We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Ritz-Carlton Rewards
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
nj usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location & excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is located near coco walk and near beautiful park with boats and walking/running path. I stayed here for two days for work related meetings. This hotel also has full time residents who own/rent upper floor of hotel.

Room Tip: Call hotel to ask about quiet room as construction of two condo towers across street are expected to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnrosejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Keep in mind this rating is relative to the price paid and the expectations that come with a hotel like this.

We arrived a little after midnight after our flight was delayed. We had to wait a couple of minutes for a valet to come out - this was, I 'suppose' is ok since it was a little late. Check in - they could not immediately locate our name but after a couple minutes of playing with the computer, they found us. We went to the elevators and they were all turned off - several guests who came back to the hotel at the same time with us were as confused as to why this was the case. We waited a couple minutes until a staff person came to flip the switch on one of the elevators. When we got in the room, first thing I noticed is that someone had taken off the fire detector (Room 620 in case the management is reading this review) and laid it in front of the TV. No big deal to me - I was worried that it was a smoker from the prior stay but the room did not smell at all - but it was another negative mark given the hiccups thus far.

We went straight to sleep. The next morning I ordered the Brioche French Toast. With the charges and gratuity, two slices of the toast totaled $27 - I would have been fine, but the problem was the French Toast was completely burnt. I didnt complain about it and we ate about 75% of it. We then left the hotel and came back at night, around 8 PM. Nothing worse in my mind than schlepping up to your room and neither card works. My wife had to go back down (sorry, she booked the room under her name) to get new key cards.

I realize some of this is trivial, but when you pay about $500/night for a hotel, I think you should not experience the above. I will say the room was very nice in appearance (except for the shower, which was about 6 feet high and had a poor shower head) and the staff was nice and courteous.

We keep not complain at all about any of the above, because that is not what we do. However, the hotel will suffer the wrath of my review because almost all of the above should have been done right the first time. As I write this I changed my review from 2 dots to 1 dot, again on the premise of the expectations that should come with a hotel such as this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review from the pool side on our last day at the Ritz Carlton. I feel compelled to write as we are so disappointed and this hotel isn't up to Ritz standards.

The negative impression was set as we tried to check in. When I booked our 4 night stay (in July so 5 months in advance) I booked 2 rooms and stated 1 room MUST have twin beds as we have a 19 and 16 year old travelling with us. At check in we were told all the twin rooms had been allocated and it is policy to reserve either twin or double rooms and until guest arrival you can't know the room you will get. This is a ridiculous booking system but to add to the problem further the solution given was to book another room so it has cost an additional $2000 to the original booking. To be told the hotel was full and so all rooms were occupied but then to be given the option of a double room at additional cost is dubious to say the least.

The list of negatives continue with a broken security door lock that was reported twice and not fixed, a dirty coffee machine left with old coffee in, water in the room not replenished and the mini bar left unstocked. All of theses are small oversights but after the booking mistake it just all adds up to a bad level of service from the front desk.

Now I must mention the positives, the waiting staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are fine and as you would expect from any Ritz. The location is good with an easy walk to Coconut Grove and a short taxi ride to South beach and the shopping malls.

We would return to Miami but will choose a different hotel

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lovemyflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
207 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of spending four night at this hotel. Even though they were fully booked with sailing families, the hotel staff was eager to help and very attentive to our requests. The housekeeping still does bed turndowns (which seems a thing of the past) and was very friendly. The breakfast was delicious. They have an attractive pool and spa too. I cannot wait to return...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaraMHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Beds were amazingly comfortable, bathrooms spacious, and rooms nice size.
Service was outstanding across the board - valets, bellmen, bartenders, concierge, reception staff and sales team.

Overall my experience was excellent and i felt well taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Exactly what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton experience. A pleasure in every way. Very convenient to shopping areas and restaurants. It was an oasis from the heat in July. Lovely seating areas to lounge or mingle outdoors, too. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here during a business conference. Very impressed with everything about this hotel including the staff - first class. I was a little surprised when an employee, possibly room service delivery, took it upon himself to ask about my stay during an elevator ride. In other establishments they just keep to themselves. But this gentlemen seemed honestly interested in how my stay was going. Nice.

You can stay anywhere. It's the people that make the difference that you'll remember. Marriott always excels with this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadN2Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#14 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#4 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#59 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#25 Family Hotel in Miami
#28 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hidden among lush subtropical foliage and surrounded by the brilliant turquoise waters of Biscayne Bay, The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami provides an unforgettable escape to one of the city's most delightful downtown hotels. After a day spent exploring the eclectic boutiques, art galleries and restaurants that characterize Miami's original neighborhood, resort guests can indulge in a soothing treatment at the hotel's spa, discover dining that celebrates fresh Florida fare from farm to sea, and relax in accommodations that reveal views of the adjacent marina from a private balcony. Whether for business or pleasure, let us make our corner of Miami the one you return to over and over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing