We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 131 hotels in Miami
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel 20 yrs ago was AWESOME, but it has seen better times. The rooms are very weathered and need some TLC. The room has a jacuzzi in the balcony but again it is beat up. Rooms are a bit tight since the bed had to be placed in an angle there is a tight squeeze between the wall and the bed. The bed was very comfortable but like others that have reviewed this property it can be pretty noisey. It is in the very heart of coconut groove and a short walk to great restaurants and bars. The BEST thing that the Mayfair has to offer is the rooftop pool and lounge. The personnel were courteous and very professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Ms219,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the great ambiance of our roof top.
One of our property's great characteristics is the fact that is not a brand new hotel with all the rooms looking the same, we pride ourselves in the maturity that our property possesses. It is a shame that you did not enjoy but of course we can not expect everyone to like the same things.
Once again I want to thank you for taking the time to share with us about your experience in our property.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    280
    147
    134
    107
See reviews for
142
347
42
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Employees especially valet were indifferent. Little brown beetles were walking around floor in room. I squashed a few and the maids did not pick them up for two days.
Worst was the Dipsy Dumpster truck came around under my 4th floor window at 5:15 each morning crashing and beeping. I definitely would recommend NOT taking a room on Grand Ave side.Valet parking is $26/day. Great central location in Coconut Grove.

Room Tip: Go high and stay off Grand Ave.side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Jef1Jet,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay in our property; I also would to express my sincere concern to hear that our staff seem indifferent as we aim to make sure all of our guest feel warm and welcomed in the time they are in our property. I will personally address that matter with my staff to make sure that we could avoid any guest feeling the way you did.
The garbage truck is one thing that unfortunately we do not have control of but I could tell you that our sound proof windows and doors are usually very good, I will contact engineering to make sure all of our rooms have the sound proof windows and doors inspected.
Once again I would like to thank you for the feedback that you have provided and we will act on it as much as we can to make sure that we could provide the best service possible.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great rooms with jacuzzi on the balcony soft comfortable bedding tv in bathroom woot woot ! Fantastic Italian restaurant ! Very central in the heart of coconut grove. Would defiantly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Henry A,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property and would like to express our appreciation for the kind words.
We pride ourselves in making all of our guest warm and welcomed and our property help us in achieving it by providing that "Zen" like atmosphere that you speak of, I sincerely hope that we could get to see you in our property again soon.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Architecture and interior design is wonderful, lots of tile copper water features and wood. Rooms are huge, suite with large bedroom and comfortable bed, big closet with microwave and robes,separate spacious sitting area, deck with a hot tub and spacious bath with telephone an small T.V.I am big on hygiene and the suite was very clean which makes me a happy camper.

I found it using Hotwire and got a great deal but the rack rate at the time was $139.00 which is still a deal considering you are right in the middle of Coconut Grove with all the trendy restaurants and shops. I guess some people would whine if the rooms were free but I totally enjoyed my stay. Parking across the street is $6.00 overnight 6:00 P.M. to 6:00 A.M.then $3.00/hour max $14.00 I was told. I never made it the pool but the pics look good. Ohhh towels were great-- super heavy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Mike M,

It makes it so great to respond to someone that appreciates that character of our Iconic property specially when they were able to enjoy themselves as much as it sounds like you did. Our location is one of our great amenities but if you really take the time to look around in our property like you did, people usually end up falling in love with this gem of property. I want to thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay and we sincerely hope to get to see you back in our Iconic property rather sooner than later.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My experience staying at the Mayfair was horrifying. When I first arrived I was told I would have to wait 45 mins. until my room was ready. When I got the (2) rooms, the bathroom sink was not working in BOTH rooms, The livingroom T.V. was not working, and most disgusting of all there were a bug in the bathtub.The 4:00 pm mangement was horrible he was not accommodating at all!! the roof top manager lied to me and said I did not have a reservation for the roop top. This hotel is OVERRATED. The Mayfair need to consider better management.

Room Tip: I do not refer any room at the Mayfair!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear B J,

It is truly disappointing to hear that you were not able to enjoy your time in our property, however I do want to thank you for taking the time to share with us the issues that you did not appreciated.
Our Check In time is guarantee at 4:00 p.m. if you arrived prior to that time it is unfortunate but if the hotel was busy the night before it is very difficult to have rooms available before that guarantee check in time and we make all of our guest aware of that at the time when they are making the reservation. In relation to the sinks of the rooms not working, we make sure before getting a guest into any of our rooms that all of the systems are working property but having a sink fix is just a matter of minutes we do apologize for you have to deal with that but once again that's something common in hotels that is fix really fast.
Our pool has a very detail oriented reservations system for the Cabanas and I am quite sure that the pool manager had no intentions to lie to you, probably your name was not put tin correctly and for that we are truly sorry.
Once again I want to thank for the feedback and you could rest assure that we take all the comments into consideration and make the proper adjustments to make sure that we don't have any repeating issue for all our future guest.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend at the Mayfair. We have stayed here before and was extremely pleased. It is a pet friendly hotel and thus allowed to bring our Polish Lowland Sheepdog with us.
The hotel has undergone renovations and it appears the the balance of the building is now being renovated. The service was attentive. The breakfast menu was diverse along with a buffet. In some cases it was moe economical to have the buffet than to order ala carte. Our waiter pointed this out to us and we thanked him for being honest rather than " running up the bill".
The service at the bar at the roof top pool was outstanding.
The Mayfair's location is close to the area's restaurants.
Very good, but not as great as it once was.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear imshepp,

It is truly great to hear from one of our loyal repeat guest and we want to thank you for continue to choose our property to enjoy some time off your regular day to day. I want to also thank you for taking the time to share with us about your most recent stay and we are always glad to hear that our staff is praised because of the great service they provide.
We are continuing to improve our property with work outside the hotel and inside by modernizing our elevators and making our flora and fauna inside the property really lively and as we continue to improve our property we would love to continue having you stay with us in the near future.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our experience at Mayfair was very good: the building is certainly not new, but has an authentic feeling to it, with interesting architecture. The rooftop is very pleasant -- we did not use the pool, but were very much able to relax there in late afternoon, contrary to a previous review (they could, however, turn down the bar music before the evening crowd comes).

Our room was spacious, with a great bathroom. We had a small balcony and a hot tub (which we did not use). All perfectly clean and on par with what you'd expect from a hotel of similar standing. Great, comfy bed and furniture.

We really had no issue during our stay: the hotel does host wedding receptions, but we were not bothered by after-parties and such. The gym is small, but with adequate equipment. Also, the hotel offers valet parking, but we decided to use the CocoWalk parking ourselves, which was user friendly and much less expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear orely01fr,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us about your recent stay in our property, and we really appreciated the kind words.
As you mentioned our property is not a newer construction but that exact point is what gives our property the great character it has, all the art within the construction puts our property apart from most of the other hotels in the area and Miami overall and when someone discovers it like you did it truly makes us proud.
I sincerely hope that we could get to see you in our property and enjoying all of our great amenities again really soon.

Warm regards,
Jose Rico-Arango
Assistant Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list