We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuckoo over Coconut Grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 130 hotels in Miami
new york city
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cuckoo over Coconut Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

In one of the most perfectly timed work trips of all times this past weekend, I was able to escape Nemo the Blizzard in New York and spend a few days in South Florida. I've stayed at various Ritz Carlton properties over the years and have never been disappointed.

A quick and easy drive from Miami international, the Ritz Coconut Grove is situated the perfect distance for convenience and access. Far enough away from the South Beach hustle to relax and close enough to get to the dog and pony show if that's your speed.

The lobby of the hotel is one of the more magnificent ones I've been in. A subdued lobby bar and fountainside outdoor space is perfect for a quiet drink before a night out or a nightcap.

I truly enjoyed their mango lobster wrap poolside while getting updates on the snow in NYC, along with all the extras that are a given with any Ritz property.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    82
    45
    27
    11
See reviews for
65
105
22
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was a great business standard hotel of the quality I expect from Ritz Carlton. The room was phenomenal, bed was perfect, and bathroom incredibly large. Service was goog and very friendly, though I will say the concierge needed to improve his area-knowledge of Miami. I didn't use the pool because I arrived on the heels of a hurricane. As the hotel is not quite centrally located, it's too bad this isn't a beach resort, given the ocean is only two blocks away. Still, if you want to be a little outside of the city this works well. Coconut Grove has some decent shopping and a great restaurant in Jaguar, otherwise the area was a little depressed and slightly strip-mallish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I spend about 30 nights a year in hotels - service makes all the difference and that's where The Ritz excelled. A glass of champagne at check-in was appreciated and the staff were extremely helpful and gracious. The rooms were nicely appointed and the pool and fitness center were lovely. If you need a taxi would recommend booking in advance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day weekend getaway to lounge by a pool, do some shopping and visit friends. From the moment we arrived the service from all staff was wonderful. Friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was nicely appointed, quiet and all our prefences were in place upon arrival. We ate in all three restaurants (Bizcaya for breakfast, Pool Grill for lunch and Lazuli for dinner). Quality, service and value were excellent. We would definitely stay here again the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: There is demolition and construction taking place across the street. Be sure to ask for a quiet roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unexpected room not the one I asked for, over priced, breakfast very poor (fruits & bread not fresh). Instead of beach view a very noisy construction area. On checkout I couldn't find transportation to airport that reserved from front disk the day before.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a high floor beach view room but we get 3rd floor facing construction area working all days even during Holliday, room was large well furniture. The breakfast restaurant was poor & not fresh fruits even bread with different price every morning. The big shame on checkout I couldn't find the taxi to airport which I reserve the day before from the main front disk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Assistant Rooms Executive at The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Amrtalaat,

I am sorry and surprised to read about your experience at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami. Our pastries are made fresh every morning by one of our amazing pastry chefs. Our prices vary slightly on the weekends as we add Mimosas and other food items to the buffer. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your stay with us. You may contact me at your convenience at Alexander.Blanco@ritzcarlton.com.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Ritz in Coconut Grove only barely met my expectations when my wife and I stayed there in December 2012. The room service was good, the marble bathroom and shower were very nice, and the lobby was beautiful. Also, the in-room internet was excellent. However, there was construction--which it appears will be ongoing during 2013--directly outside my window. Touch-up paint on the bathroom ceiling was obvious, and one expects closer attention to detail from the Ritz. We only had breakfast at the restaurant, but the overcooked eggs were also over-priced, and the service was only average. I enjoyed the 15-minute walk to all of the restaurants and shops of Coconut Grove, but it looked like there were other hotels within closer proximity to the Coconut Grove activities.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water probably would not be affected by construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Assistant Rooms Executive at The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear J C,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami. We are located just .37 miles walking from the center of Coconut Grove. The walk to the center of the Grove is filled with views of the park and the marina. I we appreciate your compliments and concerns. The construction is not occurring on property but I understand how it may have inconvenienced you. If there is anything you may need, please feel free to reach out to me.

Alexander.Blanco@Ritzcarlton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.