We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, service and +” 5 of 5 stars
Review of db Bistro Moderne

db Bistro Moderne
255 Biscayne Boulevard Way, Hotel Beaux Arts Miami, Miami, FL 33131
305-421-8800 
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
db Bistro Moderne is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 3,659 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 4th St. 3rd Ave.
Description: db Bistro Moderne is Daniel Boulud’s interpretation of the new generation of Parisian bistros, whose classically trained chefs offer creative cuisine in a casual, comfortable and contemporary setting. Featuring traditional French fare met by flavors of the American market presented by Executive Chef Matthieu Godard, db Bistro Moderne is designed to capture the energy and style of its Manhattan counterpart, yet uniquely tailored to the rhythm of Miami life. Located in downtown’s JW Marriott Marquis Miami, db Bistro Moderne offers a vibrant, urban setting, where guests will enjoy great cooking in a relaxed yet beautifully distinctive environment. The restaurant’s interiors by renowned designers, Yabu Pushelberg, feature a dining area with striking contemporary accents and soaring 18-foot ceilings, as well as a stylish bar and lounge, street-level terrace overlooking the Miami river and two private dining rooms. In addition to its acclaimed contemporary French-American cuisine, db Bistro Moderne presents over 150 affordable wines beginning at $25 per bottle.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Amazing food, service and +”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I love this place! I love the food, everything about it, the presentation, taste. Love the desserts and they have great service! Super professional! I just wish that it would be in a different location

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    59
    30
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Located in a gorgeous hotel this restaurant is cool, calm and sophisticated. Great for a business lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Different and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Ate dinner here recently. Was able to get a table without a reservation on a Monday night, bit the place was packed and I would think a reservation is generally a must. Interesting and inventive food and wine list. Small portion, but incredibly flavorsome and beautifully presented. The sommelier was a little robotic, but he does know his wines. Would definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!!! White Cosmos!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My favorite cocktail is the white cosmo. It is outta-this-world. AND soooo cool! Nobody else makes these quite like db does... with a frozen flower in the ice-cube...

BTW, I did not care for the famous "db burger." It was $34 or so... and it's just not that great. You can do better at Shake Shack or Farm Burger...

The db ambiance is great... I feel some nostalgia for it because our company's in the building and we'd run down for happy hours all the time... It was a very beautiful restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“18% gratuity policy on take out, for what?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

After a long day of traveling and meetings, I decided to order take out so I could work and relax in my hotel room instead of spending a few hours at the restaurant. Upon placing my to-go order at the bar, I discovered that my take out order had 18% gratuity included. The bartender double checked with the manager and he insisted that was the policy - no exceptions. Horrible policy. Please help me understand why take out deserves 18% gratuity?!?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed db Bistro Moderne also viewed

 

Been to db Bistro Moderne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage db Bistro Moderne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.