We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 129 hotels in Miami
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“So Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed at the Ritz before we took a cruise on RCI. It was a very affordable package which included parking and breakfast. Great deal. Of course the hotel was very upscale. It was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The large room had a baconey with a view of downtown MIami. Very comfortable king bed, large flat screen tv, crown molding and very large bathroom. Separate walk in shower and tub. Plenty of plush towels. Coco walk is a 5 minute walk with lots of places to eat and shops to go into. Ate at the Cheescake Factory for the first time, very crowded and I now know why. The food was excellent. Staff are all very pleasant and the hotel was spotless. When you enter the lobby it is full of flowers so the smell is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    83
    46
    27
    12
See reviews for
69
105
22
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

When you think of the Ritz Carlton, you think of opulence. I expect grandiose settings and beautiful arrangements. As far as Coconut Grove is concerned, the actual building has it, unfortunately they're located in an area that takes away from it. It's placed oddly on what seems to be a side-business traveler street BEHIND the only important part of the Grove!! As a matter of fact, if you go about 3 turns in the wrong direction, it would be in your best interest to roll up your windows and lower your radio....

This is out of their control so I cannot fault them. The hotel itself is gorgeous and very classy. Only a few gripes....
- Food prepared correctly once every 8 times
- The one time the food is prepared correctly, it will take so long to get to you, you might as well start take a look around and see what hotel guest you're going to eat first to survive.
- Pool under renovation and it didn't say it on the website - BUT it was still open thankfully
- Language barrier with some of the staff which makes them seems standoff-ish or surly.
- Managers speak less English than the floor employees

Pros
- Housekeeping works harder than most. Room in always in immaculate condition after mid-day service
-You're close to South Beach = close to the sun, sand and beautiful women
- pricing is very affordable
- Lastly, employees like William Baines. The guy is spot-on with everything he does for you. He was able to assist me in whatever I needed while i was there. Kind-hearted, focused, and a genuine person. He even played a better concierge than the ACTUAL concierge. Had an issue with my bill and he was able to fix it right away. William was absolutely great and if i didn't know any better, I'd say he lived there because he was in the lobby or behind the desk everytime I came down! If you're there ask for him!! I doubt you'll be disappointed in the service.

All in all, a great stay....kudos to housekeeping and Mr. Baines. If you like elegant and quaint, go with this Ritz. Just remember to pack your own lunch.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

1st class staff, all the service and amenities you'd expect from a RC property. Smaller than most Ritz Carlton's, good location to spend a day in the Grove. Excellent fitness area, nice pool. Dining options were nice - breakfast was good.

All in all, an excellent four star property but you'd expect a little more for five stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

If you are a couple 40 plus coming to Miami this is perfect. The property and staff are outstanding. The spa with Laura and Erica are lovely. A massage with Danny will spoil you for other massage therapists. He is intuitive, kind and a real expert. The rooms and food will not disappoint.
The area is a dream. Directly across the street is a large, beautiful marina. There are several casual restaurants and a great gourmet market. There are three parks for picnics, a cushioned running trail all on Biscayne Bay. Boat rentals for cruising, fishing are available.
Just a short, easy, three minute walk into town for a brand new thirteen movie theater with the latest hits. Many restaurants such as Jaguars for Peruvian, Georges for French and a good, funky sports bar the Sand bar(try the Joey wings). The Grove will easily take up three days. Stroll through the art stores, picnic, boat, see a movie and dine around.
When you are finished drive or better take a taxi to South Beach 20 minutes.
Do the typical beach, drink, eat, shop. A younger crowd will enjoy staying on South Beach but you can still head over there for the experience while returning to the home town charm of the Grove.
From the Grove location another 10 minute cab ride away is Coral Gables with the elegant Merrick Park shops and more dining on Miracle Mile. You can get to Miracle Mile on a free trolly and catch a taxi from there back to the Ritz in the Grove.
Overall I found it to be a centrally located area (20-30 minutes from airport) and an excellent jumping off point for so many locales. A car will not be needed unless Key West ( 3 hours) or the Zoo (1 hour) are on your agenda.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

We stayed there in June, and found this Ritz-Carlton to be in line with what you would expect from the brand. The service was top-notch, and the concierge even located a hard to find bottle of wine for us before we got there. We had a minor delay in checking in, as there was one person working for everyone checking in, but other than that we have no complaints. The valet was exceptional as we were back and forth at the hotel throughout the stay, and he was always one step ahead of us. The furnishings were in line with what you would expect, and the bathroom looked like Carrera marble heaven. If there was something to be improved upon, it would be the balcony/exterior of the building. The patio furniture and exterior don't quite match the unparalleled interior accommodations. Even without this update though, this is still the most luxurious hotel in the area and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My room was extremely comfortable. It was quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent and allowed me to get an early start to my day. The service was exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

While the hotel met the standards, there was nothing exceptional here. The staff were very friendly and accommodating but made many little mistakes that just shouldn't happen in a hotel of this quality. The room service was friendly but with mistakes AND the food was mediocre. I stayed here for a conference and it certainly met my minimum expectations but didn't dazzle me. In other words, I wouldn't stay here if I were paying!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.