We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spectacular SPLASH!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Ocean Airways

Tropic Ocean Airways
1100 Lee Wagener Blvd, Suite 117, Miami, FL 33315
+1 800-767-0897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 234 Activities in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tropic Ocean Airways, founded by a U.S. Navy TOPGUN, is the only scheduled seaplane airline in Florida. Skip long security lines and disembark in North Bimini after an exciting water landing! We operate our scheduled service out of Sheltair's private terminal at the Fort Lauderdale International Airport (FLL) and the Downtown Miami Seaplane Base. Private charters are available as well to Bimini along with most islands in the Bahamas, and not to mention the beautiful Florida Keys!
Key Colony Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a spectacular SPLASH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment I found Tropic Ocean Airways on twitter to the moment we landed.... What a THRILLING experience this was for us! With my very first email inquiry to Shannon... my nerves were eased instantly while planning a huge Surprise / Bucket List excursion for my husband's Big 50 Birthday! We are from NC and we have a bungalow (No bananas bungalow) in Key Colony and I wanted to plan a day trip seaplane excursion to Little Palm Island for lunch as a surprise for my husband's birthday. We have always wanted to fly in a Seaplane, and although the destination was exciting, getting there was a real THRILL as well! Shannon was fantastic as our schedule unfortunately changed several times due to changes in my husband's work plans, (since this was a surprise- we had to go with the flow) and Shannon was fantastic and accommodating every step of the way. All was set to go until a little storm by the name of Isaac blew in and again our plans had to change on the fly. Shannon handled it like a pro, as Little Palm Island evacuated and all airports closed. Days later we were back on track! Shannon arranged for the seaplane to pick us up at Marathon Airport only minutes from our bungalow. I was able to reveal the surprise to my husband as the Tropic Ocean Seaplane landed at Marathon. My husband thought we stopped by the airport to pick up some tourist information... and it worked! He noticed the seaplane landing and exclaimed, "We have got to do that one day that would be sooo cool!" Of course, he was shocked when he realized they were actually landing to pick us up! SURPRISE! The view is obviously incredible over the beautiful Florida Keys! Nick, our pilot was absolutely wonderful! He is pretty much a rock star in our book! A very talented pilot and educator at the same time. He pointed out the highlights and even gave us a bit of background on the seaplane culture. The splash down was exhilarating and Nick was just as impressive "docking the seaplane" no dockhands, no crew, no reverse... just Nick, a dock and a rope... Impressive! Little Palm Island was as wonderful as ever... they have a real talent for making you feel like you are the only one on the island. They personalized my husband's menu with a Happy Birthday wish and a custom slice of Key Lime Pie! Nothing tops a lunch date at Little Palm Island! We absolutely will do this again one day! It was an experience of a lifetime and I earned major points for planning the whole surprise for my husband! Tropic Ocean Airways and Little Palm Island you made me look so good! And you made it so easy! Thank you for making such a huge SPLASH in our lives! We will never forget it! Thank you!!!
No Bananas Bungalow - The Florida Keys

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seaplane to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Ocean Tropic Airways:

The BEST way to travel to Bimini from Ft. Lauderdale or Miami! Prior to booking our flight Shannon was the greatest help with coordinating our travel plans. On our day of travel, we were greeted by Adam our pilot at the Shelter Air terminal. Check-in and departure could not have been easier. As an bonus we had the chance to fly into Miami (water landing) to pick up 2 other passengers on their way to Bimini.

For the first leg of our flight we had our own private seaplane and pilot! The view and flight was spectacular! Landing and departing from Government Cut in Miami were another thrill and the 30-minute flight to Bimini was better than could be anticipated. The water landing and clearing customs in Bimini took less than 30 minutes. Then we were on our way to 10 days of R&R.

The new landing dock had been installed at Bimini Big Game Resort just prior to our arrival and we were hopeful that it would be operational by the time we left. Unfortunately, it didn't happen. Right after we watched the seaplane land in the bay it only took us minutes to catch a cab from Bimini Big Game to get to the plane and the customs office.

We highly recommend traveling to Bimini or anywhere else in South FL with Ocean Tropic Airways. EVERYTHING about traveling with TOA and our pilot Adam was top notch. We will be planning many long weekends due to the convenience of Tropic Air and Bimini Big Game’s dock.

See you next time we go to Bimini or Key West,

Sharon and Brock

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We flew from Naples to Little Palm Island. From reservation to landing our experience was excellent! Everyone at Tropic Ocean Air is friendly and professional. Nick,the pilot, was at naples airport waiting for us when we arrived, we were a little reluctant to fly in a seaplane as we had never been in one before. Nick definitely made a believer out of us! The flight was so much fun, we could have stayed in the air all day, he flew us over the isalnd before landing so we could get a birds-eye-view and some really great pics. The water landing was extremely smooth, we taxied to the dock and Nick moored the plane like a boat. It was such a great experience and we can't wait to do it again - excellent!!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a great time flying in the seaplane from Bimini to Miami. Nick and Steve were fun, professional and I plan to fly with them again!

This was my first time in a seaplane and the ocean views were amazing. Landing in the water in Miami at the government cut next to one of the giant cruise ships was very cool.

What was really great was that I didn't have to go through the TSA security hassle leaving Bimini ... just loaded up ... had our small dog with us also .... and on the other end customs and immigration met us at the Seaplane base in Miami. everything was quick and easy. What normally takes hours flying the "big" boys took less than an hour with the Tropic Ocean guys.

Thanks guys, you did a great job!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bimini
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seaplane service Bimini to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Best Seaplane service to fly direct from Bimini airport to Miami seaplane base, former known as "Chalks Seaplane Base" at downtown Miami. Very friendly staff is offering also tours to the seaplane museum at Watson Island, free parking for all visitors and passengers......:)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropic Ocean Airways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropic Ocean Airways, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.