We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My FAVORITE hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“My FAVORITE hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I go to the Mayfair on a regular basis as a quick getaway. Every time I am there I want to stay longer. The service is absolutely amazing from the minute you set foot on the property. The valets are wonderful, the front desk staff is terrific and the staff at the restaurant is so welcoming. We arrived to the restaurant long after they stopped serving breakfast but they welcomed us in like we were in their home. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us! The rooms are beautiful and clean ( very spacious) and the location is perfect if you want to hang out in coconut grove. We took a cab to south beach and it took 15 minutes more or less and it cost $40. We took Uber back to the hotel and that was only $14!! I love this little gem of a hotel and the staff is the best I have found anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    50
    42
    28
    34
See reviews for
49
76
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was very hesitant to book a stay due to the negative reviews I saw but I am so glad I did! This beautiful historic property is truly a destination. I went for the night with a friend and we are already planning our next stay. This hotel is the perfect way to experience south Florida!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Emily T,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and now that you have stayed in our hotel and we have eased your mind, I hope that we have earned a loyal guest.
We take tremendous pride in our property and we love to read from guest that take in its grandness and full potential.
We can not wait to have you back in our property enjoying all of the great amenities that the area and our hotel has to offer.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very cool, not predictable boutique hotel with an awesome rooftop pool & bar. The rooms have lots of space & closets. The staff is courteous, professional & friendly. The food is good, too! Easy access to walking along the bay --yet close to the Miami airport!

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Texasusie,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we are delighted to read that our property and staff exceeded your expectations.
We sincerely hope to have earned a loyal guest that will continue to visit our property to get away from the typical every day life and gets submersed into our oasis in the city.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While I spent three (3) days commuting to West Palm Beach, to take some depositions, my wife enjoyed the Spa, the pool and the neighborhood. When the schedule allowed, we toured the Fairchild Gardens' Dale Chihuly exhibit, and the annual orchid show. We've been staying at the Mayfair ever since the Grand Bay, a local five (5) star hotel, closed in 2008. Like all properties it's had its ups and downs, but has maintained its dignity. The staff are excellent, the rooms are spacious and clean, the food is good, the hotel is in the heart of Coconut Grove. What more could you ask for ?

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and hearing from our loyal guest is always very rewarding.
Our property's location is one of our top amenities due to the grand variety of venues around our hotel that our guest could visit, most of them could be visited without having to have a vehicle.
We hope to have you and your wife back in the near future enjoying all of the great amenities our hotel and the great area of Coconut Grove has to offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, that's it! This is a very tired property in need of renovation and not a 4 start hotel. Of particular note was the $26 per day valet parking, plus tips. When the valet went for my car one evening he left the garage severely over revving the engine and burning the clutch on my BMW and delivered the car to me with a string burring smell. This was witnessed by the staff as well as the MOD and documented accordingly. I subsequently asked in a letter how the hotel would like me to proceed as I need to get the car checked out. I've been ignored 3 times in the last week. I'm not an opportunist looking for something for free, just need some accountability for the possible damage done to my car by their employee. The arrogant attitude of this hotel management is appalling. They don't care about you or any other guest. There are plenty of nice hotels in the Grove that would appreciate your business. This isn't one of them.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
CaptFunk,

Our management team provided the proper documentation to our liability insurance and with all the details provided it was determined that there was no direct or accidental fault by our runner and was therefore rejected.

Sincerely,
Mayfair Hotel and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here as part of a gathering, and after reading some reviews, I was a bit sceptical. However, I had a terrific experience. I loved the decor - it is definitely unique, maybe described best as "60s Tiki Chic". Lots of interesting design details everywhere. It's thematic, without feeling too much like Disneyland. Usually,. when travelling on a business trip, nothing is more deadly than the bland, sterile Raddison or Marriott or Courtyard. This place will stick in your brain, in a good way, but you have to just go with it! Suite includes 2 bath rooms and a extralarge jacuzzi tub. Front desk folks were great, car valets really friendly and responsive (though they could be overwhelmed with too much business around 7PM. Give it a shot!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite like #443 - its huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mike A,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take in the grandness of our iconic property.
We sincerely hope to have an earned a loyal guest that will continue to stay with us every time you visit our wonderful city.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Unsafe, unclean, overpriced establishment. I had to stay for a three day meeting. Upon my 9 pm arrival, the sliding glass door in my room was open with mosquitoes flying around, four of eight screws were missing from the door lock and of the four present, all were hanging off the wall hinge so the door could not be safely locked. The phone did not work, the towels were stained and the sheets were dirty. Twice I asked to speak with a manager and was rudely dismissed by front desk staff (once told to wait and 25 min later was told by another staff member that the manager was gone for the day). After two days of no response to my requests, I brought the phone to the front desk, emailed the hotel and asked for a reply from a manager. Laughingly, I received an email reply stating he tried calling my room and could not reach me! Really. Also, the fitness center seemed neglected. One of the treadmills had a tear down the mat and many of the free weights were lose and needed to be tightened. For more than $200 per night, I had to lay the robes on the bed so as not to touch the dirty sheets and sleep in my jacket. To put this in perspective, I have stayed on six continents over a 30 y span and have never once asked to speak with a manager!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear nonamechris,

After reading your review is easy to understand your disappointment as I would be upset as well if I was to received such a treatment.
I could share with you that we have embarked in an overhaul of the staff as well as the training methods that have been employed for new hires and we are very confident that our new approach will bring the results that are expected from a four diamond property.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence as our hotels moves forward into the next level of customer service.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.