We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticking to it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Daegu, South Korea
1 review
“Sticking to it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I absolutely love this hotel. Everytime I would make arrangements in Miami, The Ritz Carlton Hotel is my number one choice!

I believe that when you find something good, you should stick to it. Sometimes you have to be a little open-minded, but nothing is worst than changing your habits for something that makes you unhappy. The Ritz-Carlton brand has never disappointed me. I'M STICKING TO IT! LOL

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    92
    53
    27
    13
See reviews for
79
112
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Great stay all around! From the time the taxi dropped us off at this fine elegant hotel to the time we drove away after a 5 nights stay, we received totally excellent service.

Each and every hotel staff member took the extra mile to assist us during our meetings, meals, and break-out sessions to ensure all was well. Interesting to note that a staff member welcomed us in the morning as we got off the elevator and guided us all the way to the room where our break-out mtg. was being held - very polite and courteous experience not seen anywhere but at the Ritz. Had a great and memorable pool side reception too.

Our room was very well appointed with a large marble floor bath room with a great walk-in glass shower. And, perfectly timed "turn down" service in the evening.

Why not 5 stars: these few observation for mgmt. First, slow Wi-Fi in meeting rooms was a problem at times for our group. Second, our guest room felt warm every night in middle of the night despite keeping the thermostat at 64. And, finally not being able to enjoy the morning coffee on our balcony, and no fault of the hotel, was the building construction noise coming from across the street.

Again, overall a great stay. Thanks.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Standish
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not my first time staying at the Ritz. As always the service was stunning. Checkin was quick and my bags were waiting for me in my room. Accommodations are what you expect from the Ritz. Everything here is very quiet, my only small quibble is it's location in Miami Beach, not as close as I'd like to be to my main spots.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Ritz Carlton was nearly flawless in hosting our recent business meeting. My room was spotless and well-appointed, the public areas are inviting and elegant, and the meals and break service were very well executed.

Some notable plusses: extremely clean and well-appointed hotel, service up to Ritz Carlton standards, nice selection of daily newspapers delivered to the room. In the room: good coffee, piping hot and good pressure shower, quiet and effective air conditioning, large bath and good amenities.

A couple of negatives: $9.95 daily charge for “basic” high speed internet access, no high-def channels on the large flat-screen TVs.

I’d recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Coconut Grove area for business, pleasure, or meetings

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is well located for U of M and Dadeland, within a short walking distance to the Coconut Grove Mall (5 minutes walking) our luggage was immediately taken out of our limo by the bell hop, and we were escorted inside. Check in was painless and quick, we got our suite immediately.
When we entered our suite we were blown away! The room was extremely spacious and furnished with gorgeous furniture and decor. The bathroom was also gorgeous as well; a large immaculate marble bathroom with a walk in shower, private toilet room, and bathtub area, as well as two sinks and a large vanity area. The walk out private balcony was very spacious and had a wonderful view of the courtyard, and pool area.
The pool area was gorgeous with free wifi
We had an excellent time. Thank You the Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Room Tip: The higher up the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My mom and I stayed here as a girl's weekend for a triathlon I was participating in at the Larry & Penny Thompson Park. We wanted a quiet, comfortable place where I could get plenty of rest before my race. The Ritz was very nice inside and very clean. Our view was nothing special.. we had construction out our window (they can't help that part) but there was also a power line obstructing any kind of view of the ocean. We were on the third floor, so it's possible the views are better the higher you are.

The location of the hotel is not too bad. Coconut Grove is a quiet harbor town, so there isn't a beach nearby to walk to. There are shops about a 5 minute walk away which are good for basic necessities - we got manicures in the shops and did a little shopping at some of the clothing stores, but there isn't anything upscale. You'd have to go to South Beach for that. The restaurants around are pretty good, but you have to know which ones to go to or you'll end up at a decent chain one. If you stay here, ask for Ruddy - he is amazing and knows all of the best local spots to eat. He's not the concierge, but we saw him everywhere. He is wonderful and really made our stay!

Unfortunately we found out after our first night that we were both allergic to the feather pillows, but the staff was quick to change them to foam once we had let them know. The maid service was great, though turn-down seemed to get earlier and earlier - one night they came at 5pm - though they were completely nice about it when we asked them to come back later. The hotel itself doesn't have much - only one actual restaurant, a lounge/restaurant area, and the pool bar with food.

Everything is VERY pricey - a bottle of Fiji Water from the room is $7. We ordered room service for breakfast one morning, and were disappointed in the expense (over $20 per person for fruit, 2 croissants, coffee & OJ), so we didn't do that again. The drinks at the pool & inside bar are also very expensive - around $20 per drink.

We also took advantage of the spa and had massages. Our massages were both a swedish mix (mine was a sports massage after my tri, and mom's was a stone & stick massage), and very relaxing though a little rough at times. I needed it and was fine with the deep tissue, but my mom had not done the tri and was uncomfortably sore the next day. It made me feel a little disappointed in her massage experience.

Overall we had a very good stay, especially after we got to be familiar with the staff, who was very accommodating. The hotel may be a bit overpriced for the amenities, but it makes sense considering the quiet crowd they attract and the service their staff provides. Just be prepared for an expensive stay.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has a lot of construction, so I would ask for a higher room or a room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Overall an experience of plushness and great hospitality. Warm welcome upon arrival and I was delighted to be upgraded to a suite in the quiet corner of the hotel; I had called ahead to ask for a quiet room and could not have asked for more. The plush suite overlooked the city, with a balcony, a roomy lounge area and a very comfortable bedroom. The bathroom was very well appointed. Spent an evening at the Lazuli lounge where I must have had the best vegetarian dish ever. Oscar has information on nearly everything - great person to ask for advice. The location is in a residential area with proximity to Cocowalk which has a few restaurants - Starbucks, Cheesecake factory and further down a leafy walk along the bay. The sea is about 2-3 block down. Easy to get taxis; however South Beach is quite far and accessible by taxi or the tour bus that leaves round the corner. Special thanks to Oscar at the concierge desk, Matthew at the reception, Mehmet and the Indian chef at the Lazuli Lounge for their warmth. I did not want to leave!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors. I did not hear the construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Family Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.