We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, not a fancy place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Siam Oishi - Coconut Grove

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Siam Oishi - Coconut Grove
3409 Main Highway, Miami, FL 33133
305-446-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #509 of 3,650 Restaurants in Miami
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Grand Avenue
Description: Poompaka "Pio" Komolvasri was born in Bangkok, Thailand, where she developed a love of traditional and fusion Thai food. Pio earned a B.A. in Accounting at Ramkhamheng University, Bangkok, in 1980. She moved with her family to the United States in 1992, where she studied English as she learned the restaurant business. For thirteen years, Pio gained extensive restaurant management and culinary experience as both a senior employee and part-owner. In 2005, she opened Siam Oishi. Pio graduated from Le Cordon Bleu college of Culinary Arts, Miami, in 2006 with a degree in Culinary of Culinary Arts. As the owner of Siam Oishi, Pio emphasizes food presentation by using handmade dishes and decorations imported from Thailand. She insists on a high standard of food preparation, ensuring that each order is made fresh according to recipes prepared with the finest of culinary skills. Siam Oishi offers and extensive variety of Thai and Japanese dishes to satisfy any Asian palate.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, not a fancy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Siam Oishi is the typical corner sushi place. 3-4 tables and the sushi bar seating max 10. Outside seating not great and to hot in summer anyway.
The food is excellent. The chefs know their job, probably the best sushi/sashimi we have had in the states in years.
The service is friendly and prompt. Great value for money.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Food and staff are great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Had amazing customer service on my short stay in miami. Staff were lovely and very helpful! Food was amazing and given in very large portions but was too yummy so can't complain!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food is ok but the service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The place have choice from Thai and Sushi food. Food is ok. When we checked out, we found the 17% of tips were automatic added to my bill. I know people with group of 6 or more will get billed including tips, but only me and my wife there. Maybe they think we are not good at math...
Also please prepare cash when you decide to eat there because they decline to accept my credit card!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Serviceable, but nothing to excite….”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Staying in Coconut Grove on a recent trip to Miami we happened upon this little restaurant. We had a hankering for something light and a bit of Thai or Sushi seemed just the ticket. The place was about half full when we arrived and we were greeted straightaway and given a table. The service was friendly enough, but unremarkable. This was the theme throughout. The ambience was alright, the food again, just alright. I had sushi as my main and found the addition of some kind of lettuce to the filling to be a bit of an odd note. The batter on my husband's tempura was very thick, not the light as air batter one finds on great tempura. He also found the accompanying dipping sauce rather thick and overly sweet. Let's just say, we would be happy enough to eat there in a pinch, but would not rush back or rush to recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place and sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and me were waiting for my son's swimming event to start, passed by looking for something light to eat and sat outside the place.
We are regular clients of Siam in other location but here the food is more delicious.
dragon and big eye rolls are exquisite, as well as the soup,
variety of food in the menu, good and fast service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Siam Oishi - Coconut Grove also viewed

 

Been to Siam Oishi - Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Siam Oishi - Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.