We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not functional” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mayfair Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 120 Hotels in Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not functional”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

There's quirky and then there's just awkward, broken and run down. The Mayfair wants to be vintage and eclectic but to make that work you need to provide great service. Front desk staff service was inconsistent: the gent who checked me in was very pleasant, but someone who answered the guest services line replied to my request with "you want WHAT now?"

The rooms are large and relatively clean. The "balcony" was an outdoor space that looked at a wall without any outdoor furniture on it. The room was very light on electrical outlets. Huge sitting area that was nowhere near the tv. The slider to the balcony was warped and in the summer i'm sure hot air and bugs get in.

Accessing the pool involved climbing stairs and following arrows. When the elevator works it is probably nice.

Wifi is inconsistent and cell service in rooms is bad.

A large bathroom but difficult to enter and exit the tub/shower combo. A separate WC but no door.

If i booked this place on vacation i would be bummed. For business it was tolerable but i would not stay here again.

Stayed February 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This iconic hotel has been beautifully restored and is in "tip-top" condition. It is absolutely gorgeous and has been beautifully maintained. The limestone floors and walls, rain shower and chrome fixtures in the HUGE bathroom, were a pleasant surprise. The limestone floors, updated furnishings and sliding glass doors to the patio, made the bedroom a great getaway from a hectic day.

The hotel is in the center of everything in Coconut Grove. The Coco Walk is on one side of the hotel and the Mayfair Grove shopping area is on the other. Lots of nightlife yet the hotel is very quiet. Starbucks is 2 doors away, and many great restaurants are within walking distance.

There is a city park about a block away, that was a great place to walk my dog and the entire area felt very safe. At the same time it was only about 10 minutes driving time from Miami. I hope to return to the Mayfair on my next trip!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, from what I could tell. Most center on an interior atrium, and have slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We are locals and had always heard of the Mayfair growing up here in Miami. After reading some of the reviews we almost did not book there. I AM SO GLAD WE IGNORED THE BAD REVIEWS! The hotel reminded of old wonderful Miami. They were very busy but we were attended to and welcomed by everyone who worked there. The inside of the hotel is outside with a garden and absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Manatee Suite and it was very nice. I loved the original wood closets and won't get started on the awesome Japanese tub! After enjoying a walk through the grove and all it has to offer it was pure heaven to relax in our tub with a glass of wine. We haven't even left and I wanted to make sure that I left this review for everyone to see. We are already planning our next stay! Thank you Mayfair!

Stayed February 2016, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Mayfair Hotel and Spa for two nights. We had requested a crib in advance. When we got to the room there was no crib and the room was very small. There was very little room to walk around once the crib was delivered. The floor was very dirty, our socks turning black within minutes. The pool was overrun by 3 busloads of college kids and that is not an exaggeration, there were 3 school buses that dropped off the party. We left a wedding band in the bathroom, and called the Mayfair a few hours after checking out. They said to call back the next day, we did and were re-directed to an answering machine. We have not heard back at all. For the price, I was disappointed and underwhelmed.

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I had the most wonderful time at the Mayfair! The staff form the front desk to bell/parking team to housekeeping and food and beverage. We heard the most beautiful guitar player during our stay. Our suite was so comfortable and well appointed. Well done Mayfair!

Room Tip: Some of the suites have outdoor decks concealed from the outside makes them a nice private getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneadski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is horrific. Old, dated, nothing works like it should and clearly not a $ had been put into the property since the 80s. In addition to the parade of horribles there was a wedding the night we stayed and the guests were literally out in the halls all hours of the night yelling as loud as they could. Never, never stay here - it is not worth it. Spend a little more and have a better experience.

Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Colleen92201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Colleen92201,

I would like to share with you that we aim to provide a quiet and relax stay for all our guest and we are very good at hosting weddings without disturbing our guest, however there are those few times where the wedding attendees could be a bit loud and we are tremendously sorry for the inconvenience.
We are extremely disappointed to read that you found our property not of your liking, we work endlessly to keep our property updated but we are aware that our ecletic style might not be for everyone.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm traveling tomorrow to Miami and will stay on the Mayfair. I received an e-mail today saying they had an issue with my credit card (which was indeed blocked, as it is a new one). Now, I'm trying to call the hotel to make sure that they can proceed with the reservation process. It's an international call. I stayed 10 minutes in loops without being able to talk to a human being. On the third time I called, some guy finally answered the phone. All he said was "can you please hold?". He then put me back on the automated system until the phone call dropped. Yeah, great start!

  • Stayed January 2016, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPSD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayfairMgr, Manager at Mayfair Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear MPSD18,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of this issue, we will look into the matter immediately as we understand how frustrating it has to be to have to keep calling or even holding on the phone unnecessarily.

Sincerely,
Jose Rico-Arango
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#14 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel & Spa

Address: 3000 Florida Ave., Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among The Most Exciting and Luxurious Coconut Grove Miami Hotels. Thrill to the excitement and vibrancy of South Florida - while enjoying the personalized service and stylish ambiance of a hip boutique hotel. Located in colorful Coconut Grove, a few miles from the beaches and downtown Miami, the Mayfair Hotel & Spa is in the heart of world-famous shopping, dining, and attractions. Admire our Miami Florida hotel's unique lobby, an Art Nouveau treat featuring a mini-rotunda, curved walls, and impressive columns. Stretch out in superior luxury in one of our 179 suites-most with private balconies and Japanese Hot Tubs. Our four-diamond Miami hotel rooms offer attentive service, upscale amenities, and blissful tranquility, in a sensual setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mayfair Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel And Spa
Mayfair Hotel Miami
Mayfair Hotel Coconut Grove
Mayfair Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing