We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average stay, good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 131 hotels in Miami
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location, average stay, good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked this hotel a month in advance when most hotels with vacancies on Miami Beach were going for $500/night. The deal I got was for an executive suite, half price. We paid $155 first night, $195 second night (Friday). This was the time period between Christmas and New Years. In that context, it was a real bargain.

When we got there, 5PM, the room wasn't ready yet and there was a man complaining that he hadn't seen housekeeping in 2 days. Not a good sign, I thought, but soon after the room was ready.

It was spacious and the floor was tiled. The bathroom was clean. The windows had some kind of lattice outside them- obviously for plants that were no longer there. They were dirty but , you couldn't see out of them anyway with the lattice. The room felt dated probably because the hotel is an older hotel.

A lot of hotels have made changes to become more energy efficient, this isn't one of them. There is not a recycling bin in sight and the room still has incandescent bulbs. This bothered me.

On the third floor, our sleep was uninterrupted by street noise and generally quiet. For that and the price, I felt it was a good deal because I've stayed on South Beach before-in a nice hotel on the 13th floor and street noise kept us up all night.

The WiFi didn't work and when we brought that to the attention of the front desk we were told-yes, it wasn't working period. I was able to catch a signal of a nearby business and use that.

Valet was $26/day and the hotel wasn't helpful with other options. "There are parking garages around but we aren't affiliated with them." And any of those other options would be a good idea for you- there are 3 garages literally steps from the hotel lobby. We chose the Miami-Dade municipal garage on Oak and Vine (super short walk) and paid $5 a day to park our car. I'm sure this was the best value and it was clean, safe and quiet.

So all and all the staff was non-chalant and not very helpful. The hotel was dated and energy efficiency and clean windows weren't a priority. But the location- proximity to Miami Beach, Coral Gables, Key Biscayne and downtown were stellar. And the time of year we stayed there, it was the best dollar value we could find.

Room Tip: upgrade to executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    279
    146
    134
    106
See reviews for
142
346
42
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location and the roof top pool is the best part of the hotel but the hotel is tired. They have done some refurbishing years ago and the linens & towels need an upgrade. Beds are uncomfortable. Bathroom is roomy. What I found to be "disturbing" is the management due to the fact they were not accommodating. We were not pleased with our room since it was dark and narrow. We were told we would be able to see other rooms since people were checking out, etc. The management never called us back or tried to attempt to make us happy. The front desk staff did their part and we felt the reservation managers told them to ignore us. We were here for a week and we politely kept checking on a possibility to move to another room but they kept telling us, "We are sold out." We do know this was not true since we kept checking on hotels.com for availability--which there was. One of the managers truly did nothing to make us happy and we felt he was rude and defensive. He wanted to charge us a nights stay if we checked out early. Lovely. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone because there are better hotels in the area and just as affordable. The valet service was excellent and very affordable at $26 per night. Should you ever try and check-in at the Mayfair, I would hope you would see the room first before you said "yes" to any room. I agree with another reviewer, "Way past its prime."

Room Tip: Make sure you see the room configuration before you check-in officially. We heard the rooms are ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I wanted a hotel in the middle of the Grove for my first visit back here since 1969 when I lived here for a year. I was surprised by the mixed reviews but the location looked perfect. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is a little quirky with a wooden door which opens automatically to welcome you into reception. Even better the GM welcomed us further with a glass of champagne, which was a great way to start our stay after a long flight from Paris via JFK. We were upgraded to a very nice room on the 4th floor which was just fine. We were a little tired so didn't get to try some of the hotel's better features but as the pictures show the hotel is in fine shape. The rooftop pool is a really lovely spot.
If you want to stay right in the middle of Coconut grove then this is a great spot.

Room Tip: As high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise. We got a great deal on one of the suites. We thought the room was lovely and really enjoyed the area. The bathroom was incredible. The rooftop bar was closed for a private event, so that was a bit disappointing. Loved the little restaurant a couple blocks away called Focaccia Bistro. Also enjoyed Vino's in the Grove for interesting wine later that evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Like an old lady it is showing wrinkles. You can see it was once a beautiful but the years have taken it's toll. There was not the feeling of life. It was not that everything was not there, but it just left you wondering where the life had gone. Needs updating but with the crowd we saw it may not be possible. Food and service just OK

Room Tip: Try a newer room if you can find it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great place to stay, very central and charming hotel. Worth a visit up to the rooftop bar and pool. We stayed for 2 nights and had a very comfortable stay, could do with a little touch up but for what we payed. Coconut Walk just opposite with some nice bars and shpos. Would stay here agian for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Poorly kept, overpriced, unrefined service. My room phone hand set and night table lamp did not work, front door handle and lock also needed repair, but nothing was fixed during my 2-night stay. Used towels were removed but not replaced. Quality of room service food was horrible. I found a half-empty bottle of scotch in my minibar. The rooftop pool and lounge closes at 8 pm. Parking is not free for guests. The hotel is a fair reflection of the depression found in the Coconut Grove area, where over half the shops, stores, restaurants have gone out of business. The Mayfair should follow suit.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not facing street construction works and away from noisy elevator doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.