We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with some new hotel problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Element Miami International Airport

Save Saved
You added Element Miami International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Element Miami International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“New hotel with some new hotel problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I stayed at the Element Miami for a full week in March 2012. The hotel is brand new and they were still working on the finishing touches on the property. The Element concept consists of being energy efficient, modern, and simple. This is a mid priced hotel chain that offers a kitchenette in each room, free internet, free parking, and a free breakfast in the morning.

As an SPG platinum member I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was great perk and gave me more than enough room to feel comfortable for the week. Everything worked great in my room and I very much enjoyed the breakfast selection each morning. I also thought the fitness center was very well equipped.

The hotel is located directly in the path of one of the runways with planes continuously flying overhead. The amount of noise in my suite was minimal, but could still be heard. The staff was obviously very new and still learning on the job as any 'out of the ordinary' request seemed to stump them. I also tried calling down to the front desk on a couple occasions only to have my call go unanswered. My biggest complaint would be the excessive number of false fire alarms that woke me up throughout the week. I was jolted out of bed 4 different times by fire alarms (including one at 4am). I can forgive 1 fire alarm, but 4 in one week tells me there is a problem with the alarm system. The neighborhood surrounding the hotel is frightening and you would never want to walk out of the gated area. There is a shuttle van that will take you to the airport or to a nearby restaurant, but without a car you will feel very trapped. I would reccomend this hotel if you can get a great rate and are looking for a quick place to crash. There are many hotel choices near the Miami airport, so this property will really need to step it up if they wish to attract return customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    234
    66
    30
    21
See reviews for
180
166
38
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly, the price is right, it's five minutes from the airport, the room is spotless, comfortable and with a mini kitchen that includes a microwave and water filter and they have a nice food shop with natural chips and even organic vegan frozen food!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Arrived at MIA, tired and travel-weary, called Elements via Information desk. Shuttle bus arrived in a few minutes, and took us to a very warm welcome.
This hotel was certainly different, kinda "do-it-yourself" but quirky. Minimalist yes, good courteous service, yes. Room, nice, well equipped and clean and new. Comfortable bed.
Self-serve supper on our night was chilli dogs which were plentiful and delicious, and perpetual coffee machine dispensing lovely coffee. Full kitchen in the room including microwave. Offer of shuttle to our car hire place the following morning by charming driver. Would stay again! No serious aircraft noise despite proximity to MIA.

Room Tip: All rooms are likely the same. Maybe noisier on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Pared down to essentials yet modern and fresh, this place is versatile enough to accomodate business or pleaseure travelers. The rooms are equpped with a kitchenette, right down to pots and two hotplates, as well as a fridge. It's well laid out, with an open floor plan and an ingenious way to watch the tv--no matter which side of the room you're in. The finishes are zen, urban, modern without beeing cold. The windows of the room open up! I haven't seen a hotel that's not hermetically sealed in more than a decade and at night, when the planes are not flying, the breeze is wonderful. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and the FREE breakfast is unbelievable! Fresh fruit, fresh pancakes, egg-white burritos and salsa, several cereals... this alone is worth $20. Breakfast ends at 10 so you do have get downstairs in time,but it is well worth the "early" rise. Parking is on premises, with security and gate. Wifi is free and easy in every room as well as downstairs. The courtyard, dotted with bar tables and umbrellas, is a great place to eat breakfast and check your email. The location is not convenient unless you rent a car, but the price more than makes up for it--and the car allows mobility. The easy and safe parking is a plus.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the king bed studio--especially if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brook Park, Ohio
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

I agree with some of the other reviews! The property itself is lovely, but the location is awful! There is nowhere to walk to, not that I would have wanted to!!! It was nice that the shuttle would take you anywhere within 3 miles, as there is nothing to eat close by. Tom, the shuttle driver was great. Front desk staff were friendly, and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. Noise from airport was awful!!! (We stayed at the Westin at the Detroit airport the night before, and heard nothing!) Since I used points, I was satisfied with accomodations, would I choose it again? probably not.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honduras
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

While the hotel is not in a great location, it is close to the airport and very convenient for layovers or other travelers. The rooms had a full kitchen, very comfortable beds, spacious bathroom and a nice couch. The complimentary breakfast as well as 24 hour coffee and tea selection, new weight room, and nice patio made this place even more comfortable. Their shuttle will take you to the airport or any nearby grocery store, etc. Very comfortable and modern hotel!

Room Tip: Doubles rooms seem to have a fully equipped kitchen while single rooms have just a minibar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a new hotel in a run down industrial area close to Miami Airport. There are no restaurants or cafes within walking distance - not that you'd want to venture outside the security fencing and electric gates after dark. This makes it a very unwise choice for anyone who wants to use it for anything more than just a place to sleep as there is no restaurant at the hotel.

Reception staff were pleasant enough but clearly new to the job. If you are an SPG member expect NIL recognition - we were given a dirty room at the furthest end of a corridor. We had to drag our luggage all the way back to reception (take a look at the photo's to see just how long the corridors are) to ask for another room. Our second room was better in that it was at least clean but we soon realised that being close to the take off runway meant a constant stream of airliners passing over the hotel with engines at full throttle.

The in room kitchen facilites were poor - no electric hob as shown in the Element promotional video only a microwave, sink and fridge (which made a strange crackling noise when it was running).

The bathroom was spacious with a large shower cubicle and complimentary shower gel and shampoo in large dispensers on the wall. Both hand and bath towels provided although we had to use the hand towels to mop up the water leaking from the shower tray. Clearly a construction fault as a friend staying in another room had the same problem.

There's a large bed with trademark Westin linens (ie.good quality) although our Heavenly bed had the topper missing. Our friend confirmed it was also missing in his room too. As a previous reviewer mentioned, despite being a new hotel there were some curious stains on the corridor carpets and they also looked as if they could do with a good hoovering.

All the hard flooring, from the tiles outside the entrance to the tiled floors in the lifts were stained. As we entered the hotel there were noticeable dark drops on the paving slabs outside - I only hope it was coca-cola!

Breakfast was disappointing. Lukewarm coffee, rubbery scrambed eggs and cold sausages. We left our "hot offering" and concentrated on bagels, cereals and fruit. There were staff refilling the containers but very little interaction with the guests.

For a Starwood Hotel I thought this place was poor. The Element concept is a great idea and there's clearly a market for Green Lodgings in the US but please don't confuse being environmentally friendly with poor standards of housekeeping, absentee management and little real customer recognition or care.

Room Tip: As for one that's been properly cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Element Miami International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element Miami International Airport

Address: 3525 NW 25th Street, Miami, FL 33142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Element Miami International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside of Miami International Airport on picturesque Lake Palmer, we offer all of the amenities you need to thrive on long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Element Miami International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Element Miami International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.