We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 110 Hotels in Miami
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worth a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've stayed at the Mayfair over the Christmas holidays for about 5 years now. The hotel is beautiful and well maintained. The staff, valet and front desk personnel are very professional and accommodating. Being pet friendly is a major bonus. The food at the restaurant is delicious. The location in the Grove is convenient for about everything including a short 2 to 3 miles drive to access I95. We are rather picky and feel comfortable recommending this property. we wouldn't return year after year if it was not a 1st class operation.

Room Tip: That's really personal preference. We like quiet but also sunshine from the patio. There are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear troy p,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are thrilled to read from our loyal guest.
Our entire staff takes great pride in making our guest feel warm and welcome and reading comments that praise our staff is truly rewarding, not just for us but for the whole staff which works extremely hard.
We can only continue to work as hard day after day to make sure that all of our guest feel as you do and we hope to have you back in our property in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    57
    47
    29
    38
See reviews for
61
85
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I dont know how this hotel/motel received 4 Dimonds.. it is horrible and over priced. The only thing this motel have to offer is the location. Its in a great location.. they charge you $30 to use the hot tub thats in the room you paid for.. its like me paying for a room and then you charge me to use the bed.. and the balcony had algae, mold, bird droppings, cigarette butts, leaves and old water from who ever used it.. nasty nasty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear DaReaper,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback in relation to your recent stay in our property; it is truly unfortunate that you were not able to feel comfortable in our hotel and we will do everything in our power to avoid having any of our guest have those feelings.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence sometime in the future and for you to truly enjoy the Mayfair experience.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and l stayed there over the easter weekend 2014. Our room was spacious clean and luxurious. The hotel staff were very personable and went out of there way to provide excellent customer service. the pool at the top of the hotel was amazing, clean with plenty of lounge chairs.
It also provided great views of coconut grove. We would stay there again. Desmond the manager at front desk was terrific, helped us out alot

Room Tip: ask to be away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear moira19641960,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent to our property; it is truly great to read that our staff was accommodating and that you were able to appreciate all the great amenities that our Iconic property has to offer.
We can not wait to have you back as one of our loyal guest enjoying all the services that our hotel provides and of course enjoying the Coconut Grove area.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is so beautiful, it has all carved wooden doors and plants everywhere, the room we stayed in had a jacuzzi outside on a terrace (we didn't use it because of the 30 dollar charge) which I thought was so romantic, all for $150! I will say that you have to valet your car for 25 dollars which makes more sense than parking in the parking garage across the street. If you want to leave multiple times you have to keep paying for the garage, but the valet is a one time charge. The staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. I went through Hotwire but it would have been cheaper with my govt rate if I went thought the hotel itself but meh, it was short notice. I WILL stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Tarich0,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we are thrilled to read that you were able to enjoy all the amenities our hotel has to offer.
Our hotel distinguish itself with the great architectural work outside and the great art work inside and it makes all of us very proud every time we read from our loyal guest about how much they enjoyed all of the work.
We are extremely happy to read that our staff made you feel warm and welcome as that's our goal for all of our loyal guest, we sincerely hope to have you back in our Iconic property sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I was not impressed with this hotel. It is very noisy. The doors are huge, heavy and wooden, but not sound proof at all. We were awakened several times throughout the night with noise in the hallways. The room and bathroom were clean, however there was a TV in the bathroom that did not work, nor did the room phone work. We got a good deal on priceline, but would not go out of our way to stay here again.
The plus side is that there are a lot of stores and restaurants very close to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear lorac1962,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay in our property and we are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the Coconut Grove area.
The character that our hotel portrays comes from the great art work done in the wood of our doors and that's just an example, many of our loyal guest have stayed with us for over 20 years due to our great architecture and artful design. However we do understand that not every guest is going to be able to enjoy the art work for different reasons.
Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and we hope that next time that you are in the Miami area you'll be able to find accommodations deemed appropriate with your expectations.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were guests at this hotel as part of a wedding block of rooms. When the bride gave us the hotel information I did what I normally do and went to look up the reviews on Trip Advisor. I was shocked at how poor the reviews were. Some of the comments really terrified me and I notified the bride and recommended she address some of the readers concerns with the manager at the hotel. I also expressed my concern to the manager.

I received a very nice note back from the manager letting me know everything would be taken care of and that they were working on some of the issues mentioned in the hotel reviews. He also told me to contact him upon arrival if I had any problems.

We valet parked the car. I believe it was $26 per day but you could take the car in and out as many times as you would like to.

The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was lovely. It looked like a grand old hotel. Every thing looked clean and well taken care of. All of the beautiful foliage really added to the ambiance of the hotel.

We had a great room. I requested a "no wall view" as I read about how dark the rooms were that face a wall. We had a street view. Not much to look at but we had plenty of sunlight. The room had two queen beds and was spacious. The bathroom was also spacious with a television on the wall. By all appearances the room was clean. The floors could have been a bit cleaner in the corners but nothing like what was written in previous reviews. One thing that needs to be redone in the bathroom is the caulk around the tub. As with all caulk over time it gets a bit moldy and needs to be redone.

The location of the hotel is perfect. The shops at Coconut Grove Mall are directly across the street. Then lots more shopping and restaurants were within a few short blocks.

The best part of this hotel is the roof top pool and bar. The pool is a good size. Nice cabanas if you want to rent one and also lounge chairs and table/chairs for the guests. In the evening they have a fire place going in the corner. We really enjoyed spending two days around the roof top pool and an evening with drinks around the fireplace. We found the drinks at the bar to be very expensive though. I guess we were paying for the view.

We had a good rate at the hotel since we were part of the wedding block of rooms so at that rate I feel we got a good value, especially in comparison to rates at other hotels in the area.

We were pleasantly surprised that we had such a nice stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear LivvyMark,

We thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and I can not tell you how truly proud it makes us to read reviews such as yours.
Our housekeeping department and every other department in our property has been working extremely hard to turn around the from the landscape work that was done pretty much for all of 2013 and the results are starting to show not only on the sites such as TripAdvisor but most importantly in the way our loyal guest come back.
We will continue to work at improving in all of our areas to make sure that our guest are fully satisfied with the services that we provide as we aim to have our property again as one of the top properties in the city of Miami.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal,Qc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Surprisingly dark hotel in a sunny environment . The room are really dark and dont have a view. The internet connexion is very slow and doesnt allow to download films or just youtube !! The music at the swimming pool is just hard to stand more than half hour !!!
There are so nice hotels in the area why to go there !!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear JC1Montreal,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and we appreciate all the feedback that you have provided.
Our hotel has been known for the privacy that it can provide to our guest and as you might be aware some people prefer more privacy than others, however we have our higher categories rooms which provide a great source of natural light and have a great view of the great city of Coconut Grove.
We sincerely hope to have an opportunity to regain your confidence and have you visit our iconic property sometime in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.