We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the usual standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 129 hotels in Miami
Bridgetown
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not the usual standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have stayed at a Ritz-Carlton in both P.Rico and Cancun, this one did not make as good an impression.
Currently there is a construction site across the street on one side, unfortunately we were put into a room facing this and as it was night, we only found out next morning very early. The backup signals sounded like an alarm clock. Also the glass is apparently not double glazed, so traffic noise is also a nuisance.
Now we had the room on a special offer, but were not told it was due to nearby construction. The following morning when I asked for a room change, which was granted immediately, there was no apology for the noisy night, the lady told me simply that the hotel was not required to inform about the construction, as long as it was not on the actual hotel site. I understand their conundrum, if they inform of construction, clients will book elsewhere.
The common areas are stylish, the lobby etc. Breakfast was good. Beds very comfortable.
At check out when I mentioned my dissatisfaction, this lady immediately offered to credit the first night. This was more like it, and rescued the situation.
I suggest you ask for the side away from the construction for now. This hotel is well located for U of M and Dadeland.

Room Tip: Other side from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    81
    45
    27
    12
See reviews for
65
105
22
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was there for two nights during a conference and enjoyed the experience there. Overall the food was of high quality though one of the breakfast took 50 minutes to arrive. The room is well appointed and overall flow is nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from May 4th 2013 to May 10th 2013. I agree with much of what is being said here but I especially agree with the comments about Hassan! What a gentleman and amazing human being. Besides hitting it off as friends instantly he was a picture perfect bar keep. Impeccable manners and a gentle and soothing personality. And PS his Mojito's were delicious! When Hassan was enjoying his time off another wonderful bar keep took over named Marius. Also a gentleman and winning personality. :-) I had a nice time here and look forward to coming back in the future. OH! And lest I forget!! Martha in the dining room....WOW....what a remarkable server! A voice like velvet and the prettiest eyes you've ever seen. Really with the exception of only one employee everyone here made my stay memorable...just some a wee bit more then others. I love you all. :-) xoxoxo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is my go-to hotel when I travel to Miami for business. The hotel is a short walk over to my office so it's very convenient.

Everyone who works here is nice and helpful. I went out for dinner one night with family which included a walk around The Grove. It was drizzling. The Ritz offered me an umbrella to borrow so that I could avoid getting rained on. Very nice of them.

The rooms are clean and have all the amenities you need. The shower is a bit small. Also, I found the shower water to not be as warm as I like it. It could be because I took a shower during the busy time so the water heater may have been overloaded. Also, I'm weird and like to take scorching hot showers.

A+ for the Ritz.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a great experience at the Ritz! Great Location ,amazing lobby, comfortable room and personable warm guest service.
The employees in this hotel really seemed to take pride in providing the best service for the guests.
Really enjoyed the breakfast buffet, swimming pool and spa...Great Setting and decor. Was not too thrilled with there propencity for over charging for everything i.e $7.00 for a small bottle of water but then again you are staying at the Ritz... If you want to economize stay somehwere else...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treasure Beach, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

HASSAN IS THE MAN OF THE YEAR,perfect service,nice conversations,interesting people,the RITZ CARLTON COCONUT GROVE, is the plsce to be ,perfect sunday breakfastbuffet,will be back,to enjoy this comfortable hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

There is a major construction project going on across the street from the hotel and since they are currently working on the foundation, I would imagine all the inconvenient things that go along with building will be part of the landscape for several years to come. When we first entered the room at 4PM on a Friday, the jackhammers were going strong. I was told that the work would end at 5PM on Friday and not resume until Monday morning so there would be little impact during our weekend stay. I went down to the lobby and not one but two employees also assured me that there would be no work on Saturday or Sunday so I decided not to pursue a room change.
The next morning, Saturday at 8AM, the jackhammers began again in full force---the manager I summoned up to the room apologized and said his employees had not been updated!! He had our room switched immediately and credited the night but the damage had been done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
#21 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.