We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property; lousy area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Save Saved
You added The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 131 hotels in Miami
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice property; lousy area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My fiance and I just returned from a long weekend at this property. We booked a package through AA.com using some travel vouchers we had, and the Ritz was offering a 'stay 2 nights, get the 3rd free' special. Easy-peasy.

The pros:
The hotel is clean and nicely decorated; the staff are professional and helpful, and the rooms are well-appointed with very, very comfortable bedding and spacious marble bathrooms offering tubs and showers. We enjoyed the bar/lounge area almost every evening, ordering starters, drinks, and desserts, and the food was very good as well. I should say that the staff are extremely polite and acknowledge you by name constantly, but unless you think of yourself as a really BIG deal, this may start to grate on your nerves a little bit, as it can be gratuitous and feel servile at times. All in all though, for what this property is: an upscale hotel in a somewhat dilipaidated residential neighborhood out of the way of Miami's main "attractions," it is very nice indeed.

The cons (or just the unfortunate facts):

This is not a resort where they have a coffee shop (like a Starbucks on site, or even very nearby); and there is no sundries shop or CVS pharmacy very close where you can pick up the random items you may have forgotten or need. If these aren't issues for you, then you'll be just fine. If they are, it's just requires additional planning and/or effort to make-do.

The hotel is not exactly in a great location if you're in Miami to visit beaches or be in the midst of the action. We knew this ahead of time, but I could see how it would be a little disappointing for travelers who are expecting to be able to drop their rental car and get around everywhere on foot or by taxi - that won't happen, unless you have lower expectations for your stay, or a ton of cash to spend on longer-distance taxis.

The area of Coconut Grove has quite a few restaurants and shops, but being a biased resident of Los Angeles, I can't say any of them are any big deal. The restaurants/bars look and seem dated, weathered, and the food isn't anything special. We did eat at one good restaurant in the area on Friday night (Bombay Darbar), which was excellent, but I think that's about the only truly worthy dining option in the area. I remember as a kid (~20 years ago), Coconut Grove being a lively and busy neighborhood outside downtown Miami and always being mobbed with people; it's obvious the recession has hit this area hard, as there are now tons of vacant commercial buildings and empty storefronts with lease signs in the windows. To be honest, it feels a bit sad.

We spent most of our time driving to and from other neighborhoods - South Miami, Miami Beach, Coral Gables, and Fort Lauderdale, where we had some great meals and days out, but again, we probably could have stayed at a luxury airport hotel and had the same experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Assistant Rooms Executive at The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear lanikaigirl,

Congratulations on your engagement! The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami is a beautiful place for couples to relax, use the spa, read a book, take a walk, and enjoy a drink at one of our neighborhood cafés. Coconut Grove is a very peaceful part of Miami. The area prides itself on being a wonderful place for families, runners, cyclists, and beautiful views of the bay. We thank you for your feedback and wish you and your fiancée a beautiful wedding and life together.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Alexander.Blanco@RitzCarlton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    78
    39
    26
    12
See reviews for
57
98
22
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but when you walk in you'll get the full ritz Carlton experience. They have residences upstairs and teh hotel is downstairs so you'll see both types of people arrive. My husband and I went to celebrate an anniversary and had a great time, they did anything for us. Pool is simple. Clean and whatever you need.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We always try to stay at a Ritz Carlton and the Coconut Grove again confirms our decision - great friendly staff - very attentive and welcoming. Great pool and gym facilities, clean rooms - bathrooms are exceptional. We had a great view of the bay from the fifth floor - couldn't ask for more. We didn't have breakfast but the restaurant looked first rate

Room Tip: Great location to get to Biscayne and Coco Walk - Get a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a lovely 3 day weekend at The Ritz Coconut Grove. It started with a very friendly greeting as soon as we pulled up to the entrance. We were addressed by name when we spoke to the staff and everyone was very kind and accomodating. The room was clean and beautiful. We spent time at the spa and used the pool. The staff at the pool came around and gave us ice water regularly and of course asked if we wanted drinks or food. The location is great. We did not use our car again - we walked to the Grove and enjoyed several wonderful meals. When we checked out, again we were treated royally. There were several staff members outside and all wished us a good journey home. It was a pleasant ending to a relaxing long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The perfect last day of a perfect holiday in Miami and the Keys....after a very disappointing start to the day at another hotel, the Ritz came to the rescue....and did not disappoint. Friendly, happy welcome - Diego taking us to a lovely room and Frantz contributing to a lazy day at the pool by making his wonderful mixed berry mojito - what a star!!! Although it was towards the end of the season and some redecoration was taking place - and apologised for - i found the hotel old wordly in its attitude to clients - discreet but always there when needed. We shall return!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was really disappointed in this hotel. It clearly is not up to the normal high standards of the RItz Carlton. When we returned to the room at 5 pm, our breakfast dishes were still on the table. Room service never got the order right. The spa is average at best. Fire alarm from kitchen smoke kept us out of the hotel for over 45 minutes. Will not stay here again despite convenience. On a positive note- pool service was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Assistant Rooms Executive at The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jerry C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not have the typical experience had at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami. I know that our property is convenient for your needs and I encourage you to contact me prior to your stay so that I may ensure that your stay is a memorable one. It would be my pleasure to be your personal host throughout your stay.

I look forward to meeting you soon.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Alexander.Blanco@RitzCarlton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in April with our 8 month old. Our stay was perfect as far as this hotel.
The room was nice and clean. Not as fancy as some other Ritz Carltons, but very nice. The service could not have been better and we travel a good bit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove
Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove
Coconut Grove Ritz
Coconut Grove Ritz-Carlton
Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Miami
#11 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.