We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uhhhh don't get the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mago de las Fritas

El Mago de las Fritas
5828 sw 8th St., Miami, FL 33144-5036
3055209605
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 3,415 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Caribbean, Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Description: Voted best Frita in Miami (Cuban Hamburger) The choice of Pres. Obama while in Miami and Participant inthe Food Network Food and Wine Festival 2011
Ottawa, ON
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Uhhhh don't get the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I had read on the internet how amazing the Cuban burgers would be. Finally since we were in the area, I got some takeout of 2 fritas (no cheese) and 1 watermelon drink. The waitress was excellent and I saw El Mago standing at the back chatting.

First of all the watermelon drink came from a jug in the fridge.. so it was fake, not a fresh juice. but it was still refreshing on a hot day. Unfortunately we couldn't eat the burgers immediately (got takeout during a long car ride back to the hotel) so I we ate them by the time they were cooled off. I found the fries inside to be greasy. The burger was alright but it immediately gave me a bad MSG headache. Must be some spices on the meat.

So if you are going to try the fritas, eat them while they're still hot or you might be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmagodelasfritas, Director of Sales at El Mago de las Fritas, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
I do hope you try us again and we do suggest eating in. Fritas are best when you eat them fresh off the griddle. Also the Melon juice is fresh and natural we blend in a blender and use water jugs for dispensing only. We do hope to see you again.
Thank you for the opportunity to serve you,

Barry Hennessey
305-520-9605
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    13
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious fritas and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

what a find! We were looking for someplace inexpensive to eat in Little Havana and checked this place out after reading a review. Wow, am I glad we did. It's a little hole in the wall that we normally would have driven right by and we were the only customers (we went at a very early off-peak time) and we don't speak Spanish - but it was the highlight of our trip! Delicious Cuban burgers and we capped off our meal with homemade flan. Spent a lot of time talking with El Mago himself; what a friendly guy and he's been working the grill for at least 25 years - granted we didn't speak the same language but we were able to get by and he and the woman working the counter (his wife, perhaps?) were incredibly friendly. Definitely would return!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Don't pass this up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

President Obama ate here. Cuban hamburgers just delicious and flan that melts in your mouth for dessert. I had this on my list, was not sure about location but I'm so glad we stopped. We went back twice on our trip. Don't miss this hidden gem for a bite to eat.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Miami as it gets!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

A true taste of Cuba in Miami....This is a must stop and taste if you are in the Miami area...From the world famous Frita's to the awesome Cuban soup called Ajiaco only served on Saturdays....A lot of love gets put into the food served here, and it shows in the taste..Even the fried potato stings that top your Frita are fresh and hand cut every day..Hopefully while your there you will have the opprotunity to see "El Mago" creating some of his magic right before your eyes...And better yetget a taste of old school Miami at it's best......

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Miami must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Simply the best casual miami stop great food outstanding prices

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mago de las Fritas also viewed

 

Been to El Mago de las Fritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mago de las Fritas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.