We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel represents true 5-Star quality. The linens were of the finest quality, and our suite was BEAUTIFUL! The service was of supreme quality, and the food was outstanding! We have vowed to return for every 5th anniversary.

Room Tip: Any view is truly lovely. Be sure to have breakfast in bed at least ONCE. It's well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear Naima1922,

Thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful experience with the TripAdvisor community. The Ladies and Gentlemen at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove are glad that you enjoyed a warm, relaxed, yet refined experience with us. Congratulations on your commitment to each other and we look forward to seeing you and your husband in five years.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    92
    53
    27
    13
See reviews for
79
112
26
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for several days in May. The location was good for us it was away from the hustle and bustle of the main strip, but not to fare that you could not get a taxi in.
The staff, room and service delivered as you would expect from this brand of hotel. They even managed to source a tailor with 30 minutes’ notice.
Coconut Grove, itself is a great place to hang out with a good mix of bars and restaurants. There really is not more to say then the hotel more than met expectations and was very welcoming, I would recommend this to any one

Room Tip: Sounds flash, but pay the extra and the get a suite, you wil not be disapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear BCKN,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted to hear that the Ritz-Carlton experience fulfilled even your unexpressed wishes and needs. I would also agree with you that the upgrade to a suite for $100 per day is an excellent bargain and experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012 via mobile

When we travel we usually stay in very nice hotels, and very often in a Ritz Carlton. I've never been disappointed in an RC property before, but the RC at Coconut Grove managed to disappoint in a big way. We were in Miami for 2 nights with our 2 sons (older teenagers). We were in a very nice suite...however there was only one sink, which I found unusual. There was a lot of construction going on with another part of the building, so from some unearthly hour in the morning until late afternoon there was absolutely no peace whatsoever due to the constant outdoor construction with cranes, bull dozers, etc. Usually in an RC there are a few shops,....or at least one, where you might find toiletries, etc. This RC does not have a single shop. The breakfast was quite unappetizing. Pastries were clearly not fresh. The scrambled egg container had about 2 servings left and those looked like they had been in there for some time, so I sat down and just waited to see if they would bring out fresh eggs. After 20 minutes, the chef came out, checked all the containers, including the eggs, and went back into the kitchen. 20 minutes later....still no fresh eggs. (I was eating other things from the buffet while I waited.) I finally asked the manager to bring some fresh eggs, and it was only then that fresh eggs were put out. She did bring me my own plate, which was nice but should not have had to happen. The breakfast service was not good....our waitresses were not attentive. In addition, the fire alarms went off 4 times in 2 days. One of those times was later at night after we were all ready for bed. It turns out that this is a regular occurrence for this Ritz because the residences and the hotel are on the same system. Apparently any tiny thing can set it off. The trouble is, most of the staff just ignore the alarms. It's like the boy that cries wolf...what happens when it's a real emergency? No....as much I love Ritz Carlton, I do NOT recommend the Coconut Grove RC.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander B, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, responded to this review, January 16, 2012
Dear luvhrsz,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would be grateful for the opportunity to speak to you about the experiences you had at The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove and replace them with the true Ritz-Carlton experience that our Ladies and Gentlemen take pride in. Please contact me at your convenience,(786) 470-1256, so that I may address your concerns.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to providing you with the finest personal service and facilities.

Kind Regards,

Alexander D. Blanco
Assistant Rooms Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I am a frequent biz traveler and stay at Ritz, Four Seasons, etc., for the level of service afforded to its clients. While this hotel is very nice, up to Ritz standards, the management of the hotel and level of service is awful. No one picks up phones, my bill was not ready when checking out, etc. In fact, as I write this review I have been waiting on hold with the hotel for 20min trying to get my bill they did not have ready when I checked out yesterday. No one was picking up their main line, etc. Really embarresing for a Ritz. Run like a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My family (2 adults 2 kids) stayed here for 4 days this past week. I have stayed at several Ritz Carltons before and was surprised at the issues that we had this time. The minute you walk in you are overwhelmed by the scent of roses. It was nice but overbearing. Breakfast the next a.m. was so bad. Not just the service, but the breakfast buffet was awful. The choices were awful. Just simply lame. The next a.m. We decided to order off of the menu. That was what we had planned to do if we had anyone waiting on us. After about 20 minutes of asking several people to take our order I did get a cup of ice cold coffee. It was at this time I decided to leave and go eat somewhere else. The same day it was after 4:00 when we had to call and have someone make up our room. The same night we went down to the pool, I even called to ask if they had towels down there and was told yes. Well, needless to say there were no towels and I had to carry 2 freezing children up to the room. The next day went to the pools again, this time in the middle of the afternoon, still no towels even asked for someone to bring us one 2 times- never got the towel. Had to go into the spa and find one on our own. Might sound like small trivial things, but when you are spending this kind of $$ you expect more.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I booked this in a hurry - thinking this is a well known 5 star brand and should meet International Ritz standards. I think our first disappointment was that the hotel is far away from South Beach ( and I completely acknowledge that the hotel is not to blame for this) - so my biggest recommendation is that if you are travelling to Miami for some fun, party and good music - I would recommend booking other hotels on Miami South Beach. Return fare from this hotel to South Beach work out to be $70 ($30-35 each way) - so I think we would have been better off spending these $70 on a room closer to the main area.
The other disappointment was that our check-in person did not inform us about the buffet breakfast - so we ended up ordering ala-carte in the room. There were no room service menus available - and we had to call up reception twice to ask for their menu- slightly disappointed here.
There were road works going on in the area, so it's really tricky if you want to walk around the property a little - not something you expect if you are staying in a 5 star and paying 5 star rates- right? The beach closer to the hotel was really quite - so we assume all the fun happens in the South Beach area only.
To summarise, I would recommend this hotel to business travellers who have work close to 27th avenue only. For the party lovers - go to South Beach !! Also please don't pay for "Bay view " rooms - they are not worth additional money as there is hardly any view!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Great service as always, smallish hotel with boutique feel. 5 min walk to Coco Walk - nice outdoor seating area and nice gym. They love dousing the lobby and main floor with rose "something" - great scent but you can only take it so much

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami

Address: 3300 SW 27th Avenue, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami
#12 Family Hotel in Miami
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#27 Business Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami Hotel Miami
Coconut Grove Ritz Carlton
Ritz Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.