We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven star prices three star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 113 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Seven star prices three star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent three nights here in January. The rooms were nice but not stunning, the location was great and the service on the beach good. Poolside looked and felt a bit run down but again the staff were friendly enough. The problem is everything is so expensive. $45 for breakfast. $35 for a small glass of wine and small gin and tonic. If the place looked and felt like a real five star hotel you could justify the expense but it feels like a middle of the range Spanish hotel.. It's a great location but I would not expect to much and eat and drink out of the hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Jonnieb1701,
Thank you for your comments and review on Trip Advisor. Feedback is very important to us and I appreciate the time you took to write your opinion regarding our property.
We will review our pricing, though I am happy to say that our Food and Beverage team continuously creates new events, one of them being the TGIF, The Grove International Friday’s, offering variety of menu samples from around the world with wines specials.
We hope to welcome you back to experience some of our specials in a future visit to Miami.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    109
    61
    33
    13
See reviews for
91
128
28
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel is a great place to stay, the staff are warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food is first class and the choice varied. You will need to go on a diet after staying here for a few days. The glass of Champagne on arrival after travelling for a long time is a nice touch and very welcoming.

Room Tip: The sea was just visible from my room, but I was never in the room long enough to worry about the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Johhnyboy44,
I appreciate the wonderful comments about your visit to The Ritz-Carlton, Coconut Grove. Our Food and Beverage team continuously strives to create unique, memorable and personal moments for our guests, showing their culinary delights.
We looking forward to welcome you back to our neighborhood getaway.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
159 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We splashed out on two Ritz Carlton Hotels on our visit to Atlanta and then Miami. Having had a super stay at the Downtown Atlanta, we were hoping for the same in Coconut Grove. On arriving we were alarmed to see a huge construction site just opposite the front of the Hotel. We were greeted by Elizabeth, who gave us the Bay view room we had booked. Unfortunately it was overlooking the construction, opened the patio doors and the noise was awful, not great for a 5 night's stay. Went back to Elizabeth who apologised and was able to allocate a room overlooking the rear of the Hotel above the beautiful gardens. This room, 428, was so much quieter, and had a large bathroom with walk in shower and bathtub, which was perfect. Elizabeth wanted to know if we were happy with that room and we rang down to tell her that it was fine.
Our stay turned out to be wonderful after the initial hiccup. The building is very luxurious, gardens are beautiful, especially at night in the lighting. Used the pool which was a delight as it was so warm, and a good size for a decent swim.
Had drinks in the garden one afternoon, which was good, the Coconut Grove Cocktail is divine!
Didn't get to use the restaurant as we preferred to visit the many restaurants in the neighbourhood. We missed a Club Lounge at first, but were told that when it had one it was not used much, this being mainly a business hotel. Despite that, we found it great for a vacation , as the balcony was lovely to sit on and enjoy the view, and to watch the Sunset and the stars in the warm Miami evenings. Would also add that the location of the hotel is good, the restaurants, bars, and shops a short stroll away in what seems to be a safe area of Miami. Near to the Marinas and Parks by the Waterfront too.
Thank you to all who gave us a wonderful stay, including Housekeeping, who kept the room so comfortable . To Elizabeth, thank you so much for the efficient and friendly service, we think every Ritz should have Elizabeth on the Front Desk !!
Jane and Roy Jones, stayed 3rd to 8th March, 2014.

Room Tip: Do be aware that the Bay View rooms overlook the construction site. This was a no no for us on a 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeldar T, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Jones,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our hotel. Although nearby disturbance was a concern, I was thrilled to learn our Ladies and Gentlemen were able to anticipate and fulfill your needs during your stay. I feel very fortunate to work with an outstanding lady like Elizabeth. I will be sure to share your kind words with her.
Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

William Yahr
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
252 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay at the Ritz and was very sad to leave. From check in to check out I was treated like royalty. I am not sure why others complained as I received great service from all I met including Elizabeth on front desk, Ashley & Mitch at the concierge desk, Josh at the lovely pool bar, geovanny the bell captain, Jaime at breakfast and Mehment and Hasan at the bar. I was helped with taxi's, restaurant suggestions, dry cleaners, shops, etc. the hotel is in a nice area and safe to walk round if you are on your own. Lovely Asprey toiletries refilled twice daily. Good selection of food for breakfast and lunch. Yes there is some construction noise but it did not deter me from having a great stay. The spa could not accommodate a particular manicure and recommended an alternative. Loved it here. thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Anon19 from the UK,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Creating a wonderful experience in our neighborhood property is one of our missions. Coconut Grove has many places to visit, just a short walk from our hotel. I appreciate your kind words about Elizabeth, who took care of you during your visit with us, same as the housekeeping team, who strives to create a home away from home for all our guests. We look forward your next visit in the wonderful neighborhood of Miami, Coconut Grove.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here during Miami race week. Great location - can walk to everything boating related. Staff is super friendly. Bar is a great place for light dinner and drinks. Room was great. Only a few petty downsides: weird green and red lights shining up side of building at night so can't leave window open, no ice delivery upon check in, loud people in the hall in the middle of the night - don't people realize others are sleeping!
HIghly recommended if you are in CG

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was greeted by a chaotic and unfriendly valet service. The rest of the staff was pretty impressive. There is currently loud construction across from the hotel; they start working at sunrise. In my room, the electrical outlet was not snuggly attached to the wall. You could pull it out. The toilet wasn't consistently refilling either. I know how to fix these problems, so I did, but if you don't....watch out. They've cut rates during the construction, but it still may not be worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction side if you want to sleep past sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Good afternoon,
I appreciate the time you took to share your comments about your recent visit to our property. Miami skyline is still changing and I apologize that you had to experience the construction noise of the new upcoming building across our hotel. Thank you for the feedback regarding valet service and the engineering issues, I will address both. Highlighting the rest of the staff was very kind of you, thank you.
If you wish to discuss any other feedback that might help us, please feel free to contact me directly.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As members of American Express's Fine Hotel and Resorts program we have always trusted that hotels in this program provide 1st Class accommodations and the Highest degree of customer service. This was NOT the case with The Ritz Carlton Hotel in Coconut Grove (Miami). Not only was the staff in every department young and inexperienced, they were severely understaffed as well. Pretty much they did everything wrong: Gave us a suite that did not even have a bathtub, and then provided no hot-tub in the spa; Gave wrong directions from the hotel to a location that was 2 blocks away; Took our dry cleaning, promising same day service, only to return it to us saying that the place that provides the service was closed the day that we were there; Have NO FINE DINING Restaurant - they only serve dinner at a bar with tables set up in the lobby and charge $9 for a cup of Cappuccino that comes out of a machine on top of that. IT WAS ABSURD ! ! My rating was only "poor" as opposed to "terrible" because (at least the building) was still a high end hotel style and had some nice features, but if you are thinking "The Ritz" THI IS NOT IT.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Santa Fe Jefferey,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate to learn that your experience at our property was not up to your expectations. This was the 51st year for the Coconut Grove neighborhood to host the Coconut Grove Art Festival, the largest outdoor Art Fair in the United States, welcoming visitors from around the world.
I truly regret that certain aspects of your stay were not what you expected. Based on our e-mail communication with you, I understand that you appreciate that the concerns were heard and addressed. I would be personally available upon your return if you wish to discuss further.

Warm regards,
Jacqueline Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#18 Family Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.