We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Essential Part of Any Miami Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Airboat In Everglades

Airboat In Everglades
17696 Southwest 8th Street, Miami, FL 33194
+1 888-893-4443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 180 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Treat yourself, your friend's and loved ones to the experience of a lifetime! An airboat safari on board one of our spacious airboats. We will take you deep into the Florida Everglades; one of the last remaining wetlands in North America. Witness the natural wildlife of this magnificent and diversified eco-system. You will see alligators, deers, snakes, bears, panthers, bobcats, raccoons and over 300 species of birds, that call the Everglades their home. Our experienced staff are professional, courteous and knowledgeable. Our airboats have padded "waterproof" seats to keep you dry, safe and comfortable. We offer private and semi-private tours, as well as group packages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“An Essential Part of Any Miami Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Everglades of River of Grass is extraordinary and unique. To truly appreciate South Florida, a visitor must see this natural environment. Compared to other airboat excursions that are touristy and crowded, Captain Wayne and Captain Bill offer a private and very memorable experience. Just 30 minutes from downtown Miami we met Captain Bill and easily launched with William, our airboat captain, for a 2 hour excursion. William took us to special spots for bird viewing, gator viewing, and a brief walk into a hammock. We learned about special uses for plants adapted by the native tribe. Our two passengers under the age of 12 grinned the entire time, loved the speed and smoothness of the airboat, and mouthed adjectives like "awesome" "cool" and "so fun" -- Consider doing a sunset tour and see the Everglades in special light, as birds take flight and the sun disappears on the horizon. Great day.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    75
    13
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I work in the tour business. We had bill as our captain he was bad to the bone. I have been on 3 different tours in the Everglades. This is by far the best I have ever been on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Airboat in Everglades. Well worth experiencing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyable experience.
We were picked up from our hotel by Perry ( he was actually early!) and he drove us to where the boat was waiting for us. Perry gave us a great commentary on the way to the route on Miami and its environs and he gave us a lovely tour of the South Beach area as we were coming back to our hotel, which was above and beyond the call of duty.
As for the boat trip itself; well it was just brilliant. The boat captain gave us a rundown on all the plants that were growing on the water surface and then we glided slowly through a channel through the saw grass and came across a number of aligators, both male and female. They were something else to see and be so close to. The captain was a mine of information and gave us a lovely trip. I thought it was good value considering we were picked up from and dropped back to our hotel. I would recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of Florida Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We're a family of 4 and have returned from a 10 day holiday in south florida. We turned up on spec at 17696 SW expecting a ticket hut or similar. Instead a very helpful lady appeared out of the garage shop, rang Captain bill for us and 5 minutes later we were on our way - only 2 minutes up the road to the launch area. This was totally devoid of anything other than the dock, his boat and his brother Rob. Rob took us out for an hour and it was by the far the best hour we had during our holiday. Rob was very knowledgeable about all the wildlife both plants and animals. We saw alligators from a few weeks old, to 3 years old to adult size. We loved the fact that their set up is totally non commercial, that the guys obviously love what they are doing and thoroughly engaged us through out the trip. I would recommend everyone takes their trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good but not the least expensive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We enjoyed the experience, and the people were very nice. They were also very responsive. The boat had just 7 people which made it very comfortable compared to the larger boats. The only negative was time vs cost. For the cost I think it could be a bit longer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Airboat In Everglades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airboat In Everglades, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.