We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay before the cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Element Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Element Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Element Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reisterstown, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One night stay before the cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

My cruise vacation party of four adults stayed at this property for one night before the cruise. Due to an airline delay and our travel from the Fort Lauderdale airport, we arrived at the hotel around 8:30pm. Construction in the area and confusing detour signage caused our car service driver to drive around for an extra 5 minutes trying to get to the hotel property. The hotel is located in a neighborhood not conducive taking strolls after dark. There is a security gate surrounding the property.

Our party was weary from the travel delay and in need of a good dinner. The person at the small front desk did a good job expediting the check in process and providing a bellman to get our bags to the room. She was also helpful suggesting a Cuban cuisine restaurant (La Rosa) a short ride from the hotel. The hotel courtesy shuttle was used to get us to and from the restaurant which was excellent.

The hotel design and décor was quite interesting and pleasant. It was very modern and fresh. This theme was in the common areas as well as the rooms. We requested first floor rooms in our reservations and they were provided even with our late check in.

The breakfast served in the common area near the lobby was very good and all we needed before going to the cruise terminal. The mango paste was a big hit. I consumed several.

I would stay here on a future trip. Hopefully the construction in the area will be completed soon.

Room Tip: Facing the lake in the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    223
    60
    28
    20
See reviews for
168
150
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Rey, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly with a great fitness room. My room was roomy with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and a kitchen sink with a filtered drinking water tap. They even provide dish-washing soap so I can wash my gym water bottle! We stayed overnight post-cruise before flying home. Location was nowhere within walking distance of restaurants/entertainment but under 10 miles of cruise port and less than 3 miles to airport - very convenient for the cruise passenger! I love a hot breakfast in the morning with a cafe latte, all included! Oh - and the body wash/shampoo dispenser in the shower...nice! Modern and chic decor.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Element Miami International Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Robert M. We are excited to hear you had a good stay at our hotel and enjoyed the friendly staff, fitness room, and spacious guestroom. Again, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was one of the Starwood properties my business partner and I sampled while at the CruiseWorld 2013 conference in Florida. We were excited to try the Element brand, considering it is the new trendy, go-green, eco-conscious hotel brand.

No doubt, this hotel has some great aspects to note, however, there are quite a few negative points about it. For business travelers, this hotel is great--it is within walking distance to a train station hub and the Miami International Airport. There is a free shuttle. But leisure travelers, BEWARE:

CONs:
1) Terrible location. DO NOT veer off the major highways to get to this hotel in the event you hit the bad Miami/South Florida traffic on the main roadways. Deal with the highway traffic jams! We figured we'd avoid the highway traffic and once arriving to the hotel, we are lucky to still be alive. As for the particular hotel location, the entire property is gated and within a large industrial area near the airport.

2) Polite but very unaccommodating staff: When we checked in, we asked for information on dining locations nearby that "we wouldn't get shot getting to." The friendly young guy behind the counter said "there are places in the area." Well, yeah obviously, but we're from out of town and that wasn't a help to the question. So we asked further, naming a couple specific chain names, and he gave us a paper with places in the area, but it didn't have much information on it. So, without the counter staff's guidance we said thank you and just resorted to our smartphones for info. When we got to our room, we saw there was a king bed despite my noted preference when booking that I wanted 2 double beds. When we called the front desk, they said there were no other rooms available...which was nonsense because most of the parking lot was empty. If they didn't want to help, they should have just said no rather than tell me a ridiculous bold faced lie like I was born yesterday. HOWEVER, one redeeming note here--I called for extra bedding to use on the pull-out couch and it was immediately delivered to our room.

3) $9 flat rate, across the board parking fee. Really!? Even for SPG and Starwood Pro members?!?!

PROs:
1) Brand new hotel, very clean. There is a great outdoor pool complex in the back of the hotel on the lake. It has a fire ring, a pool with beautiful cement work, and sun-powered lights illuminating the pool, with plenty of places to sit.

2) Breakfast at this hotel is pretty decent, even if you are a vegan/strict vegetarian. There is coffee, orange juice, yogurt, cereal bar, breakfast sandwiches, and my favorite of the morning: a delicious mango strawberry smoothie. The smoothie made up for my aggravation over the parking fee!

3) The room had a fully equipped kitchen with a fridge, stove, sink, plates, silverware, etc. The hotel even offered a grocery/shopping service where you can make a list and it would be delivered to your room (with a service charge).

4) Shuttle service: We took the shuttle to the other Starwood property in the area since we didn't want to drive our own car around. We took it to the Sheraton Airport hotel to eat at the restaurant in it called the Richenbacher, since there were no dining options other than a little pantry store at the Element. When we were done, we called the Element for a pick up and we didn't wait long for it.

Summary: Business travelers--stay here. Leisure travelers--stay away.

Room Tip: There is really no better or worse room location here. The hotel is right by the airport so planes r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were on our way to the Keys, and stayed in Miami for a day in order to check out the scenery. The hotel is bit far from the epicenter of Miami Beach, but what it lacks in location it makes up for in service, overall appointment, and price. We were renting a car to drive to the Keys, so it was a short drive from the airport to the hotel, aiding the location-aspect. The room was exactly what you need, and far exceeded my expectations. In the king-bed room we had full size kitchenette, complete with ceramic mugs, plates, silverware, cooking equipment, a full-size fridge and stove, and a dishwasher. This would be a truly great long-term stay, since I didn't want to leave! I (secretly/openly?) wished it was my apartment. I also loved how they saved space by having a pocket door to the bedroom. The king bed was luxurious and I had no trouble falling asleep. Bathroom was stylishly appointed and had everything we needed, except for maybe a bathtub. The evening reception also a great bonus (M-Thr. 5-7pm); it included free beer and wine and basically what could be parlayed into dinner, which helped us save money on dinner that night. Free food tastes the best! The breakfast bar also had an espresso/latte/cappuccino machine - so delicious!

Room Tip: to get a great view of the sunrise, have a southward-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Excellent space and quality for long term stay. Location is not its best as it is not close to the city and its attractions but it is 10 min away by car. If you forget about the location, everything else was outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Cartin, Starwood hotels at Element Miami International Airport, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Its great to hear you liked our space and found it good for long term stays. We appreciate the feedback on the location but we do hope to see you again at the Element Miami International Airport hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Hotel is near the airport, they have a 24hrs shuttle. Dino, the driver told me that they had a Barbecue/happy hour from 5-7pm. Burgers, hot dogs, beer and wine for free - unbelievable. The hotel is a bit young and stylish, very friendly staff. The room was a little studio, with kitchenette, bathroom was good, nice shower. The fitness room looked well equipped.

I had reserved through hotwire, 78€ for the night. Great value, if you consider the free happy hour. Without the burgers I would have starved because there is no restaurant and no shop around

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was not expecting how nice the hotel was, the lobby was amazing; that's what gave me a good first impression! I also appreciated that it is a non-smoking hotel, though the smoking area outside should be further away from the front entryway. The room wasn't as big as I expected but it was still beautiful with a view of the lake (I would have been disappointed if the room was facing the front of the building). The breakfast … well wasn’t amazing, but certainly better than just a continental breakfast.
Cons: The location. It is in the middle of an area that is undergoing construction and nothing nearby within walking distance. At least the hotel does provide a free shuttle service anywhere within a 3 mile radius; which is a good thing, because if you do not have a vehicle, a taxi would be expensive.
Only problem that occur was the complimentary wireless did not work in the room and I had to go to the lobby to do work.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Element Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Miami International Airport

Address: 3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Miami International Airport on picturesque Lake Palmer, we offer all of the amenities you need to thrive on long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Element Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.