We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like royalty from start to finish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty from start to finish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I have just come back from a 4 night stay at the Ritz and was very sad to leave. From check in to check out I was treated like royalty. I am not sure why others complained as I received great service from all I met including Elizabeth on front desk, Ashley & Mitch at the concierge desk, Josh at the lovely pool bar, geovanny the bell captain, Jaime at breakfast and Mehment and Hasan at the bar. I was helped with taxi's, restaurant suggestions, dry cleaners, shops, etc. the hotel is in a nice area and safe to walk round if you are on your own. Lovely Asprey toiletries refilled twice daily. Good selection of food for breakfast and lunch. Yes there is some construction noise but it did not deter me from having a great stay. The spa could not accommodate a particular manicure and recommended an alternative. Loved it here. thanks

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Anon19 from the UK,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Creating a wonderful experience in our neighborhood property is one of our missions. Coconut Grove has many places to visit, just a short walk from our hotel. I appreciate your kind words about Elizabeth, who took care of you during your visit with us, same as the housekeeping team, who strives to create a home away from home for all our guests. We look forward your next visit in the wonderful neighborhood of Miami, Coconut Grove.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    103
    59
    30
    13
See reviews for
85
121
27
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed here during Miami race week. Great location - can walk to everything boating related. Staff is super friendly. Bar is a great place for light dinner and drinks. Room was great. Only a few petty downsides: weird green and red lights shining up side of building at night so can't leave window open, no ice delivery upon check in, loud people in the hall in the middle of the night - don't people realize others are sleeping!
HIghly recommended if you are in CG

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

I was greeted by a chaotic and unfriendly valet service. The rest of the staff was pretty impressive. There is currently loud construction across from the hotel; they start working at sunrise. In my room, the electrical outlet was not snuggly attached to the wall. You could pull it out. The toilet wasn't consistently refilling either. I know how to fix these problems, so I did, but if you don't....watch out. They've cut rates during the construction, but it still may not be worth the money.

Room Tip: Avoid the construction side if you want to sleep past sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Good afternoon,
I appreciate the time you took to share your comments about your recent visit to our property. Miami skyline is still changing and I apologize that you had to experience the construction noise of the new upcoming building across our hotel. Thank you for the feedback regarding valet service and the engineering issues, I will address both. Highlighting the rest of the staff was very kind of you, thank you.
If you wish to discuss any other feedback that might help us, please feel free to contact me directly.
Warm regards,
Jackie Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

As members of American Express's Fine Hotel and Resorts program we have always trusted that hotels in this program provide 1st Class accommodations and the Highest degree of customer service. This was NOT the case with The Ritz Carlton Hotel in Coconut Grove (Miami). Not only was the staff in every department young and inexperienced, they were severely understaffed as well. Pretty much they did everything wrong: Gave us a suite that did not even have a bathtub, and then provided no hot-tub in the spa; Gave wrong directions from the hotel to a location that was 2 blocks away; Took our dry cleaning, promising same day service, only to return it to us saying that the place that provides the service was closed the day that we were there; Have NO FINE DINING Restaurant - they only serve dinner at a bar with tables set up in the lobby and charge $9 for a cup of Cappuccino that comes out of a machine on top of that. IT WAS ABSURD ! ! My rating was only "poor" as opposed to "terrible" because (at least the building) was still a high end hotel style and had some nice features, but if you are thinking "The Ritz" THI IS NOT IT.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie V, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Santa Fe Jefferey,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. It is unfortunate to learn that your experience at our property was not up to your expectations. This was the 51st year for the Coconut Grove neighborhood to host the Coconut Grove Art Festival, the largest outdoor Art Fair in the United States, welcoming visitors from around the world.
I truly regret that certain aspects of your stay were not what you expected. Based on our e-mail communication with you, I understand that you appreciate that the concerns were heard and addressed. I would be personally available upon your return if you wish to discuss further.

Warm regards,
Jacqueline Volkart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Down in Miami for business and luckily this hotel was on the approved list. The property is beautiful and it's about 30-45 minutes away from South Beach. The view from my window was nothing special but I didn't care.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The service was great, everyone was kind and helpful. The room service menu leaves something to be desired but it was the low season. The lobby is beautiful and I am sure the pool is a lot of fun in the summer. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Coconut Grove tremendously. I was so very well taken care of by the staff throughout. The pool area was great. And, I loved my room. This will be my go-to property when staying in the Miami area, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#23 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.