We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab trip - so many alligators!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airboat In Everglades

Airboat In Everglades
17696 Southwest 8th Street, Miami, FL 33194
+1 888-893-4443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 232 Activities in Miami
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Treat yourself, your friend's and loved ones to the experience of a lifetime! An airboat safari on board one of our spacious airboats. We will take you deep into the Florida Everglades; one of the last remaining wetlands in North America. Witness the natural wildlife of this magnificent and diversified eco-system. You will see alligators, deers, snakes, bears, panthers, bobcats, raccoons and over 300 species of birds, that call the Everglades their home. Our experienced staff are professional, courteous and knowledgeable. Our airboats have padded "waterproof" seats to keep you dry, safe and comfortable. We offer private and semi-private tours, as well as group packages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Bedford
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fab trip - so many alligators!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We took the one hour semi private tour, which meant we shared the boat with 8 others. The good thing about this company is that they do not use the huge airboats that hold about 30, so it does feel private even when sharing.
It did take us a while to find the meeting place - best thing is to aim for corner of SW 177th and SW 8th Street. Once at the Pilot station, it was easy to find the guys as they had company shirts on. We then followed them to the launch.
We had George as our guide, and as well as finding lots of alligators for us, also pointed out birds, and some of plants etc. This was our first time in the Everglades, but would definatley recommend this trip, and use them on our next visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    722
    79
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“This was a fun hour on the Everglades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My 12 year old son and I went on a private tour with Captain Armondo and he was very friendly. We probably did not need the private tour as I think the group tour would have been just as good and wold have been cheaper. Some of the other tours give out headphones which would have been nice as the boat was very loud. All that being said, we enjoyed it and are glad we went. We saw about 12 gators and lots of birds. Zipping around the Everglades in an airboat was a lot of fun and we also learned a lot about the wildlife in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We pre-booked a one-hour tour and could not be happier. It was a bit difficult to piece together the meeting spot - they find you at the entrance of the Shell Gas Station/Pilot Travel Center. There was no sign but plenty of people around to ask. Armando was our guide, and he was great at detecting the thrill level of our family of 4, and he did not disappoint to provide the thrill. He was very knowledgeable, funny and personal. We all learned a lot about the Everglades, saw many gators and wonderful birds. I would not hesitate to book with these folks and will do it again if we get the chance. Our hour (I think it was more than an hour) was over too soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family of 5 took the 1.5 hours tour. Captain Willy and Ozzie were awesome guides. They care about their work place stopping to pick up litter. Willy was super enthusiastic and you can tell he loves hos job! We saw tons of gators and turtles. He has been doing it so long that he has some of these animals trained. He has lots of useful factoids and a number of props to give you information about the Everglades.
It was definitely a great experience! Even my 13 year old daughter had a hard time containing her smiles! Fun, fun, fun!
No bathroom facilities at the boat ramp so go at the meeting place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“21st birthday memory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

For my son's 21st birthday, we made a reservation for our family of 6. We were about 10 minutes late because we didn't know that we were meeting capt. Bill at a market on tamiami hwy. We were looking for some kind of airboat station. We met capt. Bill and followed him in our car to the airboat landing. We got lucky and had the airboat to ourselves. Capt. Bill had great stories to tell and our everglades experience of the airboat, the gators and the birds was a great experince for our family and my son. Pay the extra money and book this tour if you're planning an airboat ride!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airboat In Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airboat In Everglades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.