We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, no wonder it's "Ritzy"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 130 Hotels in Miami
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wow, no wonder it's "Ritzy"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a beautiful property. I have never been fortunate enough to stay in a Ritz-Carlton until now. It really is amazing in terms of customer service, the incredible staff no matter where you are in the hotel, and just the beautiful property. However, there is a massive construction project going on across the street and it's noisy and ugly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are where the construction is....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    84
    48
    27
    12
See reviews for
74
107
24
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Booked a 3 day weekend thru AA Vacations to the Ritz to celebrate a belated birthday & have some down time. It was a girls weekend away, leaving our men behind! I mentioned it was Lori's belated birthday and the hotel gave her a bottle of wine to celebrate! What a nice touch! The hotel is beautiful, the beds very comfortable, the bath towels are wonderful & the patio was great for sipping coffee/wine and enjoying the view & ocean breeze. We enjoyed the chocolates at turn down each night! The staff were all very nice. Franz, the bartender at the pool was very attentive & fun to converse with! We were given a handicap accessible room, so did miss having a bathtub. We had asked concierge's to assist us with travel plans, which ended up with an unexpected $70.00 taxi ride, when taking the bus/train for the day would have only been $5.00/person...The next day we booked a massage in Coral Gables & asked for walking directions. The directions were left at the podium for us. We ended up walking in a low income part of town, that when we returned & shared where we had walked, I was told they don't recommend guests go there...While in Coral Gables we stopped at a sports bar to watch the end of the Packer game. We asked the gentleman at our table about better directions with the map we had been given & he said he wouldn't let us walk back, instead, he gave us a ride back to Coco walk...He is a football coach for the University of Florida! Thank you again for your kindness! I shared my concerns with Charlie when we returned & he was VERY apologetic for our inconveniences and gave us dinner on the house that night. I suggested that their staff be more aware that some people are happy to walk places or take mass transit & that these options be detailed enough so that guests don't get into areas that aren't safe...The dinner was delicious and we enjoyed eating in and going to bed early! I asked for confirmation on our pick-up with Super Shuttle which was done immediately. To our surprise, we were picked up in a Lincoln Town Car, instead of the shuttle, a very nice touch! Unfortunately, President Obama was in town & the freeway was shut down during his escort, so sat in bumper to bumper traffic for quite a while, before being allowed to continue on, no fault to our driver. This was a GREAT place to stay, very accommodating to our needs, great food/drink and close to coco walk. We even enjoyed live music from our patio due to a 75th birthday party going on on the terrace below our patio Saturday night! Thank you for everything! Your staff really do go the extra mile and when there is a concern, they truly listen and are willing to do what they can to make it up to you. I would highly recommend staying here, just be very specific about your travel plans & do your homework ahead of time....We are from a small town in Wisc. and aren't used to the big city and how spread out things are...

Room Tip: Our room, 426 was quiet, which is what we had asked for. Unbeknownst to us until we arrived, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just returned from our a 3 night stay and the whole experience was wonderful. The hotel is beautiful, our suite was spacious and amazing. My daughter loved taking bubble baths in the tub. The staff can't do enough to accommodate you. Raul from the lobby lounge was outstanding- so nice to my daughter with all his little touches. Franz at the pool was wonderful also. My husband ended up in the emergency room during our stay and the staff all made sure to ask how he was feeling and helped us get to a pharmacy to fill his medications. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz while in Coconut Grove visiting relatives during the Thanksgiving Holiday. Similar to another reviewer, I will share the pros and cons.

The pros:
Wonderful and attentive staff and service. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful, just shy of overly helpful. The hotel was decorated beautifully for the holidays and it smelled wonderful throughout the main areas. They upgraded up to a bay view which was very nice, the room itself was nicely appointed and the bathroom was beautiful. Everything was spic and span. The free (and good) water in the room is a nice touch although that Fiji water looms on the counter with it's 7 price tag. I have yet to buy the ever present Fiji water.

The cons:
The walls are seemingly made out of rice paper. We could hear everything 24-7... kids, conversations, and, well ... By the time we figured all this out it was too late to move rooms which I am entirely certain that the staff would have gladly accommodated. The other loud aspect, not the property's fault and probably present in any of the rooms, was that across the street a hotel is being torn down. So beginning at a generous 8am, you hear the rumble of bulldozers and bobcats during demolition. Eventually, of course, this will end but it no doubt disrupted our stay
and experience.

Beyond the noise, the hotel is lovely and staff is friendly. It's a quick walk to Coconut Grove and going the other way, to a nice path. Unfortunately, don't think we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for one perhaps without an adjoining door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and up to the standard of service you expect from Ritz Carlton. We had a wonderful stay in a spacious, comfortable suite with contemporary furniture in a muted palette of gold and green. Large marble bath and powder room were both well-stocked and spotless. Limited dinner menu is available in the lobby - 4 entree choices; dining room only open for breakfast and lunch. We chose room service for dinner: food was hot and delicious, but salmon instead of the grouper we ordered was delivered. Corrected the error in satisfactory time. Poolside dining was professional, but on the slow side. Everyone we encountered was warm and welcoming except the hostess in the restaurant at breakfast who failed to smile and made us wait despite the dining room being less than 20% full. Our server was great - very accomodating to our varying breakfast schedules. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

the hotel is beautiful. the smelling in the lobby is delicious.
the service good.
the sea is very close..and some resturants and nigth life.
Staff are friendly and try to service you with details.
i recommend this hotel

Room Tip: ask fot higth floors to get the good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful stay. Hotel is located a 5 minute walk from coconut grove village where there a lots of bars, restaurants & shops including Starbucks & cvs drug store to pick up any bits you may need.

The hotel is faultless. Impressive, clean, excellent customer service & lovely pool with fresh towels & bar service.

If you are looking to relax whilst in Miami, this is the place to do it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#9 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#14 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.