We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian restaraunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bombay Darbar

Bombay Darbar
3195 Commodore Plaza, Coconut Grove, Miami, FL 33133
305-444-7272
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 3,578 restaurants in Miami
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 3195 Commodore Plaza
Description: Our dining room dining room falls somewhere between red-velvet regal and Slum Dog casual, with white table linens, fresh roses and vinyl-coated menus. There's gentle, tinkling music, authentic if slightly wooze-inducing incense and, for better weather, a petite patio. Our menu is centered mostly on the northern half of the country but includes fiery Goan specialties and henna-red vindaloo. Our knowledgeable, welcoming and sincere staff makes ordering easy for novices. Meals begin with a complimentary stack of crisp pappadom with thimbles of thick-cut onion chutney and a green-as-fresh-cut-grass coriander version for dipping. A side order of mixed chutneys yields store-bought but no less delicious sour mango pickle and sweet mango chutney. Come visit our lovely, value-priced dreamy addition to Coconut Grove!
nashville,tn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaraunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great selection of rotis. Food can be made as per your preference and its nice and tasty. I liked the lamb curry but the biryani was great too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    78
    37
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best indian food in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You will have to make a reservation because its always packed. Make sure to order the butter chicken, just delicious. The staff is very friendly and polite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lunch at the Bombay Darbar was a nice affair. By far, this is the best Indian food we have eaten in the US. Nicely curried food, with the option to have the meal served in varying degrees of spiciness. Staff were very friendly.
We ate on the small, but cosy front patio. I would imagine this would help give a great atmosphere on a busy night and during the day it allows enough space for a not too serious business lunch.
Could be nice if the staff uniforms did not look so shabby.
Very resonably priced and portions of food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best in Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

It is really authentic. In Miami it is hard to find quality Indian food. I have been at Bombay Darbar like 5 times and it has always been consistent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding indian food in US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am touristing in Miami during spring holidays, and this is by far among the best indian restaurants I have been to around the world. The appetisers, including Nan, chicken wings, and indian empanadas were a real treat. Also the classic curry dishes, tandoori, and rice plates were very good. I am a tough grader and this is among the best. The long wait even with reservations was worth it. Will I go back? of course.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bombay Darbar also viewed

 

Been to Bombay Darbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bombay Darbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.