We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice ubication but badly managed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 110 Hotels in Miami
1 review
“very nice ubication but badly managed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

1 elevator not working during more that 10day of the stay
room cleaning very poor
telephones not properly working
safe blocked during more than 12h w/o anyone sent to the room
reception poorly staffed: not enough people for check out

Room Tip: not really sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    48
    41
    28
    31
See reviews for
46
76
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

By far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. We got a really nice suite overlooking the city - it had 2 bathrooms! a big jacuzzi, a living room with tv, king bed with tv. Will definitely stay again when I go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The environment is perfect, especially at night. but there are no carpet in the room which I do not get used to. And the parking need extra fee. So I think if these can get improved, I will give them a five star. haha.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from our daughter's wedding and not happy with the Mayfair. Wish I had picked so many of the great hotels in the area. Tried to save a little money thinking there wasn't a difference. We checked in at 11pm from the airport. No staff to help with luggage. Didn't help with getting food or finding a place to get food. Half hour after checking in they phoned a number to order food and it was the wrong number. Didn't clean the room well. Didn't stock the room with more coffee or shampoo. Elevator takes forever. We were at the Sonesta and the Mutiny for wedding stuff and they were far superior. We had a rain storm and of course our hotel had no umbrellas. Really disappointed. The only bright spot was the waiter downstairs for breakfast couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: Don''t chose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

the bedroom floor was always dirty, the room service was inefficient, no room service after 11pm, the front desk and guest service staff was not helpfull. Clearly the hotel has a management problem and I don't recommend.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

PLEASE READ THIS and DO NOT book to stay here. You will regret it, I promise you. I can't say enough bad things about this hotel and their staff.

I booked to stay here on my wedding night and they checked us into a room that hadn't even been cleaned!!!!!! There were dirty towels on the floor, garbage in the room, the bed was not made and clearly sheets were not changed. They told me there was nothing they could do because they were fully booked out that night and there was no manager there for me to speak to because it was after midnight. To put salt in the wound they offered us a complimentary continentel breakfast the next morning as their compensation - how insluting!! After receiving this insulting offer I asked to speak with the manager JOSE ARANGO who did not show the least bit of sympathy towards ruining our wedding night. He lied to my face about there being a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door. As opposed to being apologetic, he was arguing with me about how they did nothing wrong. They showed ZERO sympathy towards us and said that since we stayed in the room they could not refund us our $400 spent on a dirty hotel room. I even tried to escalate the issue by emailing the head of the Mayfair. It has been a month since my wedding night and I still have not heard a response from anyone at the Mayfair - I find this to be so disrespectful.

Aside from ruining our wedding night by checking us into a dirty room, the floors were not clean (my feet turned black just from walking around the room) and it was super noisy!! It is all open air so you can hear everything from the hallways of each floor and all the noise in the lobby including the waterfall that runs all night - I got the worst sleep ever because all I heard was rushing water all night long.

This hotel is awful, awful, awful. They have the worst customer service I have honestly EVER experienced. They will lie to your face and they genuinely do not care about their customers, AT ALL. Ultimately we felt we were lied to by their staff, treated very unfairly and were just another number. Not only will I never forget this experience but I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Unfortunately Mayfair Hotel and Spa ruined my wedding night and not only can they never makeup for that - they do not even care.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear rr_dougall,

It is truly disappointing to read that your special night was spoiled by something that should be automatic in our hotel as it is to clean a room. Please accept our most sincere apologies as we are extremely embarrassed for this blonder.
We can only wish you nothing but the best in your new endeavor as a married couple and hope for you to have a happily life together.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pyla-sur-Mer, France
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All is complicate in this hotel, dirty, noisy, houskeeping very bad, leave door customer open all the day, we paid for 2 Suite King size, we have had 1 Suite and 1 Standar room in arrival. Breakfast very expensive. Very bad experience, never never again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear christophe l,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent visit to our property and I am extremely disappointed to read that we could not make your visit seamless.
I would like to share with you that our hotel is working tirelessly to make sure that our guest received the service that they expect.
I sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the near future and to show you the real Mayfair experience.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.