We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 129 hotels in Miami
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived late at night, good location. The hotel looks old but in good condition. The lady at the lobby front desk was excellent, very good service. The room and bathroom are really big and nice, but the "balcony" looks like war zone, I don't understand what happen there, the view is block with something, it's dirty and in very bad shape. Simple don't belong with the rest of the room.
I went out of the room looking for ice and one of the staff get it for me in a very nice way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    21
    18
    11
    9
See reviews for
14
34
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went to the pool for the complimentary happy hour free drink. My friends ordered the champagne, I ordered the coke as the designated driver for our evening out. The bartender stated it was regular price. That was fine, I was expecting $3, NOPE it was $6.35 for a fountain drink!!! I had the champagne and gave it to my girlfriends. Each time we turned on our television we had to call the front desk for service to get it to work. We were also told there would be a $2,500 charge for smoking in the room or on the balcony. Upon returning to our room after a day at the beach, we opened the door to hang our swimsuits outside and were greeted with a fog of marijuana smoke from a neighboring balcony. Not enforced. Our room was clean, we loved the location in the grove, valet parking was quick. Did not like the pool closing at dark, and thought our bath tub could have been cleaner without soap scum build up. Our suite was spacious and tastefully decorated. Loved the coffee pot, microwave, and safe. VERY Comfortable Beds!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite on the 5th floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear bucketlistbabe,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay to our property.
In relation to the prices in our outlets I would like to share with you that our menu is priced in a comparable way to the other hotels in the area but we will definitely take into consideration your comments.
We are truly proud to read that our accommodations met your expectations and we thank you for your patience with the issues with the television.
All of the staff members at the Mayfair hotel and spa would like to thank you for choosing our property and we sincerely hope to have earned a loyal guest that will continue to join us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I just came back from a weekend getaway at this hotel. We booked the Romance Package which offered a 4pm checkout based upon availability. We arrived to the hotel at 11am as we requested early check in and we were told if it wasn't available they could hold our bags while we enjoyed the hotel. Turns out our room was ready for check in but we had to pay an early check in fee of $75 which we were never informed over the emails. We were already there, we paid it. We were a bit disappointed with the size of the pool and accommodations at the pool deck. Turns out the only had 2 umbrellas available, apparently 2 broke and have not been replaced. For someone that can't afford to be out roasting in the sun this was a major set back. On the day of our departure which happened to be pool party day (Sunday) we planned a day by the pool, thought of renting a cabana but fortunately the 1 umbrella available on that day wasn't occupied. Our check out was at 4pm which was confirmed at check in since we were told the hotel wasn't booked. We made our way back to our room from the pool deck at around 2:00 p.m. in order to freshen up, take a little nap and start packing our belongings. At 5 minutes to 3:00 p.m. we get a call saying they have us checking out in 5 minutes-----WHAT??? I adviced this gentleman that we were told at our arrival that 4pm check out would be possible since the hotel wasn't booked. His response: I understand ma'm but like I said we have you checking out at 3:00 p.m. if you decide to stay until 4 I will have to charge you half a day's fee. We were not willing to spend anymore money, rushed the packing and headed out. The hotel has had a lot of changes lately, it's been remodeled. Rooms were clean, room service, bartenders, Spartico waiters, all deserves a 5 STAR but we definitely thought the pool area could use some more upgrades, umbrellas please and our checkout was a disaster.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear GDLR1214,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we really appreciate your openness and willingness to provide feedback.
We would like to apologize for the misunderstanding of the late departure, I am sure that the last thing that we wanted to accomplish was to rush you.
Our pool is getting some new umbrellas in the upcoming days but we truly hope it wasn't too much of a nuisance but it is unfortunate that you found our pool not up to your expectations.
All of the staff here at the Mayfair hotel and spa hopes that we made you feel warm and welcomed and we truly hope to have you back.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a friendly place in the heart if Coconut Grove with onsite restaurant, spa and fitness center. My complaint is that the hotel was incapable of assisting us getting to the airport. They do not have a shuttle service and despite
my asking the evening before and the morning of our departure, they could not procure a car or taxi for our ride to the airport. The front desk responded, "all we can do is call a taxi but if they don't come there's nothing we can do". "We don't provide public transportation".

Honestly, I've stayed all over the world and have never stayed at a hotel that is unable and less willing to provide their guests with airport transfers.

If you have your own car definitely stay here, otherwise you'll be walking everywhere

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BruceH45,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are encouraged to read that our property met your expectations.
As you might be aware every city in the world is different and the Coconut Grove area is a very small area that is pretty well self contained and self maintained. With that said Taxis are a concern for all the hotels in the area being that it is divided by US1 and at times that flow of taxis is not as fluent as everyone would like. We are extremely disappointed in reading that you had trouble getting a Taxi but as you might be aware that are now many other options such as Uber, Lyft or the more upscale options such a Sedan services and such.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that next time that you are in Miami you can find a hotel that will fit all of your transportation needs.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed with a few friends in July and felt like I was on a real vacation, even though I live 20 minutes away. From the moment the doors open in the lobby, you are welcomed by friendly staff members and a relaxing ambiance. The rooms were exactly as we expected. Perfect for 2-4 people with deliciously comfortable beds. After putting our stuff down, we went to the rooftop pool where we enjoyed one of Miami's greatest views with some yummy food and drinks! The staff members were very attentive and even brought us drinks to the pool. If you are looking to step out of the hotel, its location is just a few steps from some of the best bars and restaurants in the area. We will most definitely be returning to the Mayfair.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear amdelamata,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we love to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay.
We hope that we were able to earned a loyal guest and can not wait to have you back in our property along with your friends enjoying all of the amenities our property have to offer.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was very good, room was great, pool area is very cool. Bar tenders at the pool pour great drinks. Sunday morning breakfast at the hotel was great, we enjoyed our entire stay. There is also lots to do in the area.

Room Tip: room with outside Jacuzzi are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Ruben A,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are truly delighted in reading that you were able to enjoy yourself.
We take great pride in reading that our staff and accommodations were up to your standards and we sincerely hope to have earned a loyal guest.
We hope to have you back in our Iconic property enjoying all of the great amenities that our hotel and the great area of Coconut Grove has to offered.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife an I were looking for a weekend getaway to take some alone time away from the kids. We were very disappointed with our stay here. Our room was very dated with old furniture and a view overlooking shopping stores. The patio seemed like an old bachelor hang-out with a hot tub that was sticky and full of dust. The chaise lounge on the patio seemed to be yellowing. The closet door seemed to jam and service here was mediocre. We will not return here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear ScubaMarine,

We are truly disappointed to read that our property and staff did not meet your expectations. However we would like to point out that since your last stay in march our hotel has made many changes that have produce a noticeable difference in the way we treat our guest.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the near future as we would love for you to truly enjoy the Mayfair experience.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.