We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, tired too pricy lacking in promised atmosphere and amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 12 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 131 hotels in Miami
Central Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dingy, tired too pricy lacking in promised atmosphere and amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Sheets felt inferior, peebly. Duvet and pillows were dingy. Jacuzzi was broken; the chair next to it was dingy. The air conditioning controls were not satisfactory, and I came home with a sinus infection. I doubt that it is a coincidence. The pool was not available. I knew that when I went, but not when I booked. By the time I found out, it was too late to get another hotel. A loud party in the center of the lobby kept us awake. No laundry bags or service were provided. The meal and service in the Ginger Grove Restaurant were great. The computer was down so our credit card was charged for the actual fee plus an additional hold. The telephones for services did not work. One had to call the front desk on speaker phone for services. The wake-up call was pleasantly surprising. A person was on the other end wishing us a good morning. The people at the front desk were very pleasant and competent. Overall, I would not give this hotel above a 3 STAR. It has long ago seen its heyday, and is living on its past laurels. Not worth the price.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMiami, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Mayfair Hotel & Spa re-emerges as Coconut Grove’s newest hotspot after the completion of the much-anticipated multi-million-dollar transformation.
We thank our loyal and returning guests for staying with us during our face lift. The construction teams have gone and they take with them the noise, dirt and inconveniences that have been part of our journey throughout most of 2008. We are now able to focus our undivided attention on you, our guests and to delivering the outstanding experiences for which we have been known in the past. This proud and truly memorable hotel belongs once again to you, our guests and we promise to deliver an experience that you will always remember.
Blending New York influences with the tropical vibe of Miami, the iconic Mayfair Hotel & Spa unveils a new layer of haute with the opening of rooftop Cabana One Pool Club & Lounge and famed New York steakhouse Angelo & Maxie’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    281
    147
    134
    107
See reviews for
143
347
42
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is by NO means a 4 star hotel......2 at best.
After we checked in & asked for some recommendations for lunch, we knew we were in trouble from the start. The concierge told us about Hooters & The Cheesecake Factory as good options for lunch. It went downhill from there. To say that the help at the Front Desk is help at all is comical. They can't help you with a car service, lunch/dinner recommendations for any of the surrounding areas near Coconut Grove. We found out there was a Houston's Restaurant in the nearby Coral Gables & they had never even heard of it before (another bad sign).

Ok, so besides the fact that no one has ANY taste that works there....let's start with the maid service. We ordered breakfast room service twice while were there and for some off reason the maids liked to leave the breakfast cereal boxes (which were empty) and select juice glasses (that had been used) in our room. Maybe they thought we would like to clean glasses in the bathroom sink? Maybe they thought we were going to recycle the mini cereal boxes? Not sure. We had also purchased 2 bottles of wine from a nearby liquor store. Again, the empty bottles would not be thrown away during our entire 3 day stay. It became a joke to us how many little boxes, glasses & bottles would pile up at this little table.

On another note, the language barrier also was quite annoying. My husband speaks a little Spainish, but I'm not too sure which language was being spoken most of the time, as they could not understand basic Spainish or what "more towels please" meant. One of the hand towels was dirty when we first arrived. I guess the highly detailed maid service missed that one...shocker.

Now onto the noise level. Wow, don't plan on getting a peaceful sleep while you're there. It just won't happen. The AC didn't work very well either. So don't plan on staying cool at night. In fact you'll almost be sweating. If you want a nice hotel lobby to hang in while you're waiting for the car service (that you had to arrange yourself) not going to happen either. Actually there really isn't much of a lobby at all. A few dated chairs with bad fabric. So as you can see, we didn't enjoy our stay there at all....for multiple reasons. How this hotel can rate themselves a 4 out of 5 stars in beyond me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMiami, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Mayfair Hotel & Spa re-emerges as Coconut Grove’s newest hotspot after the completion of the much-anticipated multi-million-dollar transformation.
We thank our loyal and returning guests for staying with us during our face lift. The construction teams have gone and they take with them the noise, dirt and inconveniences that have been part of our journey throughout most of 2008. We are now able to focus our undivided attention on you, our guests and to delivering the outstanding experiences for which we have been known in the past. This proud and truly memorable hotel belongs once again to you, our guests and we promise to deliver an experience that you will always remember.
Blending New York influences with the tropical vibe of Miami, the iconic Mayfair Hotel & Spa unveils a new layer of haute with the opening of rooftop Cabana One Pool Club & Lounge and famed New York steakhouse Angelo & Maxie’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

After a very sluggish start to a "Griswoldish" spring break with my wife and two kids. When I had the bright idea to take the family cross country in the family truckster little did I know what was in store. Luckily for us, I had taken the advice of my brother and called the Mayfair at the last minute and were fortunate enough to get a room there without having any reservations.
The Mayfair is both sheik and comfortable at the same time. My two children of 11 and 7 enjoyed all the little charms of the hotel. Very clean, super friendly and informative staff, and wonderful little touches that come with really neat hotels. Plasma screen in wonderfully spacious bathroom, great outdoor jacuzzi on the balcony, super beds, great bar, quiet, safe, and more. The only knocks on the Mayfair would be the fact it doesn't have a swimming pool, they are construcing one as I write this. Two, a little pricey with some of the additional fees, parking, and the jacuzzi fee. I'm just not used to these costs being from the Midwest and having everything included when I go places. They weren't excessive just extra. All in all, a great place to stay and relax. Across the street from Coco Walk, and down the road from all Miami has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

This is really a tired looking hotel. We had a big room, but really tired looking. The dirty jacuzzy on the balcony is a joke. No one will sit in that! Anyway, most important reasons we will never go back there are:
* place is very, very noisy! We wanted to go to bed early to catch an early flight, but we heard very loud music 'till 4 o'clock am.
* we had housekeepers yelling at EVERY door at 11 pm (yes, we tried to sleep early)
* staff was ok, but not very welcoming.

  • Liked — large rooms
  • Disliked — anything else! don't go there!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMiami, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Mayfair Hotel & Spa re-emerges as Coconut Grove’s newest hotspot after the completion of the much-anticipated multi-million-dollar transformation.
We thank our loyal and returning guests for staying with us during our face lift. The construction teams have gone and they take with them the noise, dirt and inconveniences that have been part of our journey throughout most of 2008. We are now able to focus our undivided attention on you, our guests and to delivering the outstanding experiences for which we have been known in the past. This proud and truly memorable hotel belongs once again to you, our guests and we promise to deliver an experience that you will always remember.
Blending New York influences with the tropical vibe of Miami, the iconic Mayfair Hotel & Spa unveils a new layer of haute with the opening of rooftop Cabana One Pool Club & Lounge and famed New York steakhouse Angelo & Maxie’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

This hotel is beautiful to look at and designed by a famous architect, but it is not functional. The staff can be heard moving furniture and crashing around beginning at 6 am for those rooms surrounding the atrium. You're no better off on the outside of the atrium, as others in our party complained about the partying at the bars across the street that went on until 3 or 4 am. Our tv didn't work, the "jacuzzi" was a joke (soft plastic lining?!), the patio terrace had dead plants and very unattractive. Location was good and bed was comfortable. My nephew was able to get a same-day massage that he said was very good. The board room was exceptional, with a wonderful breakfast for our business meeting.

  • Liked — Business facilities
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMiami, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Mayfair Hotel & Spa re-emerges as Coconut Grove’s newest hotspot after the completion of the much-anticipated multi-million-dollar transformation.
We thank our loyal and returning guests for staying with us during our face lift. The construction teams have gone and they take with them the noise, dirt and inconveniences that have been part of our journey throughout most of 2008. We are now able to focus our undivided attention on you, our guests and to delivering the outstanding experiences for which we have been known in the past. This proud and truly memorable hotel belongs once again to you, our guests and we promise to deliver an experience that you will always remember.
Blending New York influences with the tropical vibe of Miami, the iconic Mayfair Hotel & Spa unveils a new layer of haute with the opening of rooftop Cabana One Pool Club & Lounge and famed New York steakhouse Angelo & Maxie’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Simply maginificent hotel located in the middle of Coconut Grove. Doesn't look much from the outside but one you're through the door the rooms, set off two internal atria are spacious and really nice. Felt very pampered.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

The soaking tubs on the balcony had green gunk in it and smelled funky. There were so many wires hanging from behind the TV I'm sure it's a fire hazzard. The floors are ICE cold and they don't give you slippers. The rooms smelled musty and were very dated. They've been working on their pool for the last three years! The only thing this property has is a great location.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Lack of follow through on advertising
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMiami, Director of Sales and Marketing at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2008
Mayfair Hotel & Spa re-emerges as Coconut Grove’s newest hotspot after the completion of the much-anticipated multi-million-dollar transformation.
We thank our loyal and returning guests for staying with us during our face lift. The construction teams have gone and they take with them the noise, dirt and inconveniences that have been part of our journey throughout most of 2008. We are now able to focus our undivided attention on you, our guests and to delivering the outstanding experiences for which we have been known in the past. This proud and truly memorable hotel belongs once again to you, our guests and we promise to deliver an experience that you will always remember.
Blending New York influences with the tropical vibe of Miami, the iconic Mayfair Hotel & Spa unveils a new layer of haute with the opening of rooftop Cabana One Pool Club & Lounge and famed New York steakhouse Angelo & Maxie’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove
Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfair Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list