We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel experience ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Element Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Element Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Element Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“worst hotel experience ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have never experienced such unprofessionalism and such horrible disregard to service.

they overbooked so many rooms (there were at least 8 customers in the lobby at 3-4AM with no rooms), completely stopped answering your front desk phones (I called several times throughout the day because I was stuck in a storm and would arrive late, and even the reservation specialists could not get through), stopped running for hotel shuttle, and they had no back up plan with other hotels to move customers to. What made it worse was that there was no manager on site and the two young gentlemen left at the front desk , while well meaning, were completely unequipped to handle the circumstances. And adding to insult, they did infact have some rooms available because you were still giving rooms to spg platinum members. It was a platinum member who got a room who gave me HER room because I was alone traveling with an infant. The whole experience was COMPLETELY unacceptable.

I do not understand frankly how the managers are employed or how the hotel is up and operating. Our experience with the hotel has made us consider cancelling our spg card and account and we will never be staying with them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    221
    60
    28
    20
See reviews for
166
150
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Miami, and overall I'd probably stay again if I had an early morning flight. As the name says, it's very close to the airport, which means it's not particularly convenient to downtown. It also happens to be in a strange location, I couldn't tell if it was industrial or just not built up, but the neighborhood was unusual. The hotel also had a security gate going all the way around it...extra precaution or unsafe area? Not sure. One you're inside, the rooms are great, quiet, modern and well lit. The staff was all very friendly, and the shuttle was handy to save on taxi costs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The industrial, spared down feel of this hotel reminds me of a dorm room with cheap furniture, modular seating and Formica cabinets. The carpets in the hallways and the furniture in the rooms seem stained and beat up.. There is nothing comfy about it. There is no restaurant on site or close by so we ordered pizza. Kind of strange that the pizza was delivered to our room instead of calling from the lobby. Doesn't seem very safe to have delivery people wandering the halls. It is convenient to the airport but in a very seedy neighborhood. The outside pool area is nice and the front desk crew were very kind and efficient. If you need to stay by the airport for an early morning flight, this might work for you but don't expect much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed March 2013 for six nights in a shopping and leisure trip. We found it out a better hotel than expected, first time in an Element. We liked the green concept without compromising the comfort and functionality. Our room was not a special one; however it was really large for its class. We opted for a queen bed (in fact it was king) with an additional queen sofa bed, very convenient for us as a couple; it functioned like a living room next to the bed. Full kitchen with a big refrigerator. Small office desk with an electronic station to connect all your devices including video and audio interfaces; the really high-speed wireless Internet access worked well all the time, so I only used the outlet to power my laptop (see photo). The hotel is nearby the airport, the planes fly very close to the ground for landing or take off, however never heard them when in the room: fantastic! The hotel does not offer restaurant service (not a problem to us), instead we get a free shuttle service with very kind drivers. Complimentary hot breakfast (boring if you stay many days like us, little variations), complimentary light evening dinner with a beer or cup of wine, of course there is also coffee, tea, water. Good beds, clean and nice bed cloths, kind and helpful service from staff. What else?... of course, will come back for a trip like this one. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Would like to fully review this hotel, but unfortunately, after reserving a room two weeks in advance, and guaranteeing the room for late arrival, we were informed they had overbooked and would have to move us. This was the final insult for my family travelling on vacation after a 40 minute curb side wait for the Element shuttle the hotel had promised would materialize in 3 minutes. Another aggravating 15 minute wait in the lobby when they decided they wouldn't honour the guaranteed reservation, followed by 30 minutes in a grubby taxi to a distant hotel.
This staff at the hotel are clearly overwhelmed at the moment, and you will experience the lack of clarity or professionalism should you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Complimentary shuttle, complimentary light dinner, complimentary hot breakfast. How can you go wrong?? Went to dinner at Rosa'a II cuban fare- as suggested by front desk, took the shuttle. Great food! Clean, modern room with a full kitchen and plenty of room. Good beds- great service from staff. Stayed only one night on a stopover to Aruba. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went to Miami for a lacrosse tournament. Lots here to entertain 3 teenage boys. Breakfast was decent. Lots of choices. The airport shuttle is convenient. The items in the pantry are very expensive-pay for convenience. The beds are Westin Heavenly Beds and you don't want to get up in the morning. There should be free parking but they charge $9 per day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Element Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Miami International Airport

Address: 3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Miami International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Miami International Airport on picturesque Lake Palmer, we offer all of the amenities you need to thrive on long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Element Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.