We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse

Rare Steakhouse
4101 Pinetree Drive, Miami, FL 33140
(305) 532-7273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rare Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #662 of 3,610 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Kosher, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Royal Palm Avenue
Description: Rare Steakhouse is a unique space that fuses contemporary dining in a non-traditional kosher restaurant setting. It crosses the lines to create a singular synergy, bringing kosher fine dining to a new level. From interiors to cuisine, Rare Steakhouse permeates trend. "In a city littered with "classic American steakhouses,' you have to cook and present yourself with a little chutzpah to stand out," says owner Baruch Sandhaus. The goal, to redefine the cookie-cutter approach to fine dining for its respective clientele; while introducing a new way of dining for Floridians and travelers alike – removing the association that kosher cuisine is exclusively about religion. At Rare Steakhouse you can find some of the most prestigious cuts of meats available on the market. Rare Steakhouse is the one of the newest and coolest restaurant in town. It is a RARE find in a HOT location, but well done on prices and food.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Perhaps we were unlucky given the previous reviews but we came with high expectations and were left disappointed. We were told this was the place to eat, but we found the atmosphere in the restaurant lacking, the serivce not up to the high standard you expect when the gratuity is 18% (and compared to the other places we ate at) and added for your convenience, and every steak over cooked.

It was food that was the most disappointing given the price tag of $55 for an angus steak. It took 40 minutes for the main courses to arrive after starter and all of the steaks which were ordered medium rare were more than medium. By this time nobody could face sending the food back so we ate and left without desert.

For the price it only deserves a poor rating

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRAREgroup, Owner at Rare Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
How disappointing that you didn't enjoy your recent visit with us! At RARE Steakhouse we pride ourselves on the quality of our food and the professionalism of our staff. Our black angus steak is our most popular, flavorful cut of meat..

I hope that in the future you'll have an occasion to visit us again and enjoy the fine food & service that we're known for.

Baruch Sandhaus
the RARE group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    20
    12
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My burger was a monsterous creation, albeit beautifuly presented. Main courses at Rare are huge, it is a wonder that anyone has room for a starter or desert. Service is charming, prices mostly fair except for $10 for a mint tea. You would hope that they spend some of that money on a sign, this place is hard to find.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONNECTICUT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“pretty good--expensive, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I had gone to Rare at a former location and I think the food was a little better and more fairly priced. My husband's steak was prepared to perfection while my daughter's salad was mostly pasta. My duck was a large portion, but very salty and just OK. The service is very attentive, although we did feel a bit rushed. Don't miss the wings--it's one of the best things on the menu!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRAREgroup, Owner at Rare Steakhouse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review... Its always wonderful to hear feedback from our customers.

I am glad that you enjoyed our food - having recently introduced our new menu, its important for us to hear from our customers about their dining experience.

As a business owner, we can only improve thru customer comments and suggestions

Looking forward to greeting you personally on your next trip down to Miami Beach

Thank you for your patronage

the RARE group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A tasting like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have done tastings at several kosher restaurants in NY but this was our first at Rare. (This is something that must be scheduled in advance as the meal is prepared just for you and at Rare every tasting is unique never the same twice!)
A nice touch, the maître d' called us in advance to ask if we had any allergies or strong dislikes, which the other restaurants in NY did not do.
This was the best tasting we have had anywhere.
1) The food just kept coming there were so many courses we almost lost count, we have posted pictures so you can see.
2) There is a wine tasting option with the meal definitely recommended as it is not expensive and the wine just kept coming.
3) Besides the food being great the plating was just magnificent (again see pics)
This should be enough but if your a foodie read on for a description of all the dishes.
Course 1: Teriyaki salmon served on a mini charcoal bbq with a hickory smoke.
Course 2: Basil wrapped Imitation Shrimp in the center was a Thai Basil Asian noodle salad. The salad was one of the most interesting and delicious dishes we have ever had.
Course 3: Fish Taco with Black bean puree and mango salsa. This dish surprised us the most as it is seemingly unsophisticated but was really a great bite.
Course 4: Torched Hamachi with Curry Cotton Candy (for real!) the fish was delicious. An interesting component of this dish was the pickled carrots and citrus wedges.
Course 5: Hot dog consomme with mustard spetzel pure comfort food outstanding.
Course 6) Duck with duck stuffed cabbage. This stuffed cabbage was one of our favorites. This is not Simchas Torah stuffed Cabbage, this cabbage was fresh, not drenched in a sauce, and very flavorful a home run!
Course 7) Prime cut steak in a Demi Glas with potatoes three ways we enjoyed the pepper jack cheese (parve) potatoes but the best was the double stuffed potato.
Course 8) A trio of desserts. Dessert was amazing because while in the past Rare's desserts were o.k. this time they were fantastic (we were told they now have their own in house pastry chef) Fresh doughnuts that came with raspberry filled pipettes that you could inject the doughnut with. A gigantic Marshmallow volcano (for lack of a better description) filled with chocolate and graham crackers, and a peanut butter and chocolate molten cake with a peanut butter brittle.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRAREgroup, Owner at Rare Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review... Its always wonderful to hear positive feedback from our customers

As a business owner, we can only improve thru customer comments and suggestions

Thank you for your patronage!

the RARE group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“top service !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Best service and great food !!! My server David was the best ,thanks for unforgettable night
i will be back in august !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theRAREgroup, Owner at Rare Steakhouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review... Its always wonderful to hear positive feedback from our customers

As a business owner, we can only improve thru customer comments and suggestions

Thank you for your patronage!

the RARE group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rare Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.