We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Miami
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This review is just for the roof top pool. We did not stay in this fine hotel but we rented a cabana last summer and took the kids there for rooftop swimming and lunch. Great views all around coconut grove. young happy energized people made it fun. Great Pool Bar and Models everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    57
    47
    29
    38
See reviews for
61
85
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dubai
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed for 3 nights after a cruise. The décor is an interesting art deco style with an open atrium. The rooms initially look good, but are quite dated, and not in a good way, particularly the wardrobes and side tables. The Japanese Hot Tub on the balcony was dirty with paint pealing off.
The rooms are non smoking, but smoking is allowed in the corridors around the atrium. This results in people late at night smoking near the rooms, talking to friends or on the phone. Also, smoke can come into the rooms through the A.C.
The rooftop pool photographs well, but they play extremely loud so called "chill-out" music with speakers everywhere. The cabanas around the pool also look good, but cost US$75 for 4 hours - a ridiculous amount.
On two occasions the pool closed early so they could set up for corporate and private parties. Not acceptable if paying guests want a swim after 4 o'clock.
Given that Miami is an expensive city for hotels the rate was reasonable, although a Saturday rate of $340 room only was excessive. We booked the 3 nights for the price of 3 package, without breakfast.
An OK hotel that needs work and a rethink as to what it is - a resort, a corporate meeting place or a party venue.

Room Tip: There are no quiet rooms, although some face a late night bikers bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was quite happy with our stay at the Mayfair. I was intrigued by the architecture. The hotel had the feeling, for me, of a European boutique hotel. Our room was spacious, having a balcony was great to sit out and have a nightcap. I liked it very much. The staff was quite attentive as well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I grew up in South Florida and never took the opportunity to stay at The Mayfair Hotel and Spa until this past weekend! I must say, entering the hotel we were greeted by smiling faces catering to our every request.

The attention to detail is amazing and interesting! The Japanese soaking tub on the balcony, the ornate Brazilian wooden doors with knockers, the waffle-woven cotton bathrobes and so much more! It all came as a surprise, a pleasant surprise!

The open air atrium is a different feature in a hotel that I've not experienced before and proved to be very pleasant allowing you to lounge with drinks under the stars, but still inside...

Love it and we will definitely be going back there for a mini-vaca soon!

Visit, if you are in the area, I don't think you will be disappointed! The location is in downtown Coconut Grove and very convenient! You'll park your car and be able to travel via foot the whole time, if you choose!

Be blessed, have fun and safe travels!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We loved the hotel and loved the Coconut Grove location. The hotel has a lot of character and the rooms were large and comfortable. The pool area on the top floor was fun during the day and nice in the evening. Drinks and food were expensive but generally inline with a hotel of this standard. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Karl B,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we are very glad to read that you loved our hotel.
Our property has been a stable in the city for the past twenty years and it has a lot to do with its location and is something that our loyal guest enjoy very much however we continue to work very hard to make sure that we can keep up the great reputation that our hotel has earned over the years.
We sincerely hope to have earned a loyal guest that will continue to visit us and enjoys all the great amenities our Iconic hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay at the Mayfair and I have to say that your staff are your greatest asset, they were polite and helpful at all times throughout the hotel at every level. Our overall view of the hotel is that it is a beautiful design but is in need of some TLC. More information about the hotel ( restaurants and facilities) in the rooms would also be helpful.Never the less I will say again we enjoyed our stay and our time in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Arthur S,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and we extremely happy to read that our staff exceeded your expectations; I also would like to share with you that we have been working extremely hard to polished those rough edges of the hotel to make sure that every area is up to the expectations of our guest. Some examples are the new brand new patio furniture in all of our balconies as well as in the Asian Garden, we are polishing the floors of every single room in the hotel so you can expect our floors to shine and last but not least we just finished upgrading our elevators and we couldn't he happier.
We can not wait to have you back in our property in the near future enjoying all of the great amenities that our property and the great area of coconut grove has to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think I would stay here again but its hard to say. I didn't sleep well. Both nights the hotel hosts what seem to be frat parties up on the roof so we never got to enjoy the roof pool at all. Loud music all day and into the night from the roof or neighbors ... not sure. Party area. Otherwise, not so bad but I did not realize it DOES NOT HAVE PARKING! You have to valet at $28/day. AND, the website photos are VERY misleading by showing photos of the bay in the background. That's an outright lie. On the flip side the hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Good restaurant attached and the location is primo. Not enough lighting in the bathroom though. Not even close!

Room Tip: Ask for good bathroom lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Trish W,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we are glad to read that you would choose to come back to our property in the near future.
We regret to read that you weren't able to enjoy our rooftop bar and pool which are one of the great amenities our property has to offer. The noise is a concerning fact that we are taking very serious and every time that there's an event at the rooftop we have our security team overseeing noise levels, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that the music from the rooftop might had caused.
We truly hope to have you back in our property in the near future as our entire staff will be willing and able to welcome you and to make you feel at home.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.