We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Frita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Mago de las Fritas

El Mago de las Fritas
5828 sw 8th St., Miami, FL 33144-5036
3055209605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 3,659 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Hamburgers, Hot Dogs
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Description: Voted best Frita in Miami (Cuban Hamburger) The choice of Pres. Obama while in Miami and Participant inthe Food Network Food and Wine Festival 2011
Louisville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Frita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I lived in Miami for many years and during that time did not occur to visit this place. Now I live in another state and while on vacation there, decided to visit it. Never would I have thought to find a place with a better frita than the one of 'El Rey de la Frita'. Yes, I believe is better.

The place is small but the service and food are excellent. The owner, 'El Mago', was very nice. We chatted for a while and he showed how humble and a hard working man he is. My wife share my same thoughts. Next time in Miami, we'll surely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Made me feel like family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stopped at this place on Calle 8 on our way to the Everglades for an airboat tour. We had heard it was the best place for Fritas and it not dissapoint. Also, their chicharron, which is a strip of deep-fried pork meat with rind, is just great. It's what we call carne frita in Puerto Rico. What we didn't expect from such a small and casual place was to be treated with such warmth and care. From the moment we stepped in, we were made to feel like family in a really genuine way. Parking is limited and that place is really small, but do not miss it if you want to experience true cuban hospitality... and great food too. Gracias!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bueno. Bonito. Barato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you've never had a frita, you NEED to stop here. This is the only place in all of Miami to get a real, honest to goodness, authentic frita ,and the customer service was excellent. No other compares!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Too crowded”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The food is very greasy here and men sneere at pretty women

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmagodelasfritas, Guest Relations Manager at El Mago de las Fritas, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
I apologize for not seeing this post sooner to respond. Can you please provide additional information on your experience. I apologize on behalf of the clients staring at you, we are a family establishment however there are exceptions as you have experienced. Also could you please let me know what was ordered that you found greasy. We pride ourselves on being a fresh clean meat restaurant and certainly do not wish to serve greasy or sub-par products. Again, I apologize for the very delayed response however I did not want you to think you were overlooked.

Thank you for visiting and we do hope you give us another shot at your business,

Barry E. Hennessey
305-520-9605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The cuban hamburger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I personally like more the cuban hamburger than mcdonals , it is cheap and has a very good tastes and they are cook in a grill by the owner
Awesome

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mago de las Fritas also viewed

 

Been to El Mago de las Fritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mago de las Fritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.