We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of db Bistro Moderne

db Bistro Moderne
255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Hotel Beaux Arts Miami, Miami, FL 33131
305-421-8800 
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 3,576 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 4th St. 3rd Ave.
Description: db Bistro Moderne is Daniel Boulud’s interpretation of the new generation of Parisian bistros, whose classically trained chefs offer creative cuisine in a casual, comfortable and contemporary setting. Featuring traditional French fare met by flavors of the American market presented by Executive Chef Matthieu Godard, db Bistro Moderne is designed to capture the energy and style of its Manhattan counterpart, yet uniquely tailored to the rhythm of Miami life. Located in downtown’s JW Marriott Marquis Miami, db Bistro Moderne offers a vibrant, urban setting, where guests will enjoy great cooking in a relaxed yet beautifully distinctive environment. The restaurant’s interiors by renowned designers, Yabu Pushelberg, feature a dining area with striking contemporary accents and soaring 18-foot ceilings, as well as a stylish bar and lounge, street-level terrace overlooking the Miami river and two private dining rooms. In addition to its acclaimed contemporary French-American cuisine, db Bistro Moderne presents over 150 affordable wines beginning at $25 per bottle.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I've dined at many places before, but db Bistro Moderne had it's own spark. Everything was up to Boulud standard, from the delicious escargots, to the heirloom tomato salad. The chickpea panisse was a great touch to the salad. I really enjoyed that. Dessert, of course, was incredible. Service was fast and attentive. I highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for fine dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    101
    45
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Loved the ambience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great place for a fancyschmancy dinner - very attentive service (kept refilling our bread basket!), and really really good cocktails!

We had the db burger (of course) and it blew my mind. Foie gras added the extra touch to it :)

Desserts were pretty fancy too! Lovely experience! More details here: http://inagoodfoodmood.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/db-bistro-moderne-miami-fl/

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exquisite modern french cuisine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There where a few dishes that Daniel's "moderne" twist made them brand new altogether, like the Escargot with cherry tomatoes and the Terrine de Foie Gras with caramelized peaches, a definite must-try. The ambience was great until a large group came by and made it very loud. Well chosen wine list for every budget and palate as well as great service. We will be grand to come back again next time in the Miami area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food but not the wow we expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food was very good. The waiter acted put out that we brought our own wine but the website advertised no corkage fee on Monday. We brought a special bottle with us because of the advertisement. The very loud party in the next room put a damper on the dinner. I expected more because of all the great things I heard about the restaurant. It was good not great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“best service in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

one of the few restaurants in Miami where the service is truly world class!!! the food is exceptional!!! souffle fries are a must!!!! great wine selection and a true sommelier to help out.
must go!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed db Bistro Moderne also viewed

 

Been to db Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Bistro Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.