a suite but it was very spacious and beautifully furnished with comfortable beds, plush overstuffed chairs, marble bathrooms and of course, the plasma screen TV. Despite undergoing renovation, the hotel is beautiful and quiet and the staff quite professional. As noted by others there is no pool or restaurant onsite at this time. Because of the renovations, the price was very reasonable -$138/nte. BTW, if you love the hotel, you can purchase a suite as a condominium allowing you to live there 45 days/year and rent out the rest of the year splitting the rent with the hotel.

Only one gripe- the hotel website features some amenities which are not yet available, such as DVD players, luxury toiletries by the Thymes, and televisions is the bathroom. Not having the DVD player was a big disappointment to my teenagers who packed several DVDs based on the website info. Thank goodness for the wireless internet access!

I would certainly stay at the Mayfair again especially after the renovations are complete. For sure, the prices will never be as good as they are now.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2005

What a wonderful stay at the Mayfair hotel!! We were given a beautiful renovated suite upon check-in and loved it. The suite was spacious, clean and luxurious. The balcony with the private soaking tub was very nice. The huge flat screen plasma t.v didn't hurt either.

They are undergoing renovations at the moment but it is a minor annoyance considering the beautiful rooms and atrium. There is a lot to do in miami, so we were not in the hotel during the day. Thus, we avoided the noise and construction. If you book this hotel knowing that there is rennovations and don't mind a little noise, I think you will be pleasantly surprised.

We were very pleased and definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.