We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A series of unfortunate events” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A series of unfortunate events”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

As locals we decided to try the Mayfair in Coconut Grove for the weekend. First the positive. The price is great for the location $160 including taxes & fees. (right in the heart of everything). The rooms are spacious with a well stocked mini bar & nice sized TV.
Cons:
1. The staff is hit or miss in terms of service and pleasantness. The shinning stars here are the front desk lady that checked us out (Surey) and believe it or not the cabana boy on Saturday Aug 1 at 5pm. He was spectacular (Sedly, I think)
2. The pool bar was crowed and only 1 bar tender, drinks where over priced and not well made, food was mediocre at best and a drink took a lifetime to get.
3. The relief bartender gives back improper change and was clueless and unprofessional.
4. The ad that brought us to the pool bar said Happy Hour Daily 5-7pm, which they did not honor and said it was only at the downstairs restaurant.
5. We took our group of eight to the downstairs restaurant, sat down for drinks and food and possibly better service to learn that they only honored happy hour at the bar.
6. Although the room was nice the view wasn't and one of the draws of this hotel for locals is the in room Jacuzzi which was not working.
7. If you ride the elevator take a towel with you because the a/c is broken there and it felt like a sauna.
8. When we arrived at 3:30pm the room wasn't ready which rarely happens at hotels. We were ensured it would be ready by 4pm and that we would be called. It was not and we were not called as promised.

In short, there is a leadership issue here. The feeling I left with was that of "If you don't like, go elsewhere" rather than" what can we do resolve this and have you return". If a room and easy access to the great surrounding areas are all you need this place is great. Take my advice however, spend you dining and drinking dollars elsewhere and don't expect to treated that well. Also focus on reviewers that have more than just one review and its about this hotel.

If you want advice on hotels in this area which offer a complete package feel feel free to message me.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    75
    64
    35
    47
See reviews for
80
121
11
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was very nice. The front desk attendant went above and beyond to ensure that our room was up to par. Pedro in the Hotel restaurant gave fantastic service. He anticipated our needs before hand. He is t he reason I took the time to review this hotel. He should be commended for his excellent customer service and great attitude. Loved him!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived, walking into the hotel the hot tub full of grease and duty oh so duty and broken peace on the bottom, I called the front desk yes they claim that they clean it when I went into the tub the water was smell like a eligator glade area, and they did not clean our room unless we request, and when decide to go to the roof top cabana pool we must pay for a bottle in order to stay in one of the pool beds so I guess vital wasn't included in my bills, the elevator had no air conditioning and it feels like inferno, and by the last day of our staying the elevator to the roof top pool wasn't working and we had to take the most discuss stairs walk to get to the pool it was horrible stay and give them 1 star not 4 a tars as they claim they are and I will never recommend anyone to stay there and I even took a pic for my proof

Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Hotel is beautiful and in a nice area. I like the availability of lots of shops and favorite taco stand.... but overpriced top floor bar for what is offered... on top of it I was overbilled $311 for my stay. I stay here 4 times a year for business and now I have my doubts...

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the MayFair Hotel. The front desk director Jose was very accommodating along with his staff Juan, Jonathan and Jennifer. The room was great with lots of space; we had a suite on the 5th floor. The location has plenty of shops and restaurants to visit. You will not be disappointed to choose this landmark hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ray B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we are delighted to read that you had a great stay in our hotel.
We would like to thank you for recognizing and remembering the names of our staff members; we are very proud to read that they made you feel warm and welcome.
We can not wait to have you back in our iconic hotel enjoying all of the great amenities that our property has to offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

only 3 plus: great location opposite Coco Walk, overall nice Staff @ desk / valet/ bellman; clean rooftop pool. Everything else is a minus: first room had to be changes for mildew stink and rust mirrors; second room(very spacious) was dirty from day one, lizards in the room, lizard and mice poop all over also after Manager promised deep cleaning. Also: rooms have no sound insulation, so you can hear traffic (luckily not too much); on weekends get ready to hear loud live music till midnight; the free WIFI is the slowest ever, so you will end up using your own phone data; A/C thermostat was not working; refill of towels/toiletry poor. Rooms often get cleaned after 4.00 pm, but the day of departure had to check out at 2.30 with a toddler and was not offered changing room. Restaurant and pool bar: a joke; we waited couple of hours to get a pizza with only 8 people in house. A pity, because with good management (not available on weekends), it would be a nice convenient spot.

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear caicoscolors,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, after reading your review we are very concern to hear from you that in your opinion management was not up to standards.
We will be taking the proper steps to make sure that all managers are holding their staff accountable and the all the hotel procedures are being followed.
We are truly sorry that you had to encounter the issues that you did but you can rest assure that we will have those issues solved and we will use your feedback for better training for all staff members.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I stayed at Mayfair hotel and spa from July 19th to 23rd. This was our first time in Miami. From the point we when we arrived we were greeted with exceptional customer service. We were greeted in a welcoming manner right from when we got to the hotel. We arrived 2 hours earlier than check in and there were no rooms available at that time but the front desk agent was more than helpful in giving us options. Both Jonathan's always had more idea's on what we can do. They were offering us advice based on our likes. They went the extra mile to help us out with Miami's attractions. The 2 front desk agents that worked the night shift were just as exceptional in giving us a wake up call and and telling us the go 2 places at night time. I have never seen such great customer service prior to this. I highly recommend this hotel due to its great customer service because weather it would be the bartender beside the pool or the waiter they were more than happy to have you as a guest and more than happy to assist you and serve you. Also, if you want to go for a tropical field then this is the hotel your looking for.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear DilsharnParmar,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we are delighted to read that our staff and hotel exceeded your expectations.
As the director of the front office it is very rewarding to read great reviews about my department and their commitment and hard work deserves all the credit as they clearly enjoy what they do.
We truly hope to have earned a loyal guest that will continue to visit us for years to come, enjoying all the great amenities of our great hotel.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#16 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Miami Marriott Dadeland
#47 of 113 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Coconut Grove
Residence Inn Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.