We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice hotel great location friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights. Friendly staff. The room and bathroom were great. The signal in the TV was weak and should be better in a 4 star hotel. The wifi was really fast though. The roof with swimming pool is also great, and the bar keepers are friendly. In advance I had read quite some bad reviews about this hotel and I didn't recognize any of that. They give me the impression they were written by ppl who hadn't thought about whether they could afford a 4 star hotel beforehand and then took it out at the hotel afterwards. The location was great too. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    67
    51
    32
    39
See reviews for
68
91
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very nice room. Had a separate living room. hotel is directly across from Coco Walk. Pleasant staff. Floor in room was filthy and mold in the shower. The housekeeping sup needs to take their shoes off and walk around. Picture is AFTER a shower!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff was super helpful. And the layout of the hotel was beautiful. Location is great. There is a shopping center right beside it wich had great food. Gym and pool were nice also. Only issue is the floors are dirty in the rooms from where the hotel is outside.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Holly W,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we are very happy to read that our staff made you feel warm and welcome.
Our property's architecture and location has made it our hotel and stable in the city of Miami, we are working very hard to make sure that our staff is able to meet and exceed our guest's expectations and reading comments and reviews such as yours makes our hard work very fruitful.
We truly hope to have you back in our property in the near future enjoying all of the great amenities that our hotel and the great area of Coconut Grove has to offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice location. Easy transport to station. Although not close to miami downtown. Really bad wifi. Windows not double glazed so can hear outside. Old stained hot tub. Run down hotel. No bottled water supplied. Ridiculous mini bar prices.. $8 for a twix. Definetly not 4.5 star hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Moniszka,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property; we are disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations, however we will use your feedback to improve our services as much as possible for future visits.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a pleasure staying the service was great , the food at the restaurant very good. Big had the suite iut was a big room and awesome Jacuzzi, very romantic room. Also the hotel is a walking distance from coco-walk where you can find nice restaurants, theater and multiple stores to shop.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nohora L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted to read that you had an excellent experience while staying in our property.
Our aim is to exceed our guest's expectations and we work very hard to make sure that we do not miss any detail that can improve our guest's experience.
We sincerely hope to have you back in our iconic hotel enjoying all of the great amenities that our property and the great area of Coconut Grove has to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For our 10 year anniversary, my wife and I stayed 1 night at this local hotel. Being from Miami, we had always heard great things about the Mayfair and what a plush hotel it was. Again, was. The check-in experience couldn't be any more deflated; I've received better welcomes at Courtyard hotels. The hallways are narrow and made of very ugly concrete, but at least the plush gardens inside distract you from the massive amounts of concrete. Upon entering our room (regular suite), we saw that the Japanese tub in the supposedly-private balcony could be clearly seen by the apartment building across the street. We went down to the reception podiums, and we were moved to an executive suite; this room makes you feel like you are in a bunker, and at least the tub has privacy. The bathrooms have been renovated and are tolerably nice. However, if you're taller than 6 feet as I am, you will feel the ceiling right on top of you. The rooftop pool is very small, and ridiculously shallow, with its only saving grace being the view (if you walk up to the walls).

For many years, this hotel was one of Miami's true upscale hotels that you only heard mentioned in conversations by the wealthy. Most of us in the normal, middle class had it in the "unattainable" category. I gave it a try, and paid (what I consider) a reasonable $200 a night for a decent suite. There are plenty of hotels in Miami in the same price range that would have probably made me feel a little more welcome and special. After all, we all want to feel pampered once in a while. You would think that having mentioned our anniversary that perhaps a $10 bottle of champagne or wine or water would have been sent to the room. Nope. Thanfully, we brought our own bottles.

There is a brand new Sonesta 2 blocks away, that probably has better accomodations and views. It has 15-20 floors, so the ocean would be visible from most balconies. Overall, I am dissapointed in our stay. Yes, it was nice to walk to nearby restaurants, and to park at the mall across the street (we got charged $8 for the overnight stay vs $28 for the valet). But I will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear norm15,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property however we are disappointed after reading we did not meet your expectations.
It is a shame that you weren't able to notice the ornate hallways and you only saw the concrete, which has tile from Spain all throughout the hotel.
I will definitely take a look at the reception and make sure that our guest are being welcome properly and that our entire team is always making our guest feel warm and welcome.
Once again thank you for your feedback as we will use it to train our staff to provide the best guest service possible.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed in South Beach twice now so thought we'd mix it up staying in the Coconut Grove area which is a little more residential and lovely for walking around. The Mayfair Hotel & Spa has a rooftop pool but on the Sunday late afternoon, there was a bit of rubbish around, towels left on sunbeds that hadn't been collected and annoying "doof-doof" music that seemed to be played for the enjoyment of the twentysomething barman rather than the families and couples in the 40s like us, who were attempting to enjoy the pool, who don't really go for that. Perhaps he has fantasies of working for groovier hotels. Anyway, the bearded guy at reception was really lovely and helpful and upgraded us to a better room on the top floor. The hotel has a curious Mayan temple layout design but the room was clean, bed comfortable and the bathroom big with fabulous water pressure in the shower. The hotel is opposite Coconut Walk which had a Cheesecake Factory restaurant that we had a very good dinner at, and a Gap store where I bought some last-minute clothes for my cruise. Didn't use the spa facilities (I am presuming they are not talking about the hot tub on your balcony) so can't rate those. We rarely stay the same place twice so it is no criticism when I say we won't stay here again, as we'd like to explore a new area of Miami next time we visit.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room to avoid the noise of the band playing in the bar on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear visitrequisites,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we truly hope that you were able to enjoyed your stay in our iconic property.
Our hotel has been a stable of the city due to its great and different architecture, which makes it second to none not only in the Coconut Grove area but in the whole city of Miami and it makes us truly happy to read that you were able to take it in.
The pool area has a house like vibe to it which could be a bit in your own words "doof-doof" and we sincerely hope this wasn't much of an inconvenience we will however look into perhaps a bit more zen like tunes.
We would like once again thank you for your time and very valuable feedback as we will used to provide a better guest experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.