We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What goes Down May Come up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“What goes Down May Come up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Recently, stayed at this property for the first time and it was a trip not to remember. What ever could go wrong did. I really can't put my finger on the overall cause but it might be weird set of coincidences which converged upon us. In each and every instance, employees and management responded quickly to rectify the damage.

I will give this property another try solely because of the outstanding training and excellent communications skills of every employee that we encountered and there were many. I must say that the attitude expressed by the valet to the doorman through housekeeping to even the bartender was excellent and I believe genuine.

Room Tip: Please avoid the Bay side now as a major construction project is underway across the street and they...
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual droll about, water, fresh towels, LED lights etc blah blah. Look there is no way that a South Florida Hotel can be green considering the heat and humidity of the area. But they are really trying.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    92
    53
    27
    13
See reviews for
79
112
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
nj usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is located near coco walk and near beautiful park with boats and walking/running path. I stayed here for two days for work related meetings. This hotel also has full time residents who own/rent upper floor of hotel.

Room Tip: Call hotel to ask about quiet room as construction of two condo towers across street are expected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Keep in mind this rating is relative to the price paid and the expectations that come with a hotel like this.

We arrived a little after midnight after our flight was delayed. We had to wait a couple of minutes for a valet to come out - this was, I 'suppose' is ok since it was a little late. Check in - they could not immediately locate our name but after a couple minutes of playing with the computer, they found us. We went to the elevators and they were all turned off - several guests who came back to the hotel at the same time with us were as confused as to why this was the case. We waited a couple minutes until a staff person came to flip the switch on one of the elevators. When we got in the room, first thing I noticed is that someone had taken off the fire detector (Room 620 in case the management is reading this review) and laid it in front of the TV. No big deal to me - I was worried that it was a smoker from the prior stay but the room did not smell at all - but it was another negative mark given the hiccups thus far.

We went straight to sleep. The next morning I ordered the Brioche French Toast. With the charges and gratuity, two slices of the toast totaled $27 - I would have been fine, but the problem was the French Toast was completely burnt. I didnt complain about it and we ate about 75% of it. We then left the hotel and came back at night, around 8 PM. Nothing worse in my mind than schlepping up to your room and neither card works. My wife had to go back down (sorry, she booked the room under her name) to get new key cards.

I realize some of this is trivial, but when you pay about $500/night for a hotel, I think you should not experience the above. I will say the room was very nice in appearance (except for the shower, which was about 6 feet high and had a poor shower head) and the staff was nice and courteous.

We keep not complain at all about any of the above, because that is not what we do. However, the hotel will suffer the wrath of my review because almost all of the above should have been done right the first time. As I write this I changed my review from 2 dots to 1 dot, again on the premise of the expectations that should come with a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goring, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I am writing this review from the pool side on our last day at the Ritz Carlton. I feel compelled to write as we are so disappointed and this hotel isn't up to Ritz standards.

The negative impression was set as we tried to check in. When I booked our 4 night stay (in July so 5 months in advance) I booked 2 rooms and stated 1 room MUST have twin beds as we have a 19 and 16 year old travelling with us. At check in we were told all the twin rooms had been allocated and it is policy to reserve either twin or double rooms and until guest arrival you can't know the room you will get. This is a ridiculous booking system but to add to the problem further the solution given was to book another room so it has cost an additional $2000 to the original booking. To be told the hotel was full and so all rooms were occupied but then to be given the option of a double room at additional cost is dubious to say the least.

The list of negatives continue with a broken security door lock that was reported twice and not fixed, a dirty coffee machine left with old coffee in, water in the room not replenished and the mini bar left unstocked. All of theses are small oversights but after the booking mistake it just all adds up to a bad level of service from the front desk.

Now I must mention the positives, the waiting staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are fine and as you would expect from any Ritz. The location is good with an easy walk to Coconut Grove and a short taxi ride to South beach and the shopping malls.

We would return to Miami but will choose a different hotel

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending four night at this hotel. Even though they were fully booked with sailing families, the hotel staff was eager to help and very attentive to our requests. The housekeeping still does bed turndowns (which seems a thing of the past) and was very friendly. The breakfast was delicious. They have an attractive pool and spa too. I cannot wait to return...

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beds were amazingly comfortable, bathrooms spacious, and rooms nice size.
Service was outstanding across the board - valets, bellmen, bartenders, concierge, reception staff and sales team.

Overall my experience was excellent and i felt well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Exactly what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton experience. A pleasure in every way. Very convenient to shopping areas and restaurants. It was an oasis from the heat in July. Lovely seating areas to lounge or mingle outdoors, too. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.