We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Relaxing Coconut Grove Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 111 Hotels in Miami
New Smyrna Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Coconut Grove Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is the 4th time I have stayed at The Mayfair and each time has been a great experience. In such a bustling area of town, the Mayfair is like an oasis of privacy and relaxation. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The staff makes me feel like a celebrity. The gym is easily accessible, as is the pool area. The Mayfair is located at the epicenter of the Coconut Grove restaurant, bar and arts activity, just a minute or two's walk to a fantastic variety of things to do. After visiting Miami several times, staying in several different hotels over the past several years, I would not want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    59
    49
    29
    38
See reviews for
64
85
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property has good "bones" and a very unique decor with an atrium area and rooftop lounge. However, it is in need of some updating if it is to compete with the name brand hotels in the area. The rooms feel spacious and the suites are nice. But again the views as it is situated in the center of coconut grove are not all that spectacular even for suite rooms. We were there recently for a gala event. Nice staff it has a spa on site and a restaurant Spartico.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Betty M,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we truly hope that you were able to enjoy your stay.
Updating is something that every competing property is fully aware of and we do work very hard at making sure that our hotel stays up to date without defacing the great character that this property owns.
We hope to have you back in our property in the near future enjoying all of the great amenities that not only our hotel has to offer but also the great Coconut Grove area.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the hotel itself is a bit dated, the staff was wonderful. We had our meeting here for two days and I can't say enough about the event and banquet staff. Despite us having a small group, they went out of their way to ensure that we had a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Christel A,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we are very happy to read that you and your group had a pleasant experience.
Our banquets team has been known for their outstanding service and all of us here at the Mayfair Hotel and Spa are tremendously proud of their hard work and we do not get tired of hearing it from our guest.
We would like to thank you for the kind words and we hope to have you back in our property in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This review is just for the roof top pool. We did not stay in this fine hotel but we rented a cabana last summer and took the kids there for rooftop swimming and lunch. Great views all around coconut grove. young happy energized people made it fun. Great Pool Bar and Models everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear traveler9360,

Thank you for taking the time to review our pool lounge area, we are delighted to read that you found it up to your liking and we hope to continue having you as a guest at our pool lounge area.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights after a cruise. The décor is an interesting art deco style with an open atrium. The rooms initially look good, but are quite dated, and not in a good way, particularly the wardrobes and side tables. The Japanese Hot Tub on the balcony was dirty with paint pealing off.
The rooms are non smoking, but smoking is allowed in the corridors around the atrium. This results in people late at night smoking near the rooms, talking to friends or on the phone. Also, smoke can come into the rooms through the A.C.
The rooftop pool photographs well, but they play extremely loud so called "chill-out" music with speakers everywhere. The cabanas around the pool also look good, but cost US$75 for 4 hours - a ridiculous amount.
On two occasions the pool closed early so they could set up for corporate and private parties. Not acceptable if paying guests want a swim after 4 o'clock.
Given that Miami is an expensive city for hotels the rate was reasonable, although a Saturday rate of $340 room only was excessive. We booked the 3 nights for the price of 3 package, without breakfast.
An OK hotel that needs work and a rethink as to what it is - a resort, a corporate meeting place or a party venue.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms, although some face a late night bikers bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear alanlecoyte,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and for the valuable feedback that you have provided.
We are constantly working on keeping our property up to date and we will take a hard look at the areas that you have pointed out to see if there's anything that could be done throughout the hotel that will improve such.
In relation to the access to the pool, we are truly sorry that you weren't able to enjoy it as much as you'd had like to and events like the ones that mentioned do not happen often, unfortunately timing wasn't the best one.
We would like to thank you once again for your review and we sincerely hope to have an opportunity to have you back in our property as we are certain that we will regain your confidence in our Iconic property.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was quite happy with our stay at the Mayfair. I was intrigued by the architecture. The hotel had the feeling, for me, of a European boutique hotel. Our room was spacious, having a balcony was great to sit out and have a nightcap. I liked it very much. The staff was quite attentive as well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Hanover20144,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, after reading your review we are very content to find out that you enjoyed your stay.
Our staff has been training very hard to make sure that the service that we provide exceeds our guests' expectations and the results are very positive.
We sincerely hope to have earned a loyal guest as we look to have you back in the near future in our iconic property.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I grew up in South Florida and never took the opportunity to stay at The Mayfair Hotel and Spa until this past weekend! I must say, entering the hotel we were greeted by smiling faces catering to our every request.

The attention to detail is amazing and interesting! The Japanese soaking tub on the balcony, the ornate Brazilian wooden doors with knockers, the waffle-woven cotton bathrobes and so much more! It all came as a surprise, a pleasant surprise!

The open air atrium is a different feature in a hotel that I've not experienced before and proved to be very pleasant allowing you to lounge with drinks under the stars, but still inside...

Love it and we will definitely be going back there for a mini-vaca soon!

Visit, if you are in the area, I don't think you will be disappointed! The location is in downtown Coconut Grove and very convenient! You'll park your car and be able to travel via foot the whole time, if you choose!

Be blessed, have fun and safe travels!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Riko C,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we are delighted to read from a local South Floridian and specially happy to read that you found our hotel beautiful.
We take tremendous pride in our Iconic property and its eclectic style and reading from our guest and their enjoyment of such brings a great sense of satisfaction, which makes us work harder in maintaining this great jewel of Coconut Grove.
Once again thank you for the kind words and we can not wait to have back in our property enjoying all of the great amenities our hotel and the great area of Coconut Grove have to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.